Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   E39 (1997 - 2003) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=103)
-   -   New to BMW (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=658656)

BimmerBoii 11-16-2012 11:30 PM

New to BMW

1 Attachment(s)
Hello fellow 5series owner,

I am new to the BMW game, I just recently purchased a 2003 530i with the m5 package. Im on here to figure out what other owners have experienced with there cars so I know what I should be worried about. Also need help figuring out code P0741

edjack 11-16-2012 11:36 PM

P0741 = torque converter clutch circuit performance or stuck off.

The clutch may not be engaging.

If you wish to wrench on this car, get the Bentley E39 service manual. Browse the Stickies, too.

The word is "their."

Fudman 11-17-2012 07:03 AM

Searching the forum is the best way to learn about these cars. Nearly every topic has been identified and addressed. Your specific questions have been raised multiple times before. As a hint, search cooling system, Vanos seals, and CCV for starters.

540iman 11-17-2012 07:19 AM

Never heard of a 530 with a M5 package. Do you have a 2003 M-sport which has some pieces in common with the M5, but I would never use the term M5 package again to avoid criticism.

Now, WELCOME! You have started a journey that really will change your life. 2003 was the only year that cars that came with the "sport" package received a whole bunch of left over M parts that normally would have only found their way to M5s or in earlier years, FOREIGN "sport" models could have come with the M-sport goodies. Say, if you lived in Germany and bought that 530 in 2001, it was offered with the M-sport package-just not in the US until (and only) 2003. M badgeing, suspension parts, etc. does not reach the level of using a term like 530/M5. Just call it an M-sport, if that is, in fact, what you have.