Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   BMW Coding and Programming (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=175)
-   -   F10 HUD Turn Signals (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=645540)

Ionic202 09-13-2012 09:30 AM

HUD Turn Signals
 
I am trying to activate the HUD turn signal in my 2013 535ix.

1. HU_NET / HUD_TURNSIGNAL = aktiv
2. KOMBI/BLINKER_HUD_ENABLE = aktiv

There is no checkbox that shows up in the HUD settings. I have also found that the HUD_TURNSIGNAL is not in the 3000 HMI section as shown in the cheat sheet, but is in the 3001 EXBOX section on my car. Any ideas from the gurus?

bmguy 09-13-2012 10:12 AM

When I enabled it; you had to click on "display options" first, then it gave you alist of itmees you can check, and uncheck; the "display Options" (maybe exact text is different) looks like a title for that menu, but when you select it, it brings up a bunch of things you can show or hide on the HUD, turn signals will appear in that list if you did everything right

Ionic202 09-13-2012 10:59 AM

The checkbox on the HUD display options is not coming up with the turn signal checkbox. I have checked the coding multiple times and it shows in the HU_NET and KOMBI that they are aktiv.

shawnsheridan 09-13-2012 12:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ionic202 (Post 7071867)
The checkbox on the HUD display options is not coming up with the turn signal checkbox. I have checked the coding multiple times and it shows in the HU_NET and KOMBI that they are aktiv.

What are the CAFD File names for your HU_NBT and Kombi ECU's?

AutobahnCowboy 09-13-2012 01:02 PM

ive set today the KOMBI/BLINKER_HUD_ENABLE to aktiv but not the second one.
id no access to internet while coding so i could only watch some pdf´s i got

currently ive the checkbox for "Blinker" in settings but no Blinker in HUD while driving around

i try to set the other option to aktiv too and will report

Ionic202 09-13-2012 01:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shawnsheridan (Post 7072143)
what are the cafd file names for your hu_nbt and kombi ecu's?

hud_nbt - cafd_00000ded_001_019_008
kombi - cafd_00000069_009_000_042

shawnsheridan 09-13-2012 06:17 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Well, it could be different in 2013, but I highly doubt it. Just to make triple sure though, please check the following:

1) Code KOMBI / BLINKER_HUD_ENABLE = aktiv - This actually enables the feature.
2) Code HU_NBT / HUD_TURNSIGNAL = aktiv - This adds the iDrive Checkbox to toggle the feature on and off.
3) Go into iDrive HUD Settings, and enable checkbox for Hud Turn Signals as shown in attached picture.

Ionic202 09-13-2012 06:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shawnsheridan (Post 7072825)
Well, it could be different in 2013, but I highly doubt it. Just to make triple sure though, please check the following:

1) Code KOMBI / BLINKER_HUD_ENABLE = aktiv - This actually enables the feature.
2) Code HU_NBT / HUD_TURNSIGNAL = aktiv - This adds the iDrive Checkbox to toggle the feature on and off.
3) Go into iDrive HUD Settings, and enable checkbox for Hud Turn Signals as shown in attached picture.

1) yes
2) yes
3) no check box on settings screen.

shawnsheridan 09-13-2012 06:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bmguy (Post 7071744)
When I enabled it; you had to click on "display options" first, then it gave you alist of itmees you can check, and uncheck; the "display Options" (maybe exact text is different) looks like a title for that menu, but when you select it, it brings up a bunch of things you can show or hide on the HUD, turn signals will appear in that list if you did everything right

Is your car a 2013 with the new HU_NBT, and can you confirm that your HUD Turn Signals are working?

shawnsheridan 09-13-2012 06:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ionic202 (Post 7072888)
1) yes
2) yes
3) no check box on settings screen.

What options are shown on your HUD Settings Screen? Can you post a picture of it?

bmguy 09-13-2012 06:55 PM

No Sorry - I'm a 2012 Nov15/2012 build...

shawnsheridan 09-13-2012 07:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bmguy (Post 7072910)
No Sorry - I'm a 2012 Nov15/2012 build...

Ok. We need someone else with the new HU_NBT to see what is going on.

Paging @falcongeek ...

falcongeek 09-13-2012 07:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shawnsheridan (Post 7072923)
Ok. We need someone else with the new HU_NBT to see what is going on.

Paging @falcongeek ...

I did try coding the HUD turn signals when I first started coding and was not able to get them working either. I set both KOMBI BLINKER_HUD_ENABLE and HU_NBT HUD_TURNSIGNAL as aktiv and also did not get a checkbox to show in the iDrive HUD settings.

I did some digging a while ago and couldn't find any additional settings that I though needed to be changed, but it is possible that I missed something.

Adam

Ionic202 09-13-2012 07:16 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by shawnsheridan (Post 7072908)
What options are shown on your HUD Settings Screen? Can you post a picture of it?

It is the same as prior to coding.......

shawnsheridan 09-13-2012 07:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by falcongeek (Post 7072954)
I did try coding the HUD turn signals when I first started coding and was not able to get them working either. I set both KOMBI BLINKER_HUD_ENABLE and HU_NBT HUD_TURNSIGNAL as aktiv and also did not get a checkbox to show in the iDrive HUD settings.

I did some digging a while ago and couldn't find any additional settings that I though needed to be changed, but it is possible that I missed something.

Adam

Ok. Not good, but at least we know it is an HU_NBT issue. Thanks for confirming. So, we will need to keep digging.

Ionic202 09-13-2012 07:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by falcongeek (Post 7072954)
I did try coding the HUD turn signals when I first started coding and was not able to get them working either. I set both KOMBI BLINKER_HUD_ENABLE and HU_NBT HUD_TURNSIGNAL as aktiv and also did not get a checkbox to show in the iDrive HUD settings.

I did some digging a while ago and couldn't find any additional settings that I though needed to be changed, but it is possible that I missed something.

Adam

I have also been looking in other sections and CAFD files for anything that has turn or blinker. No luck so far. Does it being in the 3001 EXBOX instead of the 3000 HMI section maybe have something to do with it?

falcongeek 09-13-2012 07:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shawnsheridan (Post 7072982)
Ok. Not good, but at least we know it is an HU_NBT issue. Thanks for confirming. So, we will need to keep digging.

I have 47.1, is it possible that this is "fixed" in 47.4?

shawnsheridan 09-13-2012 07:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by falcongeek (Post 7073005)
I have 47.1, is it possible that this is "fixed" in 47.4?

Maybe, but I think its an equal probability that if it will work it will work in 47.1 too and there is some other coding we need to find.

Ionic202 09-13-2012 07:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shawnsheridan (Post 7073015)
Maybe, but I think its an equal probability that if it will work it will work in 47.1 too and there is some other coding we need to find.

I am in 47.4.......

shawnsheridan 09-13-2012 08:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ionic202 (Post 7073037)
I am in 47.4.......

Well, that confirms that. It is likely that the HU_NBT firmware went unchanged from 47.1 to 47.4, so the ECU is the same. So, it is find some other missing coding, or hope a future firmware corrects the issue.

AutobahnCowboy 09-14-2012 06:24 AM

i cant get it work on my F30

1. HU_CIC / HUD_TURNSIGNAL = aktiv
2. KOMBI/BLINKER_HUD_ENABLE = aktiv

Checkbox is there and choosen

but no lights in HUD

:dunno:

shawnsheridan 09-14-2012 06:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AutobahnCowboy (Post 7073562)
i cant get it work on my F30

1. HU_CIC / HUD_TURNSIGNAL = aktiv
2. KOMBI/BLINKER_HUD_ENABLE = aktiv

Checkbox is there and choosen

but no lights in HUD

:dunno:

I have never coded HUD Turn signals on an F30, so I can't say for sure whether it should work.

Has anyone coded an F30 and got it to work?

digital 09-17-2012 11:19 AM

Hey guys, I had the same issue with my 2013 535i as well. I figured it out eventually. You need to set one of the PIA options to aktiv (I don't remember the name). I will post it here once I get home.

shawnsheridan 09-17-2012 11:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by digital (Post 7079021)
Hey guys, I had the same issue with my 2013 535i as well. I figured it out eventually. You need to set one of the PIA options to aktiv (I don't remember the name). I will post it here once I get home.

This will be good to know, although I hope it does not turn out to be a PIA setting that exists in F30 only and not F10 like this one:

Pia_Default_Tippblinken

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...182&highlight=

digital 09-17-2012 11:26 AM

Mine is F10 2013 with the new Nav. I'll keep you posted.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms