Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   E60 (2004 - 2010) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=104)
-   -   Magic Blower (HVAC) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=670593)

Leon Speed 01-17-2013 02:43 AM

Magic Blower (HVAC)
 
Hello all,

My first post here. I live in Germany and drive a 2008 525d. Have been driving the car for three years and everything has been great. Raked up 100K miles. I have been taking the car to the dealership for maintenance because I like to trade it in soon. Lately a first issue arose, which I like to fix myself if possible.

The issue is, after driving for approximately 1 hour and 15 minutes, the HVAC blower starts blowing harder, then softer again, the harder again, and softer, and on and on. Sometimes itkeeps blowing hard, sometimes it goes back to soft again.

My 1989 Porsche 928 has a resistor pack which controls blower speed and if that pack goes south the same thing happens. I have no idea how blower speed is controlled in my E60 though.

Anyone have encountered this problem and any ideas to fix it?

Thanks

ahnders 01-17-2013 04:56 AM

Had a similar problem and changed this one (Nr 2) (545i) :

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...55&hg=64&fg=40

audiophool 01-17-2013 06:23 AM

Does it happen in AUTO mode or at manually set speeds?

Leon Speed 01-17-2013 12:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ahnders (Post 7319625)
Had a similar problem and changed this one (Nr 2) (545i) :

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...55&hg=64&fg=40

Thanks, I'll look into it. Good site btw.


Quote:

Originally Posted by audiophool (Post 7319771)
Does it happen in AUTO mode or at manually set speeds?

D'oh! Good call. in AUTO mode. I played around a little bit with the controls, setting the blower speed manually to different levels. Blower speed stayed constant at each level. I also switched between the AUTO settings soft, middle and intensive. After that I set it to soft AUTO mode (this is my default setting) and everything was good again. So what does that say?

audiophool 01-17-2013 05:48 PM

Maybe a wonky solar load sensor or some other sensor?

Leon Speed 01-19-2013 11:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by audiophool (Post 7321139)
Maybe a wonky solar load sensor or some other sensor?

Hmm, I don't know where any of those are located :dunno:


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms