Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   7 Series DIY (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=138)
-   -   Battery registration DIY (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=644567)

Dead 09-08-2012 06:07 PM

Battery registration DIY
 
7 Attachment(s)
you all know that the battery needs to be registered when you replace it , in

these thread i well show you how to register new battery with INPA or toolset32

and this is just for REGISTERING THE SAME SIZE BATTERY

first with INPA

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/att...1&d=1347236251

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/att...1&d=1347236251

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/att...1&d=1347236251

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/att...1&d=1347236251

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/att...1&d=1347236251

Dead 09-08-2012 06:08 PM


with toolset32


first go to file then click F3 then select POW_E65.prg

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/att...1&d=1347151661

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/att...1&d=1347151661

in the second pic double click the command (steuern_batterietausch_registrieren) just ones and you are done .

remember this is for registering the same size battery not for retrofitting another size , if you want to retrofit 90AGM battery you need to register the battery with DIS because DIS well register only 90AGM battery , if you want to retrofit another battery size you have to use NCS expert .

***CCCP*** 09-08-2012 07:37 PM

We always used inpa. Should i use both or registering with inpa is enough

Dead 09-08-2012 07:56 PM

registering ones is enough , some ppl have problem with INPA registering there battery so i put toolset32 .

MrBMW7 09-09-2012 06:37 AM

Good to know that you can also do that with ToolSet32. Thanks for sharing!
FYI: I cannot see the first 5 pictures. Maybe it's just me.

AceFX 09-09-2012 06:46 AM

I cant see them either..... it's not just you :dunno:

Ace :drive:

sirstopher 09-09-2012 07:07 AM

Yep, no photos on first five uploads. Let me know if you need help fixing this, then I will sticky

Dead 09-09-2012 05:21 PM

sorry guys pics uploaded again .

Blackbox760 09-09-2012 09:24 PM

Thank you

Mr_Burger 09-20-2012 03:19 AM

So this battery should register with INPA/Tool32 ok then :)

Maverick62 10-10-2012 03:40 PM

Help me out here? what is this battery thing ( registration ) with what? the car computer ?
So if you take out the battery and say get a sears diehard gold . what happens can someone
explain . will another battery work ( doesn't it just see a 12 volt power supply?

diehard $100
bmw $200

***CCCP*** 10-10-2012 03:45 PM

U need AGM battery. It must be registered. Otherwise it wont charge properly. Our cars are very sensitive. If ur battery is low or doesnt get charged properly u will get different errors and faults. Ur car need to know how it needs to charge battery thats why u need to register it. U can go to dealer, INDY, or u can set up bmw tools and do it urself

***CCCP*** 10-10-2012 03:47 PM

100$ difference isnt that much compares to the price of other sensors modules etc. i would go with bmw battery but many ppl go with aftermarket and they are ok

Maverick62 10-10-2012 03:59 PM

thanks comrade

***CCCP*** 10-10-2012 04:41 PM

Np

KGB_SSSR 10-22-2012 07:11 AM

This method is usefull only when you replace the battery with the same power - 95Ah.
But what if you want to replace it with 110Ah?

Sircas 10-31-2012 12:47 PM

Who has used a non OEM BMW Battery @ $300? I buy all my batteries from auto zone (warranty = 8 years). I am looking at replacing my 03 745i battery with a Duralast (for my specific year & model = same size!) auto zone battery! I am having my local dealership register it!

Andrewadams211 11-02-2012 08:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sircas (Post 7168490)
Who has used a non OEM BMW Battery @ $300? I buy all my batteries from auto zone (warranty = 8 years). I am looking at replacing my 03 745i battery with a Duralast (for my specific year & model = same size!) auto zone battery! I am having my local dealership register it!

How did this work out for you? I'm looking to do the same thing. Do I NEED to have the exact battery that the dealer is suggesting??

KGB_SSSR 11-05-2012 09:23 PM

I've used nonBMW battery on my 745 2002: Varta Silver Dynamic 110ah. It cost me about 150 USD. The only important thing was to register the higher Ah, and my friend has done it for me, but i dont remember how - with DIS, INPA or somehow other way.

hellrazor1 11-20-2012 04:14 AM

how or where do you get these different programs? do you need to hook up a laptop to the car

fabecton4570 11-23-2012 07:09 AM

So guys, I just bought a 2004 745Li from a car dealer here in town. He did put a new battery in the car. Now I am getting a fault message, "Dynamic Drive Inactive" about every 3-5 days.
1. He is not a BMW dealer, just used cars. So, he would probably not know about this? If my message is from the battery not being registered, how would go about explaining this procedure to the dealer?
2. Could this be causing my problem with the fault message?
Thanks!

So, took my car back to the dealer, and the tech came out and hook up the machine, found the battery had not been registered! He made the comment, learned something new today! So the battery is registered with the car now. I hope I don't see the "Dynamic Drive Inactive" or any message now!

Regards, Allan

pryor4444 02-01-2013 01:52 PM

registering battery
 
I have not registered the battery I replaced on my 745i. I found that if you attached another battery ( I used my 325i) to the battery jumping poles under the hood of the 745i. That way the car never lost battery power while I was changing the battery. I bought the battery from NAPA and I have had no problems.

Ultimate745i 02-01-2013 01:59 PM

:( I dont know what ANY of this stuff means,..I just wish I could learn to POST stuff this neatly! :thumbup:

jdukes7593 02-08-2013 10:34 AM

I put an after market batt in and didnt register it now my radio and nav screen is going bezeerk ano my transmission is shifitin hard and my transmission failsafe indicator is coming on when it shifts hard its reading code p1885 solenoid short to ground will the batt cause this

Hooverdog 02-16-2013 06:15 AM

Hey guys,

I usually spend most of my time over on the 6 series site but have a related battery question? I just took my wife's '06 750Li in to an indy for the first time since coming off of the CPO for brakes, fluids, etc. I had them replace the battery ($330) as well as it only had 30% life left. When my wife piced up the car, she noted that none of her radio stations were gone and the seat settings were still there. It seemed like every time we took the car to the dealer, all of these setting were deleted.

My question is if it is possible to change the battery and re-initalize it to the car without losing these settings?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms