Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   E63 / E64 M6 (2006 - 2010) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=113)
-   -   SMG= Automatic?? (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=499586)

asadkhanvp 11-17-2010 02:43 PM

SMG= Automatic??

gentlemen,

how are you all?

i have zero experience with manual transmission, thus i have always shyed away from m6. today i learned that SMG is essentially an automatic transmission with the ability to be used as manual. is there any truth to this, and would one be okay with SMG if no prior history with manual?

thanks in advance

ASH121 11-18-2010 11:09 AM

hi there you can use the gear stick by pushing forward or back to change gear just like the rally cars or you have two flaps on the stearing wheel with + or - on them for gears up or down or on the stick just put it in D and set how you like the gear box to change to be true its loads of fun you can drive how you like on the mood you feel hope this helps

asadkhanvp 11-19-2010 04:38 PM

what is up with lack of response?

it did not seem like too difficult of a question?

thanks

kgati 11-19-2010 09:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by asadkhanvp (Post 5638710)
what is up with lack of response?

it did not seem like too difficult of a question?

thanks

You need to have some patience. Not everyone sits by their computer waiting to answer questions from someone that can't do a little research on their own.
If you had researched the SMG the first thing you would understand is it is NOT an automatic. SMG is a manual that doesn't require the driver to operate a clutch pedal. Experience driving a manual with a clutch pedal is not required. SMG has been around awhile do a Google search.
Please next time respect the board and with time you'll get a some responses.

dubis 11-20-2010 12:28 PM