Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   E39 (1997 - 2003) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=103)
-   -   Three OBDII codes (running lean) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=657244)

gomolka30 11-09-2012 05:08 PM

Three OBDII codes (running lean)

So I just scanned and reset my codes. I'm not sure if the software makes them appear is sequence or just by numerical order, but they were:

P0171
P0174
P0313

I'll check for the 1st code when the SES light comes back on. Luckily I have a can of MAF cleaner hanging around here, and I've never tried using this stuff before. Maybe I'll get lucky.

Otherwise the car runs pretty darn good when you give it some throttle. You can't sense a missfire when you mash the gas.

It could possibly be missfiring at low throttle, because I feel a little vibration/rumble which i suspected to be engine mounts. So more info to come. Until then, any ideas? Does anyone have a diagram of all vacuum hoses on the m54b30?

vavet5308 11-09-2012 07:48 PM

How's the fuel tank level? This seems like a recurring fault, so that's probably not the problem, but a low fuel level can cause a lean fault.
The first thing I'd check is the rubber boot which attaches to the throttle body. It tends to crack on the small portion that attaches to the idle control valve.
Do you have or can you get a fuel pressure gauge? I'd want to look at that next, but changing the fuel filter might be a good next step.

gomolka30 11-09-2012 10:47 PM

The fuel level never drops below 1/4 before filling up.

I will check the boot and any area between the AFM and intake manifold for cracks.

Do you know the location(s) of the fuel filter(s)? I remember the e30 has one that sits forward of the driver's side rear wheel. I wonder if it is in a similar location.

vavet5308 11-10-2012 03:43 AM