Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=126)
-   -   I want to install U.S. dash cluster in my Euro version e65 (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=670509)

Mr745i 01-16-2013 02:36 PM

I want to install U.S. dash cluster in my Euro version e65
 
OK people I have a European version e65. I want to change dash cluster to read MPH. My question is, will the U.S. versions read the mileage correctly? Or could I just swap some things over out of each cluster? Im simply tired of looking at a paper than looking at the speed on dash to make sure I'm not speeding:eek: or going to SLOW :screwy: help

7Rage 01-16-2013 02:46 PM

lol... isnt there both mph and kph on the cluster.... i have seen uk bmw like this jut primary (kmh) is on outside ring and mph on inside ring

Mr745i 01-16-2013 02:52 PM

Rage there isn't no MPH at all only km/h!:confused:

7Rage 01-16-2013 05:59 PM

thats some bull$hit

sanhonda22 01-16-2013 08:42 PM

I have a 745 gauge cluster for sale if you wanted to do the swap. Message me if your interested.

Nygel 01-17-2013 10:45 AM

What ever gauge cluster you get you will need to take the electrical board off of your orginal and install it on the new cluster, then reinstall back into the dash.
All of you KOMBI information will be retained and no programming needed.
hope this helps
Nygel

Mr745i 01-17-2013 03:17 PM

@nygal, thanks for the reply. I totally understand and that is what I'm going to do but I'm afraid that the MPH needle want read right. If um going 35 MPH but the needle is on 45mph. Ant thoughts?

canuckdon 01-17-2013 03:39 PM

You could move to Canada ;)
When I drive in the states, I just keep a few conversion numbers in my head. i.e. 50kph is 30mph, 80kph is 50mph, and 110kph is 70mph, and I interpolate for other speeds.

Mr745i 01-17-2013 03:42 PM

that's what I'm already doing. I don't mind speeding but I'll like to no I'm sleeping. In Florida :D

Nygel 01-17-2013 07:27 PM

everything will be fine. It will work cause the is no calibration difference in the two.

PAPER 01-17-2013 07:36 PM

I believe your mileage will be affected & you
will get the TAMPER DOT On your cluster ,
Since the VIN & mileage from other cluster
Will not match your car ...

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Bimmer App

Mr745i 01-18-2013 04:12 AM

basically I have had my cluster droken down looking for bad soldering spots or bad connections. The speed gauge detach fairly ez. I just didn't want to buy U.S. cluster and still have the speedo readings off.
The only thing I am going to change is the MPH gauge. Not any of the electrical parts. Just the MPH gauge.

Nygel 01-18-2013 06:41 AM

pick a MPH and then look at your original cluster and you will see that its the same. If all you are change is cosmetic and mechanical everything will be fine. Paper is correct, that will happen if you do a direct swap of two different clusters.

SuperSnoop 01-18-2013 07:55 AM

I wish you posted this a week ago. I threw my parts cluster in the trash thinking there were no useful salvageable pieces left.

Mr745i 01-19-2013 06:23 PM

Dang, snoop i could've use those parts..lol
Its all good. I'm going to pick up another cluster ask unit and L7 for the low Monday.

Dan_E65 01-20-2013 01:13 PM

Why not just code the car to the UK spec?

Mr745i 01-23-2013 01:51 PM

1 Attachment(s)
OK folks finally have my odometer reading MPH! Thanks for all the help. Wouldn't have done without U.

Nygel 01-23-2013 02:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr745i (Post 7332946)
OK folks finally have my odometer reading MPH! Thanks for all the help. Wouldn't have done without U.

glad it worked out, :thumbup:

Mr745i 01-23-2013 02:12 PM

:thumbup::thumbup:

See-5 01-24-2013 07:59 AM

Hey

Am looking to do the opposite swap :D !

My odo is MPH and I wan't it to be only in KM/h



Any one need MPH I can do the swap for him


also if anyone have Km/h odo I will buy it if he wants



thanks

Mr745i 01-24-2013 08:37 AM

I got what u need:D
And I'll explain how to do the swap without messing with any settings ie) mileage and so on. Lemme no

See-5 01-24-2013 02:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr745i (Post 7334719)
I got what u need:D
And I'll explain how to do the swap without messing with any settings ie) mileage and so on. Lemme no



that's fantastic .. I will PM you now ;)

Mr745i 01-24-2013 03:37 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Here ya go.:) this euro cluster is up for sale if anyone needs it.

rippjd 01-27-2013 07:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr745i (Post 7335699)
Here ya go.:) this euro cluster is up for sale if anyone needs it.

Mr745i, I assume you followed Nygel's advice and just swapped the electronics from your original cluster into the US Spec MPH cluster?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nygel (Post 7320314)
What ever gauge cluster you get you will need to take the electrical board off of your orginal and install it on the new cluster, then reinstall back into the dash.
All of you KOMBI information will be retained and no programming needed.
hope this helps
Nygel

Nygel, any idea if just overwriting the VIN in the used cluster (via NSCExpert) is sufficient for it to take over the Odometer reading stored in the CAS module? I am assuming the Odometer reading in the CAS is greater than that stored in the used cluster.

The training PDF in the DIY section has the following statement:
"Note: In the case of a used instrument cluster (vehicle identification number is entered), the vehicle identification number can be overwritten up to a kilometer reading of 254 km (158mi). A reset of the permanently stored mileage reading is not possible."

But often I find limitations listed in the training literature are just limitations of DIS and Progman.

rippjd 02-03-2013 10:45 AM

2 Attachment(s)
I spoke incorrectly above in regards to using NCSExpert to overwrite the VIN. The job does not appear to exist in NCSExpert.
WinKFP has two such a jobs, one for the "internal VIN" and one for the VIN stored in the UIF (User Information Field). Unfortunately the instrument cluster (KOMBI) rejects the change to the internal VIN on a used cluster. You can change the UIF VIN, but you still get the tamper dot. The attached photo shows the used cluster plugged into my car. It took over the correct odometer reading, but lit the tamper dot as the internal VIN's don't match.

I just disassembled the used cluster to the point where I could remove the speedometer gauge, repeat with my original cluster, then swap gauges. They have the same range (up to 260 km/h), so no coding or programming was required. Plus I was able to keep all my original KOMBI electronics.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms