Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   F07 Gran Turismo (2010 - Current) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=161)
-   -   F07 Successfully coded today... (videos attached) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=632597)

gt=hi&bye 07-11-2012 08:34 PM

F07 Successfully coded today... (videos attached)
 
I coded my 550i F07 today. Only took about 30 minutes.
The following are the options that I successfully coded on my car.

Digital Speed in MPH on Dash (on Board Computer)
Close Trunk from Inside Button
Close Trunk from FOB
Fold Mirrors from Comfort Access (Door Handle)
Fold Mirrors from FOB
Close Windows and Moon Roof from FOB
Disable Driver and Passenger Seat Belt Reminders
Disable Driver and Passenger Seat Disconnect Reminders
Disable Front and Rear Window Disruption - (keep closing when door is opened)
Unlock Doors on Single Push of Start/Stop Button (allows single pull of door handle to exit)
Fog Lights Stay On with High Beams / Flash to Pass
Enable Welcome Lights (Fog lights, License Plate Lights, Taillights, Position Lights (Front Side LED's), Angel Eyes)
Enable VIM (Video-In-Motion)
Remove NAV Startup Disclaimer
Remove Reverse & Sideview Camera Disclaimer
Remove Night Vision Camera Disclaimer
Daytime Running Lights set as Angel Eyes with no Taillights on

The following are the options that I wanted coded, but could not successfully code on my car:

Enable Tire Pressure Monitor System (TPMS)
Enable Turn Signals in Heads up Display (HUD)

Clink on links to see videos of the options I chose to code on my F07:

http://s738.photobucket.com/albums/x...frominside.mp4

http://s738.photobucket.com/albums/x...seswithFOB.mp4

http://s738.photobucket.com/albums/x...leyesasDRL.mp4

http://s738.photobucket.com/albums/x...outwithFOB.mp4

http://s738.photobucket.com/albums/x...fortaccess.mp4

http://s738.photobucket.com/albums/x...dinwithFOB.mp4

http://s738.photobucket.com/albums/x...lupwithFOB.mp4

http://s738.photobucket.com/albums/x...ownwithFOB.mp4

avus9 07-12-2012 02:02 AM

Good stuff. I will be having mine coded the upcoming weekend.
What yr is your 5GT? Did you originally have the option to open the hatch from the inside?
Finally, any suggestions/tips in coding?

1STBimmer 07-12-2012 04:51 AM

Congrats, enjoy you new 'custom' GT!

gt=hi&bye 07-12-2012 05:42 AM

My car is a 2010.
Originally, the button on the inside only pops the smaller trunk. The FOB will originally open the power lift-gate, but you need coding to close the power lift-gate from either the inside or FOB.

I don't have any "tips", but maybe a suggestion. This was suggested to me by another forum member who coded his car...... Having cameras on at all speeds..... I was on the fence about enabling this option and finally decided against it because once engaged, the reverse camera would have to be shut off manually. As original or default, it will shut itself off when the car is put in D (drive).

I don't understand why more people don't code their cars. Not having to ACCEPT all the disclaimers is reason enough for me!

FYI: The guy who coded my car has done hundreds of BMWs and Mini Coopers over the past three years. Currently, he can code many E-series BMWs remotely. Apparently, in a few months, he will have the ability to code many F-series remotely too!!!

Mikez38 07-12-2012 08:56 AM

Is the coding done thru the fob or odbc?

gt=hi&bye 07-12-2012 07:20 PM

I am not sure I completely understand your question... but with coding, I have options that use my FOB, the on-board computer (BC), and the door handle (comfort access).

For example, as seen in the videos that I posted, I can use the FOB to fold mirrors and roll windows up or down. I can also use the door handle (comfort access) to do these same things. I can use the on-board computer (BC) to display digital speed (mph).
I can use the FOB to close the power lift-gate. I can also use the FOB to enable lights when the car is unlocked (I think this option is called "Welcome Lights).

Hope this answers your question.....

Mikez38 07-12-2012 07:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gt=hi&bye (Post 6948602)
I am not sure I completely understand your question... but with coding, I have options that use my FOB, the on-board computer (BC), and the door handle (comfort access).

For example, as seen in the videos that I posted, I can use the FOB to fold mirrors and roll windows up or down. I can also use the door handle (comfort access) to do these same things. I can use the on-board computer (BC) to display digital speed (mph).
I can use the FOB to close the power lift-gate. I can also use the FOB to enable lights when the car is unlocked (I think this option is called "Welcome Lights).

Hope this answers your question.....

What I am asking is where/how is the coding physically done?

gt=hi&bye 07-13-2012 06:27 AM

The coding is physically done using a BMW e-net cable, data files, and e-sys. You should browse through the coding thread on the F10 forum. Very informative and is step-by-step.... (thanks guys)!

However, I had an experienced coder do my coding because I am prone to accidents and I am not that computer savvy.

Not too sure where you live in NY, but I am sure if you started a thread requesting help from a fellow forum member, you would get overwhelmed with people willing to help you.

Mikez38 07-13-2012 12:18 PM

Thank you for the information

CC Brown 07-14-2012 12:53 AM

What you had done is almost exactly what I would like done. I also have a 2010 GT. I would like to know who I could contact to get it done. I am in Atlanta and willing to travel some. I will look at the F10 thread but last I looked I didn't see anyone near me.

gt=hi&bye 07-14-2012 04:54 AM

Just sent you a PM

wnrussell 07-18-2012 01:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gt=hi&bye (Post 6949152)
The coding is physically done using a BMW e-net cable, data files, and e-sys.

Are you saying there is a BMW part number for the cable?

gt=hi&bye 07-18-2012 05:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wnrussell (Post 6959028)
Are you saying there is a BMW part number for the cable?

No, there is not a BMW part number for the cable as the cable is not a OEM part.

There is a e-net cable on sale on eBay for $50. See eBay item no. 130731306086.

avus9 08-19-2012 06:58 PM

Thanks to forum member Grilodan, I finally was able to get my F07 coded today. It all went smoothly. Like the original post, I was not able to get the Tire Pressure Monitor System (TPMS) nor the Turn Signals in Heads up Display (HUD) to work.
Interestingly, he mentioned that there has to be a way to activate the function of opening the hatch with the interior button (like the 2012+s can do) - but more work needs to be done to find out how.

CC Brown 08-20-2012 07:33 AM

I had mine done in Atlanta. The HUD turn signals worked but the trunk release inside still operates the small trunk to open but it does shut the large trunk when it is open. The tire pressure shows only a dashed line. He also tried the speed limit detection since I have lane departure warning but it did not work either.

I do like the other addition features as shown in the other post but I still wonder why BMW doesn't allow these settings. Those that are required by law I understand but the others I do not!

CC Brown

gt=hi&bye 08-20-2012 07:58 AM

It is good to see other F07 owners are getting their cars coded to their liking. It kind of gives the car a custom feel....well, a little bit, anyway. Apparently, turn signals in the HUD has been figured out...the guy that coded my car has subsequently contacted me and told me that I can code that option now too. No word or luck with the TMPS for the F07. Maybe that too will be figured out soon.

If anyone is on the fence about coding, I say go for it! It really does make a big difference and eliminates some of the frustrations associated with driving the F-series.

avus9 08-20-2012 05:36 PM

Can someone reference a link for the turn signals in HUD operation? I will be going back to my coding guy, after Bimmerfest East, as the always-on of the auto high beam assist feature didn't seem to take.
Now if someone can just figure out opening the large hatch from within the cabin...

gt=hi&bye 09-02-2012 07:14 PM

Still waiting on my coding guy to put turn signals in HUD. But no worries, it can definitely be done. Will post info about it after it is successfully coded on my car....hopefully much sooner than later....

tonyscv 09-03-2012 09:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by avus9 (Post 7024274)
Can someone reference a link for the turn signals in HUD operation? I will be going back to my coding guy, after Bimmerfest East, as the always-on of the auto high beam assist feature didn't seem to take.
Now if someone can just figure out opening the large hatch from within the cabin...

Quote:

Originally Posted by gt=hi&bye (Post 7049578)
Still waiting on my coding guy to put turn signals in HUD. But no worries, it can definitely be done. Will post info about it after it is successfully coded on my car....hopefully much sooner than later....

This will help your coding guy. Keep in mind these settings are what worked for my 2012 F07, they may not work for other models. Make sure to make a backup of settings and do one set of changes (one feature) at a time, test it, then move on.

For HUD turn signals, it's 3 steps:

Step 1:

(For all steps - make sure you're using the F01 coding in E-Sys - don't use F10. Our car's programming is more similar to a 7-series (F01) vs. a 5 series (F10).

Module: KOMBI
Section: 3000 Anzeige_Konfiguration
Function: BLINKER_HUD_ENABLE
New Value: aktiv
Default Value: nicht_aktiv
Save and apply code to car.

NOTE: Every time when you code the "Kombi" module you will get a warning in your cluster and nav screen saying something malfunctioned and you have to take your car to nearest BMW dealer. The warning will disappear once the coding is completed and your date and time will be lost. You'll need to set your date and time every time you code from this module.

Step 2:

Module: HU_CIC
Section: 3000 HMI
Function: HUD_TURNSIGNAL
New value: aktiv / Werte=01
Default value: nicht_aktiv / Werte=00
Save and apply code to car.

Step 3:
Enable "Turn indicator" Check box in Settings=>Heads-Up Display for this to work.

tonyscv 09-03-2012 09:07 AM

Also just a general heads up for those of you coding based on the F10 v3.0 cheat sheet located elsewhere in the forum, it is generally a good guide to follow and has relevant data for our cars. Toggles between "aktiv" and "nicht_activ" will auto-populate the correct "Werte" value in most cases. In one case though I found that the "Werte" values listed in the F10 cheat sheet were not correct for our cars. Fortunately the software defaulted to the correct values and when I tried to manually change the "Werte" value, upon saving it the car just rejected it anyway and reset the value back from "activ" to "nicht_activ", which of course meant that I could not get the darn thing to work for the longest time until I realized what was happening.

In the specific case I ran across, when I attempted to code Comfort Access and the Key Fob closing the windows / sunroof / mirrors, the values in the cheat sheet were not right. Using the following:

Step 1:

Module: FRM
Section: 3020
Function: ASP_BEIKLAPPEN_BEI_KOMFORTSCHLIESSEN
New Value: aktiv / Werte=01
Default Value: nicht_aktiv / Werte=00

Step 2:

Module: CAS
Section: 3003 FH MASTER
Function: KOMFORTSCHLIESSUNG_FB
New Value: aktiv / Werte=00 (when I loaded these values in the car, the Werte values were opposite what it stated in the cheat sheet. The cheat sheet shows aktiv / Werte 01. My car defaulted to aktiv / Werte 00. If that's the case for you, leave the Werte values alone (don't modify them) and just ensure "aktiv" is set. If you modify the "Werte" value to 01 and save it to the car, it will wind up saving as "nicht_aktiv, Werte 01", which will effectively just re-disable the feature, meaning when you go to test it, it won't work.)
Default Value: nicht_aktiv / Werte=01

Step 3:

Module: CAS
Section: 3003 FH MASTER
Function: KOMFORTSCHLIESSUNG_PA
New Value: aktiv / Werte=00
Default value: nicht_aktiv / Werte=01

Every other cheat sheet value I tried had the Aktiv / Werte01 and nicht_aktiv / Werte 00 correlation correct except these settings. Hopefully this will save you the hour of frustration it caused me. :)

- T

gt=hi&bye 09-03-2012 05:52 PM

Way to go tonyscv!!!!!! Thanks for the heads up and added information!
Isn't it awesome how everyone shares info on these forums? Helping each other out.... Wish everything else in life could be this easy.
:thumbup:

eyeatl 09-11-2012 06:47 PM

CC Brown, where in Atlanta did you have the car coded? I want to do the same .

CC Brown 09-12-2012 04:28 AM

eyeatl

I sent private email of the guy who coded my car in Atlanta. I do recommend him after he did my car.
CC Brown

eyeatl 09-14-2012 02:28 PM

Coding
 
The guy in Atlanta was able to code everything except:
Enable Tire Pressure Monitor System (TPMS)
Enable Turn Signals in Heads up Display (HUD)

He said the turn signal in HUD was not even an option in his software for my car even though I have the heads up display. I'm not sure if it is because it was an early 2010 build or what.
After recoding, the TPMS didn't even show dashes as some have reported. Mine shows just the normal status with the color of the tires.

evacheung 09-17-2012 07:15 PM

Hello,

I want to confirm that my 2010 F07 DOES NOT have HUD turn signal capability. BLINKER_HUD_ENABLE is not in the KOMBI and HUD_TURNSIGNAL is not in HU_CIC or anywhere else for that matter. I tried clicking F01 (as you should) and even F10 when connecting using ESYS and it's the same deal... those options are nowhere to be found.

RDC_SAFETY (TPMS temp and psi) doesn't work for me either.

Maybe the KOMBI and CIC need to be firmware upgraded?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms