Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   E46 (1999 - 2006) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=98)
-   -   325xi with strange interstate speed 'floating' problem (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=662651)

Steelsmitty 12-06-2012 06:34 PM

325xi with strange interstate speed 'floating' problem

Hello everyone,
New to the group, first post and new to BMW. Bought a 2003 325xi with 120K on it. Just put some new Firestrone Oval tires (see link to view tread pattern)
http://www.firestonetire.com/images/...de_oval_as.png

Here is the strange deal:

At highway speeds the car seems to 'float' around on the interstate. It's not an allignment issue for I had that done and it tracks wonderfully.
It just seems like I can't keep it still on the road when I get it above 70.
Should I be blaming the tires or do I have suspension parts that need replaced?_a_

VP 12-08-2012 03:25 AM

When I was a professional technician, many many years ago, we called that characteristic "Road Crazy". Maybe they still do, don't know. In rural areas where I worked, it was often an alignment issue. Old farm roads, people driving out into fields, etc. In more urban areas we saw less of that kind of thing, and less "road crazy" complaints. However, the cause was generally a caster issue, which helps with directional stability. Less positive caster, less directional stability. Since these cars don't really have much of a caster angle adjustment, not much can be done there. If there IS a caster issue, I would suspect some significant damage in the past which was not corrected the right way. With that said, I would strongly suspect the tires. I have had experiences with my Corvette and new vs. old tires make an incredible difference in Interstate driving. Some tires and some cars are more sensitive to the subtle (here in Illinois NOT so subtle) ruts in the outer lanes caused by heavy semi's in warm weather. And ... neve