Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   BMW Coding and Programming (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=175)
-   -   F12/F13 Fxx or F06/12/13 - couple questions please... (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=657940)

wassy 11-13-2012 12:17 PM

Fxx or F06/12/13 - couple questions please...
 
Has anyone gotten speed limit info to work on a '13 F06/12/13? Same with M HUD? I see conflicting results on both.

Also, has anyone looked into or maybe it's already there and I'm missing it, but to display a live map on the nav when not using directions? Porsche does this, as well as displaying it in the dash gauge. On out cars it would be the "info display" I gather. Seems the info is there and could be an easy mapping?

One other thing I've noticed, at least in my car, when switching between USB and Bluetooth on the iPhone, BMW has to disconnect the AUDIO Bluetooth portion if going to USB, and vice versa. Seems like an internal auto switch on its own is needed. Why even let us know? And when switching back it does its thing and goes back. What's the holdup? Lol.

Oh and what was that setting to make Aktiv, that single setting controlled from Idrive that doubles power output and MPG at same time? I can't seem to find it:rofl:

coyote96 11-30-2012 09:44 AM

Wassy - Have you been coding your Gran Coupe? I just got my car, E-Sys installed just waiting on an ENET cable (Should be here next week). Did you use the F12/F13 files for coding or are there F06 files available? I am new to coding and still trying to figure everything out.

Thank you!

shawnsheridan 11-30-2012 09:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by coyote96 (Post 7223257)
Wassy - Have you been coding your Gran Coupe? I just got my car, E-Sys installed just waiting on an ENET cable (Should be here next week). Did you use the F12/F13 files for coding or are there F06 files available? I am new to coding and still trying to figure everything out.

Thank you!

F010 psdzdata covers the F10 5-series and F06 (GC)/F12/F13 6-series

wdimagineer 11-30-2012 04:47 PM

Speed Limit Information requires an FSC code and cannot simply be coded "on" unfortunately. A retrofit kit for the US might be coming (it exists in Europe) but I don't have a timeline for this. It's odd that the Driver Assistance package on the 650 has it but the 640 does not.

I'm not sure I know what you mean by "live map". The main display always shows a live map, whether navigating or not. As for displaying this on the Info display, it is not possible.

M HUD is dependent upon the M instrument cluster. It has the software to drive the graphics on the HUD. Without this, it cannot be activated.

wassy 11-30-2012 06:46 PM

the F010 data covers the F06!

wdimagineer - what I mean by the live map, is having it displayed on the hud, in real time. Not just the arrows. For instance, just like I can take the far right 1/3 of idrive and have it display "Map in direction of travel" or "Map facing North", and it shows real time in that screen, I'd love to see it on the HUD, or even in the control box. Porsche has a separate screen in a guage port and it really looks neat and keeps eyes straighter ahead.

M instrument cluster - can you be more specific? maybe an ordering code?

wdimagineer 11-30-2012 10:24 PM

Not possible to display the map like that. Would be interesting but the software just doesn't exist.

As for the M cluster, my M5 has a different model. While I have the lower full display its different and tailored to M cars. The HUD just simply isn't possible on a car without this cluster.

wassy 12-01-2012 02:05 PM

Thanks. Next up is the entertainment and telephone in HUD. That should have been standard. If its available why not make the most use out of the expensive HUD?

secany 12-02-2012 08:03 AM

I've been code my F13 July.2012 production using shawan file and all perfect. And yes, I choose F10.
you can enable entertainment and telephone, turn signal on HUD without any trouble.

Regarding speed limit info, I've tried bimmertech to code my car, he said he got FSC code and coded to my car. Now I have speed limit info option on both HUD and info display, able to tick it to choose, it turned on, but not working, the thing is I'm in Australia, and BMW used to sell "speed limit info" for 700$ , but couple months later, they refund and completely removed that function due to australia speed limit sign is way too complicated. So, summary, I don't know it works or not.

shawnsheridan 12-02-2012 08:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by secany (Post 7226407)
I've been code my F13 July.2012 production using shawan file and all perfect. And yes, I choose F10.
you can enable entertainment and telephone, turn signal on HUD without any trouble.

Regarding speed limit info, I've tried bimmertech to code my car, he said he got FSC code and coded to my car. Now I have speed limit info option on both HUD and info display, able to tick it to choose, it turned on, but not working, the thing is I'm in Australia, and BMW used to sell "speed limit info" for 700$ , but couple months later, they refund and completely removed that function due to australia speed limit sign is way too complicated. So, summary, I don't know it works or not.

Interesting. So what did you pay BimmerTech for just the FSC Code, and then for the additional coding?

PeterC4 12-02-2012 06:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wassy (Post 7225417)
Thanks. Next up is the entertainment and telephone in HUD. That should have been standard. If its available why not make the most use out of the expensive HUD?

This is possible on the F10 so hopefully it will work on the F06. I think that BMW's logic here is that it is redundant as this information is displayed in the lower half of the dash under the tach, or the Navi Screen in the case of the phone. But I like the fact that it is on the HUD, keeps your eyes on the road.

shawnsheridan 12-02-2012 06:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PeterC4 (Post 7227309)
This is possible on the F10 so hopefully it will work on the F06. I think that BMW's logic here is that it is redundant as this information is displayed in the lower half of the dash under the tach, or the Navi Screen in the case of the phone. But I like the fact that it is on the HUD, keeps your eyes on the road.

I coded this on an F10 the other night and saw it for the first time, and it looks very slick.

I also coded something else, that apparently made "messages" appear in the HUD, as it was showing "Door Open" or something like that, and he said it wasn't there before. I am guessing it was from MSA_VERFUEGBARANZEIGE_ENABLE = aktiv, which MSA is the ASS system. I am not sure what all messages appear.

JEG23 12-02-2012 06:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shawnsheridan (Post 7227332)
I coded this on an F10 the other night and saw it for the first time, and it looks very slick.

I also coded something else, that apparently made "messages" appear in the HUD, as it was showing "Door Open" or something like that, and he said it wasn't there before. I am guessing it was from MSA_VERFUEGBARANZEIGE_ENABLE = aktiv, which MSA is the ASS system. I am not sure what all messages appear.

Shawn,

Is ASS the ECU? I do not see that one in my car.

JEG23

shawnsheridan 12-02-2012 06:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JEG23 (Post 7227354)
Shawn,

Is ASS the ECU? I do not see that one in my car.

JEG23

ASS = Auto Start Stop = MSA, which is functionally controlled by the CAS Module, but the HUD Coding I mentioned is in KOMBI for displaying the MSA System Messages.

PeterC4 12-02-2012 06:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shawnsheridan (Post 7227332)
I coded this on an F10 the other night and saw it for the first time, and it looks very slick.

I also coded something else, that apparently made "messages" appear in the HUD, as it was showing "Door Open" or something like that, and he said it wasn't there before. I am guessing it was from MSA_VERFUEGBARANZEIGE_ENABLE = aktiv, which MSA is the ASS system. I am not sure what all messages appear.

I'm pretty sure this was a feature on mine right from the factory...I will check. Did you enable the telephone list? I wonder how it actually works.

shawnsheridan 12-02-2012 06:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PeterC4 (Post 7227382)
I'm pretty sure this was a feature on mine right from the factory...I will check. Did you enable the telephone list? I wonder how it actually works.

Yes, I did, and it is equally slick. Like the Entertainment list, it looks the same as the wheel scroll phone list displayed in KOMBI below the Tach, only displayed in the HUD.

PeterC4 12-02-2012 06:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shawnsheridan (Post 7227385)
Yes, I did, and it is equally slick. Like the Entertainment list, it looks the same as the wheel scroll phone list displayed in KOMBI below the Tach, only displayed in the HUD.

Interesting, so how exactly do you activate the list? Can you do it from the steering wheel?

shawnsheridan 12-02-2012 06:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PeterC4 (Post 7227390)
Interesting, so how exactly do you activate the list? Can you do it from the steering wheel?

Yes. Just hit the phone button on the steering wheel and it comes up in KOMBI and HUD.

JEG23 12-02-2012 07:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shawnsheridan (Post 7227392)
Yes. Just hit the phone button on the steering wheel and it comes up in KOMBI and HUD.

There are two codes in that feature:

HUD_TELEFONANRUF_ENABLE

and

HUD_TELEFONBUCH_ENABLE

One is supposed to give you the list of recent calls, the other the full contact list.

In my car I only saw the recent call list. Not sure how the get the full contacts list.

JEG23

JEG23 12-02-2012 07:03 PM

By the way

HUD_SPRACHEINGABE_ENABLE

Also enables the visual voice commands menu to show up in the HUD (as it shows in the lower part of the KOMBI.

JEG23

wassy 12-02-2012 07:17 PM

This is probably the wrong forum but I noticed today while using nav the most of the HUD is orange/amber. I thought it was a color HUD?

shawnsheridan 12-02-2012 07:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wassy (Post 7227422)
This is probably the wrong forum but I noticed today while using nav the most of the HUD is orange/amber. I thought it was a color HUD?

Someone else mentioned that in their new M5, either StealthPilot or wdimagineer. I don't have a HUD, so I don't know, but that would piss me if off if that is the case. All the pictures you ever see of it shows a nice full color image.

PeterC4 12-02-2012 07:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JEG23 (Post 7227397)
There are two codes in that feature:

HUD_TELEFONANRUF_ENABLE

and

HUD_TELEFONBUCH_ENABLE

One is supposed to give you the list of recent calls, the other the full contact list.

In my car I only saw the recent call list. Not sure how the get the full contacts list.

JEG23

The full contact list; if mine wasn't so large this would be useful, guess it still is to a degree. I have tried using voice commands on this, but have not been that successful.

PeterC4 12-02-2012 07:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shawnsheridan (Post 7227442)
Someone else mentioned that in their new M5, either StealthPilot or wdimagineer. I don't have a HUD, so I don't know, but that would piss me if off if that is the case. All the pictures you ever see of it shows a nice full color image.

Mine has some colours when the NAVI is engaged, but it is mostly orange.

secany 12-02-2012 08:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shawnsheridan (Post 7226420)
Interesting. So what did you pay BimmerTech for just the FSC Code, and then for the additional coding?

I paid for 6NR BMW Apps , then asked him to try because he said he is not sure and never done it before.
Extra thing is, when I try to enable by follow the "F10 retrofit speed limit info", the speed limit info set to sli_gen_2 , and icon is a red circle + " -- " letter (never show speed). After bimmertech code, it still ski_gen_2 (checked and confirmed), but it does NOT have the red circle anymore. only " -- " letter, and never pick up speed in Australia too :(
maybe someone in US / EU try to contact him ?

coyote96 12-04-2012 06:47 AM

I coded the entertainment list, phone list and blinkers in the HUD last night. Messages such as Fasten Seat Belts, Door Open, etc were already displaying in the HUD prior to coding. Also, the phone list and entertainment list are both showing up in full color. Just like in the dash (KOMBI)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms