Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=99)
-   -   FSD's, ride height and alignment. (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=653939)

TXFred 10-24-2012 05:37 PM

FSD's, ride height and alignment.

I'm planning a Koni FSD install, and wanted to get a few things straight in my head before I started the work.

I've ridden and modified motorcycles for many years, and am very skilled mechanically. However, I'm still new to cars, so chassis geometry and suspension is not something I know a lot about. So I have some questions.

1. Do the FSDs provide any way to adjust ride height? I'm not looking to lower the car, just adjust it to factory specifications. Possibly, I'd even raise it just a bit to get some more clearance on speed bumps.

2. Does the car need to be aligned after I replace the struts, assuming no other changes are made?

3. Does the car need to be aligned after I adjust the ride height?

Cheers,
Frederic

captainaudio 10-24-2012 06:33 PM

The FSDs are a replacement for the OEM shocks and do not have an adjustment for ride height. After I had them installed I did not need to have an alignment.

CA

CALWATERBOY 10-24-2012 07:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TXFred (Post 7155762)
1. Do the FSDs provide any way to adjust ride height? I'm not looking to lower the car, just adjust it to factory specifications. Possibly, I'd even raise it just a bit to get some more clearance on speed bumps.

2. Does the car need to be aligned after I replace the struts, assuming no other changes are made?

1) No
2) Recommended
3) Yes!

I wouldn't raise the height. Skosh lower maybe, but there's no stock adj. Stock alignment: Front & Rear Toe; Rear Camber. Zero thrust angle. Optional: BMW recommended weights.

Here's what I did - might assist.

ramblinman 10-24-2012 07:11 PM