Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   Site Sponsors & Bimmerfest Group Buys (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=87)
-   -   Upgrade factory radio with newest dynavin d99 (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=609168)

ottonavigps 03-21-2012 03:20 PM

Upgrade factory radio with newest dynavin d99
 
BMW E53 X5 01-07 Dynavin D99 DVD GPS Navigation Radio



$849+ FREE CAMERA + FREE SHIPPING

I know I'm new to thread, so hopefully no one gets offended by any threads I may post. Just wanted an opportunity for Bimmerfest forum members to get their hands on the exclusive, DYNAVIN D99 Multimedia Radio. We are currently offering a FREE back up reverse camera with each purchase.

This is the back up camera you will receive. MSRP: $34.99
http://ottonavi.com/product/accessor...-backup-camera

This unit is DIRECT PLUG & PLAY as long as your car does not have factory navigation or DSP. If you have factory navigation you will need a fahkra harness as such. We are one of two authorized dealers for Dynavin in North AMERICA. Contact me for GROUP BUY discounts!!!

http://ottonavi.com/product/accessor...vigation-radio

http://i833.photobucket.com/albums/z...39%20d99/1.jpg


http://i833.photobucket.com/albums/z...39%20d99/2.jpg


INTELLIGENT NEW PHONE BOOK. SYNC CONTACTS


http://i833.photobucket.com/albums/z...39%20d99/3.jpg

SPECIAL BMW MAP INCLUDED


http://i833.photobucket.com/albums/z...39%20d99/4.jpg



http://i833.photobucket.com/albums/z...dvn_e39a_1.jpg
http://i833.photobucket.com/albums/z...dvn_e39a_3.jpg
http://i833.photobucket.com/albums/z...vn_e39a_pb.jpg
http://i833.photobucket.com/albums/z...e39a_basic.jpg




DIRECT PLUG AND PLAY






Features

AM/FM radio
CD player
iPod capability (iPod cable included)
Bluetooth (A2DP)
DVD
GPS navigation
Free North America maps (USA, Canada, Mexico)
File browser
Runs of Windows CE 6.0
Direct plug and play
Please make sure your car does not have premium sound or factory navigation


Specifications
Screen

Screen Size: 7 inch touch screen LCD
1 or 2 DIN: 2 DIN
Touch screen function: Yes
Resolution: 800 * 480
Motorized screen: No
Fixed screen: Yes
Detachable front panel: No
DVD Compatible Format: MP4, DIVX, AVI, DVD, VCD, MP3, (CD), CD-RW, JPEG
Built-in bluetooth: Yes/ Parrot bluetooth
A2DP function: Yes
Built-in GPS: Yes

iPod

iPod function: Yes

Radio

Built-in radio tuner (30 Preset Stations): FM(3*6)87.5-108MHz
Built-in RDS function: Yes
Illumination color: Red
Steering wheel control function: Yes
Power supply: 12V
Max current: 10A
Radio antenna Input: 1
Video output: 2
Video input: 1
Audio output: FL/FR/RL/RR
Audio input: R/L
Back sight video input : 1
Surround stereo iutput : 4 x 50W

Language

System Language: English/German/Spanish/French/Italian
GPS Language: English/German/Spanish/French/Italian/Portuguese etc

Other

Built-in USB port: Yes
Built-in SD slot: Yes
Remote Control function: Yes
Real time clock function: Yes
Auto-memory function: Yes




ONE YEAR FACTORY WARRANTY



http://i833.photobucket.com/albums/z...9_d99_ipod.jpg


EVERYTHING NEED TO INSTALL INCLUDED

boramkiv 03-22-2012 02:38 PM

1. Will you sell the extra cable for those with OEM Nav if specified?
2. Can I sell my MK3 unit in the rear or is that needed?
3. Would I still be able to access the cars computer through this system? (timer, mpg 1 &2, car off ventilation etc...)

Sorry for the questions, but I've seen a similar system since last year and have been waiting for positive reviews. The A2DP streaming is what this appears to have over the others which is good. I've seen a few youtube videos about performance, but fitment is key.

ottonavigps 03-22-2012 02:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boramkiv (Post 6720450)
1. Will you sell the extra cable for those with OEM Nav if specified?
2. Can I sell my MK3 unit in the rear or is that needed?
3. Would I still be able to access the cars computer through this system? (timer, mpg 1 &2, car off ventilation etc...)

Sorry for the questions, but I've seen a similar system since last year and have been waiting for positive reviews. The A2DP streaming is what this appears to have over the others which is good. I've seen a few youtube videos about performance, but fitment is key.



We do sell the harness if you have factory navigation. I can work a discounted price for you if you decide to purchase.

Not really sure what the MK3 unit does, but don't think you would need it. Is that for the factory navigation or something?

The unit will not access the computer through this system...(timer, mpg, etc)

RachaelsX5 03-23-2012 02:13 PM

When they incorporate the computer I will seriously consider it.

ottonavigps 03-23-2012 02:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RachaelsX5 (Post 6723013)
When they incorporate the computer I will seriously consider it.

incorporate computer?

boramkiv 03-23-2012 02:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RachaelsX5 (Post 6723013)
When they incorporate the computer I will seriously consider it.

Im not sure that will happen. I'll probably be getting one very soon. I'm trying to watch as many YouTube videos as possible to make sure it functions with the vehicle flawlessly. The closest is the E39's. It looks like the only minute issue is not having the ability to hit the menu screen and activate auxiliary fan times, set timers, reset mpg's, choose which ones you want to scroll through on the BC, and set speed limit a few others things too. If You keep just the factory screen, then You can set the options and then install this unit from what it looks like. If you have to loose power for what ever reason (battery disconnect) just plug up the old screen and set options again and switch back. Sounds like a lot, but for me the only option that I use often is the speed limit. Most other options especially timers are gps driven which would not be needed. That's what I can see so far. It's looks promising, but don't want to jump into an all new product without bugs sprayed out first.

Porando 03-23-2012 03:16 PM

if I have Factory NAV - how much will cost me for extra Harness?
I assume that I would switch to your Nav? Will you be using/installed existing Nav antenna?

ottonavigps 03-23-2012 03:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Porando (Post 6723124)
if I have Factory NAV - how much will cost me for extra Harness?
I assume that I would switch to your Nav? Will you be using/installed existing Nav antenna?


Correct you would switch over to our Nav and use our GPS antenna. I can give the harness for $60. (MSRP $100)

Porando 03-23-2012 04:16 PM

does GPS has real time traffic info by any chance?

Porando 03-23-2012 04:28 PM

"Please make sure your car does not have premium sound or factory navigation"

DSP premium sound in X53 is also a problem? will the above mentioned harness address both Nav and DSP sound?

ottonavigps 03-23-2012 04:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Porando (Post 6723244)
"Please make sure your car does not have premium sound or factory navigation"

DSP premium sound in X53 is also a problem? will the above mentioned harness address both Nav and DSP sound?

The above harness only fixes the problem if you have navigation...if you have DSP you will need to hardwire it.

speedninja 03-23-2012 05:34 PM

what am i actually connecting to the dynavin to i see nothing to plug into the system so lost right now ....but im glad my lady bought it for me

boramkiv 03-23-2012 07:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by speedninja (Post 6723386)
what am i actually connecting to the dynavin to i see nothing to plug into the system so lost right now ....but im glad my lady bought it for me

You're in VA beach? I need to come check it out. Maybe we could figure it out together.

RachaelsX5 03-23-2012 07:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ottonavigps (Post 6723017)
incorporate computer?

I look at my 4:3 screen for the temp and time a lot it is easier then scrolling thru the function buttons for the display under the speedo. And on long trips I like the timer feature.

dunwoody 03-24-2012 04:12 PM

dynavind99
 
Does the blue tooth utilize the BMW phone system and steering wheel functions?
ladunwoody@gmail.com

Stalag 03-25-2012 05:19 AM

So, here is the issue for me. As Boramkiv had stated, you lose the dash control displays(time, date, MPG, travel, etc.) and settings, that I currently use. I do not have to be concerned about the Nav or DSP, but these are important to keep functioning. Is there a way to keep them going through the directional signal switch or is that just a remote to the radio?

Is the unit self-contained in a single Din? There are no other wiring or units required in the back of the vehicle. Seems like a lot to operate in this small box. However, technology is moving forward.

Do all of the steering wheel controls still functions(volume, track switching, etc.) automatically?

I really like the design and clean fit, I just do not want to lose anything...if possible. What instructions or wiring are needed?

Thanks

ottonavigps 03-27-2012 09:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dunwoody (Post 6725087)
Does the blue tooth utilize the BMW phone system and steering wheel functions?
ladunwoody@gmail.com



The unit does not use the stock blue-tooth it actually uses its own- PARROT BLUETOOTH

Steering wheel control can be programmed. Unit comes with the canbus.

ottonavigps 03-27-2012 09:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stalag (Post 6725829)
So, here is the issue for me. As Boramkiv had stated, you lose the dash control displays(time, date, MPG, travel, etc.) and settings, that I currently use. I do not have to be concerned about the Nav or DSP, but these are important to keep functioning. Is there a way to keep them going through the directional signal switch or is that just a remote to the radio?

Is the unit self-contained in a single Din? There are no other wiring or units required in the back of the vehicle. Seems like a lot to operate in this small box. However, technology is moving forward.

Do all of the steering wheel controls still functions(volume, track switching, etc.) automatically?

I really like the design and clean fit, I just do not want to lose anything...if possible. What instructions or wiring are needed?

Thanks

Steering wheel controls will still function....No need to wire anything, just plug it in and connect to your current radio harness and off you go. I will try and get pictures taken of harnesses cables, etc and the back of the unit (think I already have that one up, Ill check)

MANGOSTENE 03-27-2012 01:41 PM

I too share Stalag's (and pretty much everyone else's) sentiment that all the dash and steering wheel controls should function. My truck right now has the factory NAV and DSP. If all the parts necessary can be summarized and resolved and put together in a easy to understand laundry list of what is needed to perform the upgrade, I may consider being the Guinea pig in doing this to my truck and in the process do an extensive write up with photos. I am afterall not too far from OttoNaviGPS if he's willing to make this happen.

I have been on the fence on this for so long, much like everyone else. The biggest deterent seems to be that there's so much potential headache involved in doing this and there doesn't seem to be, to date a confident write up for this process that's backed up by a supposed authorized sponsor should issues arise with the installation.

To me, a laundry list should have all the parts involved, associated part numbers, pictures of these parts (very important!) and where best to get them.
I'm up for jumping on the band wagon and enjoying all the neat emerging technology out there that is available but not at the expense of compromising an already temperamental truck (let's face it, these X5s are electronically sensitive to change!)

I love my truck and have taken painstaking great care in making sure it runs with minimal issues (especially electrical) and there has to be a certain level of confidence that this installation can be performed and not bring up unnecessary false error codes as a result of the installation. And at the same time be able to revert it back to stock form easily.

I do admit, it's an attractive looking unit and I like it. If you can confidently say this will work and I have all the necessary items to make it a trouble free install, let's make it happen then.



MANGO

ottonavigps 03-27-2012 03:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MANGOSTENE (Post 6731212)
I too share Stalag's (and pretty much everyone else's) sentiment that all the dash and steering wheel controls should function. My truck right now has the factory NAV and DSP. If all the parts necessary can be summarized and resolved and put together in a easy to understand laundry list of what is needed to perform the upgrade, I may consider being the Guinea pig in doing this to my truck and in the process do an extensive write up with photos. I am afterall not too far from OttoNaviGPS if he's willing to make this happen.

I have been on the fence on this for so long, much like everyone else. The biggest deterent seems to be that there's so much potential headache involved in doing this and there doesn't seem to be, to date a confident write up for this process that's backed up by a supposed authorized sponsor should issues arise with the installation.

To me, a laundry list should have all the parts involved, associated part numbers, pictures of these parts (very important!) and where best to get them.
I'm up for jumping on the band wagon and enjoying all the neat emerging technology out there that is available but not at the expense of compromising an already temperamental truck (let's face it, these X5s are electronically sensitive to change!)

I love my truck and have taken painstaking great care in making sure it runs with minimal issues (especially electrical) and there has to be a certain level of confidence that this installation can be performed and not bring up unnecessary false error codes as a result of the installation. And at the same time be able to revert it back to stock form easily.

I do admit, it's an attractive looking unit and I like it. If you can confidently say this will work and I have all the necessary items to make it a trouble free install, let's make it happen then.



MANGO


Okay. So if you have factory navigation you need a fahkra harness. This harness is basically an extended harness of the original that will extend from the rear of your car to the front of the radio.

If have DSP it gets a little more complicated and if you have both its pretty complicated. This isn't to say is impossible, but would not be a easy DIRECT PLUG AND PLAY INSTALL.

Pretty much you have an amplifier in the back that receives digital signals from your head unit. Here is what I have found on the closest thing you will be getting your self into.

http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum....php?t=1572891

Take note this is an install write up done for an M5. The concept is the same.
You would pretty much need to disconnect the DSP amplifier and install an aftermarket amp (5 channel preferably). Then you would run the speaker wires directly to the amplifier and connect the amp to the radio via RCA' connections. If you have the 6 CD changer you would lose this feature. Hope this helps.

ottonavigps 03-27-2012 03:35 PM

Okay to clarify, most of the confusing part is when your trying to KEEP dsp when you install an aftermarket headunit. If your not worried about keeping DSP, you just remove the amp install an aftermarket amplifier there and from there its pretty straight forward.

LycanNyc 04-22-2012 08:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Porando (Post 6723224)
does GPS has real time traffic info by any chance?

I want to know this too

ottonavigps 04-25-2012 12:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LycanNyc (Post 6788390)
I want to know this too


Unit does not support live traffic. If you want live traffic you would have to go with the Android. The Android is out of stock and should be here 2-3 weeks.

LycanNyc 04-25-2012 01:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ottonavigps (Post 6794371)
Unit does not support live traffic. If you want live traffic you would have to go with the Android. The Android is out of stock and should be here 2-3 weeks.

The D99 or the K1 Universal ?

ottonavigps 04-27-2012 09:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LycanNyc (Post 6794558)
The D99 or the K1 Universal ?

The D99 is out of stock. The K1 is in stock. Are you planning on getting the K1 universal and the dash kit?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms