Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=99)
-   -   Technic's HIFI Harness (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=667012)

RyanAustinOlson 12-30-2012 02:45 PM

Technic's HIFI Harness
 
First off I will start by saying that I am really new to this. I just ordered one of Technic's HIFI harnesses for my 2012 335i Coupe (E92) with HIFI sound.

I am curious to know if this device has any limits. Does it matter the wattage of the sub-woofers and amplifier? Is there any way that I can damage any other parts of my car like the OEM headunit or other parts of the OEM system?

Basically, is there anything important I should know when choosing the sub-woofers and amplifier that I am going to be putting in my car?

I was thinking I would do 2 12" Kicker sub-woofers at 800W peak power and 400W RMS per subwoofer. (Its a loaded enclosure). And then to go with an Infinity Kappa One amplifier at 1600W Peak power and 800W RMS.

Would this setup work? :dunno:

http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x...DSCF0865-1.jpg

ctuna 12-30-2012 03:14 PM

Ask on the audio board.
 
There is much more audio expertize there, also ask Technic he has done a lot of systems.
I have been told you will start to have trouble with the electrical system keeping up at about
2000 watts . Also if you replace the stock amp you need an amp capable of accepting balanced
signals.
Yes you have to be careful because anything electrical can be shorted out.
If you don't have some experience with stereo or cars you should get some local help.
Its not that much more difficult than hooking up a home stereo or entertainment system
with the exception of taking off the panels and routing the wires.
You should no how to use a volt ohm meter and what the readings mean.

You need to study this

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=641323

RyanAustinOlson 12-30-2012 03:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ctuna (Post 7279807)
There is much more audio expertize there, also ask Technic he has done a lot of systems.
I have been told you will start to have trouble with the electrical system keeping up at about
2000 watts . Also if you replace the stock amp you need an amp capable of accepting balanced
signals.
Yes you have to be careful because anything electrical can be shorted out.
If you don't have some experience with stereo or cars you should get some local help.
Its not that much more difficult than hooking up a home stereo or entertainment system
with the exception of taking off the panels and routing the wires.
You should no how to use a volt ohm meter and what the readings mean.

You need to study this

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=641323

I am not changing the stock amp. Everything OEM that is in the car is staying there. I am only adding the addition of trunk sub-woofers along with an amplifier.

ctuna 12-30-2012 05:05 PM

Go to the audio board the experts on bass are there.
 
Go to the audio board the experts on bass are there.

revero17 09-27-2013 11:09 AM

if you are going to add woofers in your car then all you will need is a line output converter from the midbass drivers signal and run it to your monoblock amp. there is no limit to what you put in you car except your vehicles electrical system. at 800rms of power i would recommend you add an extra tiny car audio battery like the kinetic hc600 which can be found for 70 bucks on ebay shipped to your door. if you need any more car audio help please let me know

fdriller9 09-27-2013 08:10 PM

I'm running 1000 W RMS.... one Alpine MRP-M500 and a JL 500/1.

No problems what so ever. You don't need an extra battery. I would try a cap before adding a second battery.

The technic harness has no limits in terms of how much power you can push through your sub. Your aftermarket amp will limit the output of your sub. The technic haness contains a LOC already and all that does is provide the remote signal to turn your aftermarket amp on and to send the audio signal to your aftermarket amp for it to amplify.

jcrocha 09-15-2015 04:18 PM

Hello, I have a 328i 2008 Convertible with HiFi sound system and I want replace my amp. How can I have or order the technics HiFi harness? Thanks for your help! I wil be en Miami in October and will have a Hotel direction for shipping.

revero17 09-15-2015 06:13 PM

Technic harness
 
You will need to private message technic himself and pay through his method of choice for the harness. And for the person who stated running 1000rms without any extra tiny battery and wants to consider capacitor, just because you have 1000rms peak power amps does not mean you are pushing that amount. You car's electrical system is designed for your cars stock electronics specifically and electronics are sensitive when it comes to inadequate voltage. So running another battery the size of your foot is not much to ask for especially when a capacitor only aids your car audio system and not your stock electrical system. Anyways, now that my rant is over just pm technic, I bought 2 harnesses from him and he will always be honest and ship your item out.

jcrocha 09-16-2015 05:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by revero17 (Post 9289657)
You will need to private message technic himself and pay through his method of choice for the harness. And for the person who stated running 1000rms without any extra tiny battery and wants to consider capacitor, just because you have 1000rms peak power amps does not mean you are pushing that amount. You car's electrical system is designed for your cars stock electronics specifically and electronics are sensitive when it comes to inadequate voltage. So running another battery the size of your foot is not much to ask for especially when a capacitor only aids your car audio system and not your stock electrical system. Anyways, now that my rant is over just pm technic, I bought 2 harnesses from him and he will always be honest and ship your item out.

Dear revero17, how can I send a private message to technics?

ctuna 09-16-2015 08:32 PM

Do you know how to do a PM here
 
Do you know how to do a PM here
You just look up Technic in the email(pm message) portion of the forum
and send a request. Like at the top of the page when you open the forum site,
where it says private messages.

jcrocha 09-17-2015 07:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ctuna (Post 9291526)
Do you know how to do a PM here
You just look up Technic in the email(pm message) portion of the forum
and send a request. Like at the top of the page when you open the forum site,
where it says private messages.

Thanks ctuna, I am new here, but now I know. Thanks again


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2015 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms