Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   X5 E53 (1999 - 2006) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   Nav screen scrambled/fuzzy?? Help?? (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=655890)

1bad540 11-03-2012 07:26 PM

Nav screen scrambled/fuzzy?? Help??
 
Hi Guys, my 05 x5 nav screen recently started going nuts, looks all scrambled, like an old tv. This is the 16;9 screen. before this happened the screen was loosing some color but would come back from time to time. The screen did come back completely yesterday but today its all scrambled again. Can I swap the screen or is the unit in the back bad?? Please help!!!!!:thumbup:

1bad540 11-05-2012 08:07 AM

Jeez the x forum is terrible, not even 1 person.:tsk:Looks like it may be the actual nav unit in the back, ordered another one will keep the thread updated for future people if this resolves the problem.

nezarnuaimat 11-05-2012 12:58 PM

I got a used Navi screen MKIII for selling, very neat, all light & button work perfectly. Removed from my car & replaced with a Hualingan screen.

PropellerHead 11-05-2012 02:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1bad540 (Post 7174250)
Can I swap the screen or is the unit in the back bad?? Please help!!!!!:thumbup:

Did you search? Similar questions answered in April this year.
Quote:

Originally Posted by PropellerHead (Post 6772596)
Contact Hong Kong Eruo Electronics and order Part No.: LQ065T9BR53U. You can also email to confirm that is what you need. Last I saw they were ab $160.


Hongkong Eurotech Electronics Co.,Ltd
Sales Manager: Cinderella Yi
Company website: HongKong Eurotech Electronics Co.,Ltd
Tel: 86 755 8395 2292
Cel: 86 134 8074 7113
Email: lcdsource@eurotech-lcd.com
Info.ETLCD@gmail.com
MSN: pdaparts.export@hotmail.com
Skype: LCD.Eurotech

Note: this is the screen ONLY. You'll have to take apart the NAV unit to replace it.

Instructions attached.


1bad540 11-06-2012 06:10 AM

I searched quite BIT WITH NOTHING, I did come across the screen issue but im almost positive Its the unit in the back. I ordered one that hopefully will be here today. This morning i started the truck and everything is perfect again?? Im going to swap the mk4 and see if thats the problem. If anyones int in a used dvd mk4 thats not 100% working pm me. I'll update as I fix this.

1bad540 11-07-2012 08:52 AM

Got another unit and that fixed the problem, nav is back to new. what weird is the old one sometimes is perfect maybe its an easy fix, I will be selling it if anyone is interested.

Mus36 11-08-2012 04:11 AM

Hi,how did you fixed it? How much cost you?
Thanks

davidshad 11-08-2012 06:42 AM

NAV screen issues
 
On my 2003 X5 the screen has what looks like a burnt spot about a 1/2 inch wide right in
the middle of the screen...I am not selling the car anytime soon so am looking into just replacing the dash part of the unit...Love the car otherwise.

1bad540 11-08-2012 06:32 PM

I installed a new mk4 dvd drive unit in the rear. That fixed the prob.

Mus36 11-09-2012 02:36 PM

How much cost you mate?

1bad540 11-10-2012 08:02 AM

about 450 for a used like new mk4 off ebay.
If anyone wants to take a shot at fixing my other one pm me an offer.

1bad540 11-12-2012 06:39 PM

well the screen got scrambled again, so i guess i have an extra mk4. Maybe its a loose connection to the screen, will take the screen out and check connections before installing anewer one. wish me luck.I will keep this updated for a fix.

ard 11-12-2012 11:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1bad540 (Post 7191215)
well the screen got scrambled again, so i guess i have an extra mk4. Maybe its a loose connection to the screen, will take the screen out and check connections before installing anewer one. wish me luck.I will keep this updated for a fix.

Do you get anything displayed on the screen if you diconnected the MK4 unit? if YES, then this should be how you troubleshoot. (and would exclude the MK4 from the issue if the scramble could be duplicated...obviously)

As I recall the screen has the video drivers in it....

I had a video issue on my E39- wound up replacing the screen (warranty). Red drivers died, so screen showed distored images.

tonywintn 11-13-2012 04:21 AM

Just saw this post. The scrambled screen issue is due to a dirty ribbon cable connection. That is all it is. I first had the issue where I would loose the color blue. The ribbon cable from the screen to the nav unit has no connector on it, just bare conductors on the end. The ribbon cable plugs into a receiver/connector in the Nav unit that clamps down on it. I pulled this cable out and cleaned the contacts. That solved the problem for a couple of years and then one day I had a scrambled screen. I was able to just tug lightly on the cable behind the screen and fix the issue, but I need to take the unit out and clean the contacts again. Use Deoxit contact cleaner. You can buy it at Radio Shack. It is also popular amongst us audiophiles for cleaning our audio cable contacts. Very good stuff. So the problem is not your screen, just a corroded connection.

1bad540 11-13-2012 05:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tonywintn (Post 7191741)
Just saw this post. The scrambled screen issue is due to a dirty ribbon cable connection. That is all it is. I first had the issue where I would loose the color blue. The ribbon cable from the screen to the nav unit has no connector on it, just bare conductors on the end. The ribbon cable plugs into a receiver/connector in the Nav unit that clamps down on it. I pulled this cable out and cleaned the contacts. That solved the problem for a couple of years and then one day I had a scrambled screen. I was able to just tug lightly on the cable behind the screen and fix the issue, but I need to take the unit out and clean the contacts again. Use Deoxit contact cleaner. You can buy it at Radio Shack. It is also popular amongst us audiophiles for cleaning our audio cable contacts. Very good stuff. So the problem is not your screen, just a corroded connection.

wow thanks, so i would need to take the screen out and clean the ribbon contacts??

tonywintn 11-13-2012 07:39 AM

Not the screen, the connector in the Nav unit that the ribbon cable is plugged into. It requires that you remove the Nav unit from the dash, and then the ribbon cable can be seen coming from the screen and going into the top of the Nav unit. You simply open the connector clamp and remove the cable, clean the connector contacts and the conductors on the end of the ribbon cable and reinsert into the connector. Close the clamp and all should be good then. You do not need to remove the screen at all. Use Deoxit which also comes with a preservative. That should help keep a good connection for a long time.

1bad540 11-13-2012 09:55 AM

do I need to open the radio up to access the ribon or is it just plugged in and easy access??:thumbup:

tonywintn 11-13-2012 02:35 PM

It is right on top as I recall. You might have to take the top cover off of the unit. When I pulled mine, I started to take the screen out and then I stumbled upon the ribbon cable and remembered a post from someone else talking about that chinzey connection method. I was working to pull my screen out and order a replacement because I had lost the color blue. But when I thought about that posting I tried cleaning those contacts reassembled it and plugged it back into the car. Everything was good after that until about two months ago. Now I get a scrambled screen once in a while, but like I said, I can open the panel like I'm going to put in a cassete tape, give a light tug on the ribbon and the screen works fine again. So I need to pull mine out again and clean the contacts. It has been about two or three years since I had to clean them the first time. I don't think I had Deoxit on me at the time either. This time I have some Deoxit cleaner and preservative. I expect that to keep the contacts good for hopefully an indefinate time period. If you search these threads some more you might find a picture. I could post a picture the next time I pull mine out, but unless it goes out and stays out, I have too many other alligators to fight off right now. Plus, if the sun is shining, I'm cruisin' in the Z4.

1bad540 11-14-2012 05:55 AM

Thanks Tony will give it a go.:thumbup:

1bad540 11-28-2012 12:40 PM

well I cleaned the contacts and now i just get a white screen?? :tsk:

tonywintn 11-28-2012 04:43 PM

You didn't get the connectors in the back of the in dash unit fully engaged. They can be difficult. Unplug and reinsert them. Be sure the latches are completely locked down.

Tourque Junkie 11-29-2012 07:59 AM

http://www.xdrivers.co.uk/forum/index.php?&topic=2273.0

The above link was a useful tool for the nav screen repair. It was successful for me.

adamcliffton 12-01-2012 11:32 AM

anyone have any ideas about a nav screen having the back light flicker on and off ?

1bad540 12-01-2012 04:46 PM

well I got a resonable used one and swapped it in works perfect now. I didnt bother trying to reconnect the cables. i prob should.

Nasty750 02-03-2013 07:37 AM

Excellent post... I have an 06' 750Li with the same exact problem. I assumed it was a loose cable somewhere as it works on and off again. More annoying than an actual problem but its frustrating when you need a working NAV. Was going to save up to have dealer fix this but it sounds like I can save a boat load of money if I clean the ribbon connections myself. Are there any E65/E66 owners that have fixed this issue?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms