Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   BMW Coding and Programming (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=175)
-   -   F10 TPMS PSI/Temp Data - Working or Not (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=625234)

ImSW1 06-05-2012 01:13 AM

TPMS PSI/Temp Data - Working or Not
 
1 Attachment(s)
I've added a spreadsheet to this post with all the data to date. Just remove the .pdf extension and you'll be able to open in Excel. So far I can't pinpoint any specific pattern.


All right folks. Attempting to track down why TPMS reads PSI and temp for some vehicles and not for others. HU_CIC, 3001 Ex Box, "rdc_safety" set to aktiv. If you set HU_CIC, 3001 Ex Box, "rdc" to nicht_aktiv it will remove the TPMS menu from the iDrive but you will still see green tires on the screen. Last note: Before the software update (Global) I couldn't get the PSI or temp labels to show. After the update I now get the labels but no readings.

Continuing from original coding thread:

Here's the data we've been collecting. Just reply to this post with the following details:

Model:
Build Date:
Delivery Date:
Status: Working/Not Working
Did you ever change the wheels and/or tires:
TPMS Type:
Tires:
Air/Nitrogen/Other: Regular plain ole air

I'm posting the answers I can find from the original thread.

Username: Ausfahrt:
Model: 2011 550i
Build Date: July 2011
Delivery Date 29 Sept 2011
Status: Working
Did you ever change the tires: YES
TPMS:BMW5 R12 KIT BMW TPMS Sensor Kit 5 Series 2011 from BavarianX
Tires: TOYO PROXES T1R
Air: Regular plain ole air

Username: shawnsheridan
Model: 2011 535i M-Sport
Build Date: 10/2010
Status: WORKING
Did you ever change the tires: Yes
Tires changed by Ind Shop/Dealer: Dealer
Tires: Michelin Pilot Super Sport (same size as OEM non RFT)
Air: Normal Air

Username: alex_c
No, I have not changed my tires at all!
I have the OEM tires with the original metal stem valves.
Model: 2012 535
Built: 8/25/2011
Status: Not working
Tires: Original RFT
gas: Nitrogen

Username: Stealth.Pilot
Model: 2012 550i
Build Date: Sep 30, 2011
Delivery Date: Oct 17th
Status: NOT WORKING
Did you ever change the tires: Yes
Tires changed by Ind Shop/Dealer: Ind Shop
Tires: Michelin Pilot Super Sport (same size as OEM non RFT)
Air: Normal Air

Username: Jeg23
Model: 2011 550I
Build Date:Jun 29th 2011
Delivery Date July 27th
Status: TPMS Working
DID you ever change the tires: Yes or NO
Tires: RFT (OEM) or Regular Tires?
Air: Nitrogen or regular or Dont know

Username: ImSW1
Model: 2011 528i
Build Date: Jul 10
Delivery Date Aug 10
Status: Not Working
DID you ever change the tires: Yes
Tires: RFT (OEM) or Regular Tires? Regular Tires
TPMS: Replaced Beru RDE 0008
Air/Nitrogen/Other: Air

I'd like to really like to hear from pre 09/10 owners with the earlier TPMS units. I know we have a few post 09/10 owners that the readings aren't registering, so I want to know if it's working in any pre 09/10 builds.

Sean

wdimagineer 06-05-2012 01:19 AM

I'll add myself here... works with both sets of wheels.

Model: 550xi
Build Date: 1/2012
Delivery Date: 3/2012
Status: Working
Did you ever change the wheels and/or tires: Yes, works on both
TPMS Type: OEM, metal valve stem
Tires: Goodyear LS2 / Michelin Pilot Super Sport
Air/Nitrogen/Other: Air

alextremo 06-05-2012 07:31 AM

Model: 550i
Build Date: 12/2010
Delivery Date: 2/2011
Status: Working
Did you ever change the wheels and/or tires: Yes, but OEM wheels/TPMS are on the car now (haven't tested with the aftermarket winter wheels/TPMS yet)
TPMS Type: OEM
Tires: Michelin
Air/Nitrogen/Other: air

Chuck W. 06-05-2012 08:58 AM

I have it and it works. What I noticed is that at times when you first start out cold in the morning it takes a minute or two for the info to come up. If the car has been driven it comes up immediately.

Model: 2012 535I MS
Build Date: 11/2011
Delivery Date: 12/3/2011
Status: Working
Did you ever change the tires: Yes
Tires: Michelin Non-RFT
Air: Plain Air

nicewonky 06-05-2012 09:50 AM

Similar to above, no reading on start but it populates pretty quickly (within a few minutes)

Model: 2012 535xi (non-sport so 18")
Build Date: 11/2011
Delivery Date: 12/4/2011
Status: Working
Did you ever change the tires: No
Tires: Goodyear RFT 18"
Air: Plain Air

dmunz 06-05-2012 02:10 PM

Shawn coded mine last Sunday in Houston. I see the indicators on the display but don't get data (just an underline). I can also see the units in settings and make changes to them. That is, I can change from psi to bar and is shows up on the display, but still no data.

Model: F07 (535i GT)
Build Date: 12/11 (MY 2012)
Delivery Date: 4/21/12
Status: Working/Not Working: Not Working
Did you ever change the wheels and/or tires: Nope
TPMS Type: OEM metal valve stem
Tires: Dunlop DSST
Air/Nitrogen/Other: N2 (according to the valve stems that came with the car...)

FWIW
DLM

clutchlee 06-05-2012 03:19 PM

Works for me fine.

Model: 2011 535i xDrive (Sport Package)
Build Date: 03/2011
Delivery Date: 5/31/11
Status: Working
Did you ever change the tires: Yes, only front (GY Run-flats to Continental)
Tires: Continental (front); GY RFT(Rear)
Air: Plain Air

Griffin 27 06-07-2012 10:14 AM

Model: 2012 535
Build Date: 03/2012
Delivery Date: 5/11/2012
Status: Not Working
Did you ever change the tires: YES
Tires: OEM 19" M Sport, OEM Dunlop tires
Air: Plain Air

DreamCar 06-07-2012 10:33 AM

Model: 2012 535 IX m sport , 2012 535 I , 2012 535 I m sport

Status. : working

Never changed the tires.

RO-CK 06-07-2012 12:01 PM

Maybe this is a dumb theory, but would it be possible that this particular feature working and the Sports Display (HP/Torque meter) in some cases and others not, may have some kind of relation with the fact that they don't have the CIC/Navigation Professional and only have the BMW Business system installed?

By the way, thanks @Dreamcar, Sean, Shawn and all that contributed for all this.. My E-net cable arrives Saturday!! Finally

grilodan 06-07-2012 12:40 PM

Username: grilodan
Model: 2011 535i
Build Date: 08/2010
Status: NOT WORKING
Did you ever change the tires: No
Tires changed by Ind Shop/Dealer: N/A
Tires: Goodyear OEM
Air: Normal Air

dmunz 06-07-2012 07:53 PM

Has anyone looked for or found the code to turn the rotational monitoring code off? I wonder if that (RPS??? I think) might be on and interfearing.

I'll try to poke around tomorrow if I get some time in my car to look at the code.

FWIW
DLM

shawnsheridan 06-07-2012 07:57 PM

@dmunz:
FYI. TPMS is Reifen Druck Control, aka RDC, and FTMS is Reifen Pannen Anzeige, aka RPA.

ImSW1 06-08-2012 07:01 AM

No great breakthroughs so far.

Last night I activated FTMS. The RPA choice is just above the RDC FDL line (not RDC_SAFETY). It was set to nicht_aktiv, I changed it to aktiv. I now have an RPA ecu choice on my CAFD which has so many settings it's ridiculous. I was going through it, but just didn't have the time to delve deep into the tree.

I also adjusted two FDLs sitting in KOMBI that related to RDC, but my suspicion is that they are the FDLs that allow TPMS error codes to display on the guage cluster. Aktiv to Nicht_Aktiv.

This morning I started the car and reset the TPMS then drove away. Previously my TPMS display showed the pressure and temp icons (and green tires) but didn't give me anything else. I didn't get the dashes like many of you get. So after driving for about 200 ft I got the same display but with dashes now.

I'm going to change the RPA/KOMBI settings back to their original values one-by-one this afternoon to see what happens. Then I report back my findings.

Sean

DreamCar 06-08-2012 07:21 AM

I am happy to see you back on coding!

Stealth.Pilot 06-08-2012 09:22 AM

Thanks for pushing on this Sean. I hope we can crack it.

Update on my situation is I had the dealer check the TPMS and valve stems in case the tire shop messed with them. They said I have the original OEM TPMS and metal valve stems.

miotoo 06-08-2012 02:22 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Did everybody check this value in ICM ? 2VB is the SA code for Tire Pressure Monitor.

shawnsheridan 06-08-2012 02:23 PM

2VB is standard equipment in the U.S.

shawnsheridan 06-13-2012 09:29 PM

I know this is a long shot, but I am going to ask anyway. For those without working TPMS, is your car also equipped with Active Steering?

Stealth.Pilot 06-13-2012 10:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shawnsheridan (Post 6894240)
I know this is a long shot, but I am going to ask anyway. For those without working TPMS, is your car also equipped with Active Steering?

Yes

grilodan 06-13-2012 10:51 PM

No active steering on mine.

DreamCar 06-14-2012 03:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shawnsheridan (Post 6894240)
I know this is a long shot, but I am going to ask anyway. For those without working TPMS, is your car also equipped with Active Steering?

If Alex also has active steering then you may be on to something as stealth also has active steering.

Edit: Just checked he doesnt have active steering... But i am curious why did you think active steering is the cause?

dmunz 06-14-2012 07:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shawnsheridan (Post 6894240)
I know this is a long shot, but I am going to ask anyway. For those without working TPMS, is your car also equipped with Active Steering?

No active steering on my F07 either.

FWIW
DLM

JEG23 06-14-2012 07:39 AM

@shawnsheridan,

I have active steering and my TPMS is working fine.

JEG23

dmunz 06-14-2012 07:41 AM

How is the data sent?
 
Are the sensors using Bluetooth? It might be possible to sniff out the signal and see what is being fed back to the system in the car.

FWIW
DLM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms