Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   7 Series - E38 (1995 - 2001) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=156)
-   -   New Owner: 2000 740iL swapping in MK3 (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=667087)

ernestgalvan 12-30-2012 10:47 PM

New Owner: 2000 740iL swapping in MK3
 
I bought a 2000 (12/99 build) 740iL.
It came with a MK2 nav computer, and I just snagged a MK3 for cheap.

Are there any tips/issues/etc with this swap? Anything to watch out for?

Or is it as simple as "out with the old, in with the new"?

Thanks.

P.S. and yes, I know a MK4 is much more desirable, but the MK3 was only $150.
Hopefully, within a year I can snag a MK4 and a 16x9 display.

QSilver7 12-31-2012 12:20 PM

I believe it's plug n play. Check www.e38.org to be sure..or any of the nav forums (bimmernav.com or the nav forum at bimmerboard.com).

There's probably info on YouTube...basically there's tons of info about that generation nav systems used in BMWs of that time on the Internet. :)

sealbeach740 12-31-2012 01:44 PM

As Q stated above, it's basically plug & play.
However, you do need to move the skinny, black antenna cable from the seperate trimble unit (which is now not needed & can be removed once your MKIII is installed) & plug it into the back of your MKIII.
The MKIII (& the MKIV) both have internal trimble units, while the MKII has an external trimble unit.

ernestgalvan 01-01-2013 07:45 AM

ok, Thanks for the information..

But I guess what I was asking was...
"Is there anything that needs to be done to the unit before disconnecting it?"

"Is there anything that needs to be done to the unit after replacement?"

I know some modules are "locked" or "married" to the specific vehicle, thus needing specific sequence of events to prior to removal...

I've read up on the steps needed to physically remove and replace...
but there was SO MUCH info that I was worried I may have missed some vital "point"

sealbeach740 01-01-2013 09:22 AM

Nope.

If your MKII was still working, I'd say to wait until the red LED light on the MKII goes out before unplugging it.
Otherwise, just unplug the old, plug in the new MKIII (with the antenna cable) & you're good to go.

No special coding needed, nothing to "synch up".
It may take a bit for your new MKIII to see the new sattelites in your area unless the MKIII came from very close to where you live.

chrisn7 01-01-2013 09:53 AM

With the MkIII its important to let the red go out before disconnecting it Mks I,II,IV don't need this step. Doesn't the MkIII need a software key as well?

sealbeach740 01-01-2013 12:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chrisn7 (Post 7282576)
Doesn't the MkIII need a software key as well?

Only if you're trying to update the Nav OS on the MKIII, and only when it's updating to a certain range of OS versions (but I totally forget which versions require a key CD by now).

ernestgalvan 01-09-2013 10:22 PM

OK, MKIII arrived, and has been swapped in five days ago.
Seems to be working, BUT map and co-ordinates still show car 2400 miles away
(in original location, Lake Oswego Oregon).

The longest trips have been no more than 50 miles ... probably 200 miles total since MKIII installed...

How long does it take the GPS to aquire its new postiion?
Is there a way of "re-setting" the unit?
Might the unit be defective?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms