Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   E46 (1999 - 2006) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=98)
-   -   2002 BMW 325i Cold start Problem! (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=510586)

Walker1277 01-05-2011 09:44 PM

2002 BMW 325i Cold start Problem!

2 Attachment(s)
I recently purchased a 2002 BMW 325i with 114,900 miles on it. One of the first things I did when I decided I wanted to buy the car was to take it to my mechanic to have it checked out. I have been driving Porsche for about 12 years now so I already knew of a shop with experience working on German cars. The car checked out with no error codes and everything looked good. So that day, I scheduled an oil change for the following week, and because of things going on in my life, it ended up being postponed two additional two weeks but no worries because the car wasnít over the scheduled miles for it to be changed. During those two weeks before the oil change, I noticed the service light come on and go off. After taking it back to the shop to have the error code read, it was discovered that the thermostat was having an issue and needed to be replaced. It was and the code bank was reset. I didnít have any further problems with the service light and went ahead and had the oil changed. several weeks passed problem free... until...