Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   E30 (1982 - 1993) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=96)
-   -   Oil Everywhere! (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=650858)

HicksLJames 10-09-2012 03:10 PM

Oil Everywhere!
 
My E30 has been acting up lately. smoke on startup and terrible idle. i pulled the airbox when i was servicing it and there is oil on my air filter, oil all in the throttle body and everywhere in the airbox. I immediatly thought PCV but i guess there isnt really one just a tube or something going from the crankcase to the intake manifold. Any Ideas? :confused:

downhiller 10-09-2012 06:14 PM

rings. or a cracked block. cracked head. valve guides non existent. either way, getting too much pressure bypassing something when on the power stroke.

Tkaczuk 10-09-2012 06:58 PM

Did you over fill your oil?

BMWFatherFigure 10-09-2012 07:19 PM

+ on both above. Which engine?

MINI+BMWtek 10-09-2012 07:55 PM

Do you have the 318 M42? Oil level and condition.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Bimmer App

HicksLJames 10-10-2012 01:22 PM

It has the M20. I didnt put too much oil in it 4 and a half quarts like always... i did a compression check and a cylinder leakdown test on it yesterday and i didnt see anything that wou;d point to a cracked block or any internal engine damage. im thinking its a crankcase ventilation problem. but im not really sure where to start looking. when i look on AllData all that shows up is a generic drawring of the CCV system.

BMWFatherFigure 10-10-2012 04:42 PM

If you think CCV problems then first remove all hoses (one at a time so you know where it goes) and check for splits and blockages etc. Replace any thing suspect. Clean out and test any valves. Once you are happy with those results run up to temp and briefly remove the oil filler cap. Check for excessive blow past. Post results and we will see if we can help more.

HicksLJames 11-02-2012 03:24 PM

so whats up with these hose clamps? should i get the same ones that are on there (the one time use ones) or would i be ok using standard hose clamps. I just dont wanna screw myself if I have to use the same ones already on it...

Tkaczuk 11-02-2012 03:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HicksLJames (Post 7172377)
so whats you can use normal ones up with these hose clamps? should i get the same ones that are on there (the one time use ones) or would i be ok using standard hose clamps. I just dont wanna screw myself if I have to use the same ones already on it...

You can use the normal ones.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms