Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   X5 E70 (2007 - 2013) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=159)
-   -   Newbie here - just placed order for new X5 35D (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=634475)

John Galt 07-21-2012 09:25 AM

Newbie here - just placed order for new X5 35D

Hello Fellow E70'ers:

I posted this in the New Member Intro forum, but since this will be my home for the next 3 years, i figured it would be appopriate to post here as well:

Long time lurker and first time poster. Wife has owned a 335 xDrive for past two years and I finally joined the fray and put an order in yesterday for a 2012 X5 35d, fairly well-optioned (Saphire Black, Black Nevada Leather, Premium, Cold Weather, Multi-countour seats, Apps, Space-saver spare). This vehicle will be personally-owned, and will replace my company-owned fleet vehicle, used for my role in outside sales in the medical industry.

Should any of you wish to see what EXTREME mileage will do to a BMW in a short amount of time, may I suggest you follow my posts. I put an average of 50,000 miles on per year, travelling in some of the harshest climates in North America, outside of Alaska and northern Canada. My territory includes Minnesota, the Dakotas, Iowa and Wisconsin, and offers some great viewing of corn fields and cattle...

This will be an interesting (and potentially financially terrifying) experiment in how well BMW builds the X5, since this one will be paid for and maintained by me. I have run the numbers over and over again and I believe I can make this work. I'm sort of screwed if I cannot, since I have already placed the order, but hell- you gotta live sometime!