Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=99)
-   -   ABS Module is bad (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=630933)

Dan335i 07-03-2012 11:15 AM

ABS Module is bad

Newbie here. Just took my 08 335i to a local mechanic because all of the ABS dash lights came on after a hard brake. He told me the ABS module was bad and quoted me $900.00 for the complete job. Not sure if that is a good price or not. Can someone recommend a good mechanic in the Tampa bay area that I could get another opinion. Thank you for your help.

floydarogers 07-03-2012 11:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan335i (Post 6931873)
Newbie here. Just took my 08 335i to a local mechanic because all of the ABS dash lights came on after a hard brake. He told me the ABS module was bad and quoted me $900.00 for the complete job. Not sure if that is a good price or not. Can someone recommend a good mechanic in the Tampa bay area that I could get another opinion. Thank you for your help.

That's a good price. I believe there is a cheaper ($250 ?) method if you're willing to DIY. Pull the module, send it out for re-build, and replace. Can't remember the search terms...

sunny5280 07-03-2012 12:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan335i (Post 6931873)

I can't help you with the recommendation but I think a second opinion is in order. Seems odd it would fail right after a hard brake.

90rr 07-03-2012 03:51 PM

bmw dealership quoted me around $1200- $1400 for part installation and programing. I got help from fellow member on this forum, he paid 350 for refurbished part and 100 for instalation and programing. I can pm you a link for pump.
let me know

David1 07-05-2012 05:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sunny5280 (Post 6931981)