Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   X5 E53 (1999 - 2006) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   X5 2005 - window washer leak (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=611857)

VerusWest 04-02-2012 05:42 PM

X5 2005 - window washer leak

I have been chasing a widow washer leak for a couple of months. It is not the tank, but one of the gasket seals. Anyone know how to address this without messing up the wiring, etc?

Porando 04-03-2012 05:33 PM

Do it just as you have said - "address this without messing up the wiring"
you didn't say where it leaks exactly , which gasket seal it is and what wiring you are afraid to mess-up?

ztrain 04-05-2012 06:39 AM

I also have a leak in my '05. My leak is coming from one of the pump grommets. The mini grommets on two pumps on the backside of the tank. Not sure if you're having the same problem, but it's very simple to check and fix this. The biggest pain is draining the fluid form the tank so you don't have it all over the floor.

Prometheus 04-09-2012 04:24 AM

I have exactly the same problem. The grommet seal that interfaces the front washer pump and the washer tank is allowing water to leak out, especially when I use the pump to wash the front window. I don't like the small leak because it spills water on the heat resistant foil cover and exhaust manifold. This indicates that the grommet only has a 5-6 year lifespan in e53 x5's. I am going to use a plumbers lubricant to seal the grommet temporarily until next service.

torontox5 04-11-2012 01:34 PM

Are you sure that it is the grommet. The little pump is prone to leak. If you you are sure buy a grommet from the dealer it has to be verycheap. Ihad two pumps leaking I bourght two pumps for few dollars. Good luck

Prometheus 11-02-2013 06:40 AM

X5 2005 - window washer leak