Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   E39 (1997 - 2003) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=103)
-   -   Battery light on the Dash board (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=657433)

H2O 11-11-2012 12:36 AM

Battery light on the Dash board

Good Morning All,

i don't know if someone can help :confused:, i have 528i/1998 BMW and whenever i turn on the car in the morning the battery sign on the dash board keep turn on and off, sometimes fast and sometimes 4 to 5 second between each time.

take it easy on me, i am a rookie in BMW

thanks

QSilver7 11-11-2012 04:10 AM

According to the owners manual...I'd look into the alternator charging system first...that light illuminates when the battery is the VICTIM and is not being recharged...thus eventually killing it:

H2O 11-11-2012 06:05 AM

Hey QSilver7
many thanks for your reply, i will check it and keep you posted
regards.

H2O 11-14-2012 07:11 AM

Hey,
i tried the test number 09 for the battery and it showed it 12v, it should be 14 right ?
in this case the problem is in alternator charging system and it is not charging correctly right ?

Flybot 11-14-2012 08:09 AM

At idle you should have over 12 volts. Normally about 13V. When you rev it to around 2000 rpm you should gt at least 13.5V. It should never be less than 12V. Also, check it with the headlights on, and seat heat and/or rear defroster. It should carry a heavy load and still be well above 12V.

H2O 11-14-2012 08:32 AM

appreciate the info, i will try and do it and will keep u posted!
another question:
if i have some issue with the oxygen sensor and it is not working properly should the check engine sign on the dashboard be on or no.

QSilver7 11-14-2012 01:25 PM