Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=99)
-   -   Engine/Car Life (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=665050)

fmb 12-19-2012 07:00 PM

Engine/Car Life

I love my new too me 2010 328i.. I purchased it with 35k miles and was wondering typically hpw many miles this car/engine is expected to last. I'm a somewhat sporty driver but never hard on the car. I plane on having all sched maintenance done but really curious how many miles these awesome cars last before having trouble...150K..200K ? Any tips on prolonging the shelf life? Thanks in advance for any info.

3ismagic# 12-19-2012 07:25 PM

Search "Mike Miller maintenance".

The engine should be able to get there. It's a proven platform. The tranny/electronics are more questionable. You will have to replace some components along the way (cooling system).

Maintaining a BMW out of warranty can be expensive. But as long as you are willing to keep it up you should be good.

tturedraider 12-19-2012 07:29 PM

With regular routine maintenance and replacement of parts as they wear out you should be able to get 300,000+ miles without many worries. If you have iDrive it might not make it that long, but no one knows. There are already numerous Bimmerfesters who have past the 150,000 mile mark. With maintenance and necessary parts replacements the motor is virtually indestructible.

alpinweiss 12-19-2012 07:33 PM

The E90 328i LCI is one of the most reliable cars ever built by BMW, especially those built late in the model run. (Full disclosure: I own a 2011 E90 328i.) It would be hard to estimate the life of your BMW, since there are not a lot of equivalent cars with very high mileage yet. I would think 200k miles is a reasonable expectation, but that is just my opinion.