Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=126)
-   -   Dealership Can't Program Car (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=651040)

JimmyW 10-10-2012 11:06 AM

Dealership Can't Program Car
 
:mad: I finally retrofit installed the whole Active Cruise Control System into my car and got the sensor aligned by the dealership. I coded the active cruise control myself using NCS Expert to all of the modules. After the alignment the only error code left was from the DSC module. I realized I never programmed the DSC module with the Active Cruise Control info because it doesn't show up in NCS Expert! So with that, I brought it back to the dealership a second time for them to program it with ISIS. Well.... I just got an e-mail from the dealership saying they won't be able to program the car because of other retrofits I've done (Navi03, facelift MMI, steering wheel heating, and steptronic). Has anyone that ran into this same problem (retrofits causing coding problems) solved it? Or does anyone have any better software than I do for coding the DSC module? I'm in the Metro Detroit Area.

mrbmwx5 10-10-2012 01:57 PM

What dealer did you took your car to?

mrbmwx5 10-10-2012 01:59 PM

My guys at Erhard can do any thing ...

JimmyW 10-10-2012 02:17 PM

It was Erhard. I just spoke with the tech directly. ISSS does not allow you to program individual modules. It's kinda "dumbed down" and won't continue without them replacing the SZL, MMI, NAVI03 unit.

***CCCP*** 10-10-2012 02:24 PM

Talk to ACE he knows how to code it using dashsoft he was selling active cruise set up at one point.

mrbmwx5 10-10-2012 04:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JimmyW (Post 7125691)
It was Erhard. I just spoke with the tech directly. ISSS does not allow you to program individual modules. It's kinda "dumbed down" and won't continue without them replacing the SZL, MMI, NAVI03 unit.

Talk to Sam and Chen at Bloomfield Hills location....The rest of those tech at Farmington Hills location they lazy and....:thumbdwn:

JimmyW 10-11-2012 08:33 AM

To CCCP: I have been trying to get ahold of Ace by e-mail and PM but haven't gotten any answer. I am the one that bought the active cruise kit :p

To MrBMWX5: Thanks for the advice, I'll give the bloomfield location a try!

***CCCP*** 10-11-2012 03:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JimmyW (Post 7127180)
To CCCP: I have been trying to get ahold of Ace by e-mail and PM but haven't gotten any answer. I am the one that bought the active cruise kit :p

To MrBMWX5: Thanks for the advice, I'll give the bloomfield location a try!

Ill talk to him tonight and ill let him know.

rippjd 10-12-2012 08:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JimmyW (Post 7125280)
I finally retrofit installed the whole Active Cruise Control System into my car and got the sensor aligned by the dealership. I coded the active cruise control myself using NCS Expert to all of the modules. After the alignment the only error code left was from the DSC module. ....

Any plans to do a write-up on your retrofit? Some day I plan to add this option.

JimmyW 10-16-2012 05:21 AM

I do! I know what to do as far as getting everything installed. There is only one step preventing me from activating the cruise control. When I turn it on, it says ACC Malfunction! Maintain safe distance. And the car immediately stores an error in the ACC module saying "implausible signal sent" and the DSC module says "implausible signal received. Acc deceleration request too high". The technicians at the dealer knew the DSC module was the module that needed to be coded with the active cruise option but I'm stuck figuring out a way to do so. Either I will need to find factory stock modules (SZL, iDrive knob, MMI, and navigation unit) and switch them out (what a PITA that would be!) or I need some software that will allow me to code only the DSC module. Then I will try my best to do a full write up with any gotchas I encountered along the way :)

rippjd 10-20-2012 01:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JimmyW (Post 7136987)
The technicians at the dealer knew the DSC module was the module that needed to be coded with the active cruise option...

How does the Dealer (and you) know the DSC module needs to be coded? As you said, there aren't any DSC coding files in NCSExpert... nor even in the SPDaten packs, so I'm thinking the module is not codable, just programable.

Looking in ETK, the 2 part numbers listed for the DSC electronics unit show effectivity of only the E65 & E66. Typically when BMW does this they don't make the unit codable.

Also, you have a MY2002. ACC wasn't an option until MY2003. Some modules likely need newer software, though I would expect a full I-level update would have accomplished this, and surely your car has had an update in the past.

Do you know your DSC's hardware and software part numbers?

JimmyW 10-25-2012 06:23 AM

I just came to that conclusion because based on remembering that I never coded the DSC module and that the error message "implausible signal" was very strange and suggested that it didn't understand the commands it was getting from the ACC module.

That is a very good and interesting point about the part numbers, I never knew that!

I knew the ACC module wasn't available until 2003 and was worried it wouldn't even have a place to fit in the car, but surprisingly, if you look at the bumper there are holes for the bracket. Talk about smart engineering!

My laptop is dead right now, after I buy a new laptop and get it set up I will look for the DSC software and hardware numbers w/ INPA for you. I also need to do some programming for another local member of the forum and I think he said he's willing to swap DSC modules w/ me to see if that gets the active cruise working :)

JimmyW 11-29-2012 06:56 AM

13 Attachment(s)
Here is the latest update on this issue:

I swapped DSC modules with a MY 2004 DSC Module (mine is 2002). It still didn't work but the errors are behaving differently now. With my original DSC module, when you pulled the stalk to activate cruise, you'd get the error and for the rest of the drive (until the car is turned off and back on) you couldn't activate the error again. Well now with this new module, when you get the error, it only remains in the iDrive for a few seconds and then disappears and you can pull the stalk again and it'll chime and error again. I've attached a picture of the iDrive screen error. I've also attached the DIS screenshot showing the new errors. "No activation possible" and "no deceleration or acceleration possible". Running through the tests is useless (it just tests whether the buttons on the stalk are working properly and then quits.

I've also attached screenshots of the info display in DIS. I think you are right rippjd, the module doesn't need any coding. But now I'm still stuck as to what is causing the issue. :dunno:

BSOD 11-29-2012 10:03 AM

I have a 2003 7li built in February.
When I bought the car at the beginning of this year, the factory fit ACC never worked on it, to be fair the garage never advertised the fact the car had ACC or the comfort access (which only works on one door) and the price was reflected by this.

The error you are seeing from the MMI are the same that I get, pre and post facelift MMI. I am just getting my feet wet with INPA, but only last night got the error codes from the ACC module. The bit I was pleased about ( not only that the acc responds) was the fact that the error messages had mileage recorded when they occurred which is well within the mileage that I have owned it. I suspect the error are each time I try to activate it and it fails, at least I know the module is responding.

I have never been able to read the module in ncsexpert.

Have you got the option set in the VO $541 I think, and remove $540

I will be working my way through other module error codes to see if they give a clue.

In INPA there are some options for ACC but I haven't translated it yet to find out what it's telling me, have you used that section and does it allow you to configure the module?

JimmyW 11-29-2012 10:49 AM

I do have the VO $ code changed, I did that and the dealership I brought it to also double checked that. I am able to read the ACC module in NCSExpert, I may be able to help you with that. I can send you the updated daten files for ACC. You also may have a german version of INPA, I experienced the german labels too but I was able to get an english version and everything started making sense. Be careful messing around with the ACC module in INPA, there is an option to erase the configuration, and also to erase the adjustment settings (meaning you will have to go to the dealer to get it aligned again).

What is the error code you are getting in INPA? Should be a short string of letters and numbers?

Do you have DIS?

BSOD 11-29-2012 02:38 PM

one of the error reports from the ACC module

E R R O R M E M O R Y ---------------------------------------
Date: 27.11.2012 23:45:35 ECU: ACC_E65 JobStatus: OKAY Variant: ACC_E65 -------------------------------------------------------------
RESULT: 1 error in error memory ! -------------------------------------------------------------
5D14 Sensor dejustiert
Error counter: 15 Logistic counter: 40
Mileage 216880 km Betriebsstundenzaehler 3882.88 Stunden Aussentemperatur 6.00 Grad C SCU-Innentemperatur 21.00 Grad C Betriebsspannung 10.75 Volt Dejustagegrad des Sensors Dejustagegrad des Sensors: nicht vorhanden: 0 0-n Linsenheizung 0.00 0/1 Verschmutzung der Linse 0.00 0/1 Abschaltung durch SPU (CANSTOP) 0.00 0/1 CAN-ID: 0 (0x0000) - keine Information vorhanden 0-n Error code: 3783 hex
kein passendes Fehlersymptom Testbedingungen erfuellt Fehler momentan vorhanden und bereits gespeichert Fehler wuerde kein Aufleuchten einer Warnlampe verursachen
Error code: 5D 14 60 0F 28 69 E6 57 79 06 15 54 00 00 00 37 83 ================================================== ===========

if you have some other ACC spdaten files that would be good, i already have acc_e65.c05 6 7 8 and 9 (i think 7 was copied from another model which obv didnt work)

I did end up setting min and max distance in INPA and 6 charts appeared, but i quickly jumped out of that before i got carried away.

I will prob try and reinstall INPA cos i do get some language variant errs appearing

rippjd 12-07-2012 06:05 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by JimmyW (Post 7220779)
I've also attached screenshots of the info display in DIS. I think you are right rippjd, the module doesn't need any coding. But now I'm still stuck as to what is causing the issue. :dunno:

Looks like most of the modules don't need to be coded as "variant recognition" occurs automatically with the first message from the ACC module. It's almost like there is something preventing communication. I assume you've re-checked the wiring per WDS?

Progman could do the formal conversion for all the control modules, but you would likely need to first change your VO to a Euro type, as ACC retrofit was never officially offered in North America US spec 7er.

For what it's worth, attached is the training module on the E65 ACC. Note this is not for ACC2 introduced in the 2006 model year.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms