Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   7 Series - E38 (1995 - 2001) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=156)
-   -   i hate vanos rattle! (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=660402)

rollinpiff 11-26-2012 05:50 AM

i hate vanos rattle!

i have a 2001 740il anthracite mettallic on black , comfort seating, cold weather and privacy, nav, and a nice set of 06' 650i staggered rolling stock.....ok now to the bad stuff, ive had her for a year i bought her with 86k on the clock, i am a student at u.t.i. norwood ma. campus so i know cars, and i know cars shouldnt be made this poorly but damn! since i bought it ive done two tie rods, upper radiator hose, two cam sensors, brand new big ass batterey, rebuilt the abs computer, jessh umm what else, the other day i had the nightmare of pulling the intake manifold to to all the new intake gaskets and do the pcv- osv valve, throttle body gaskets, all new bosch platinum4 plugs, my plug galleys were plugged up with oil due to timing cover gasket leaks! which is a couple grand to fix ...now i have thew cold start vanos '' fluttering'' rattle then when its hot it just has the vanos ''knock'' or tap-tap-tap from the top end....this is my second my first was a 95' 740i and i love this new one but should i walk away now while there no engine light on and get rid of the damn thing or is this vanos crap and timing cover stuff gunna just kill me ,,,please help with good experianced answers...sorry for the novel...happy motoring!

Bigrobsbmw 11-27-2012 03:39 PM

vanos rattle