Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=126)
-   -   Navigation and Radio problem, not working. Broken! Tried MOST fiber bypass. PICS!! (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=671068)

resistro 01-19-2013 03:48 PM

Navigation and Radio problem, not working. Broken! Tried MOST fiber bypass. PICS!!
 
10 Attachment(s)
Here's my problem:

"BMW" is only displayed (PIC#1)on the navigation screen (unless I break the MOST fiber loop-more info later). Wont do anything! No radio, chime, voice control, ect.

I tried that trick to bypass modules (ASK CD player, Voice Controller, CD changer, L7 Amp, Tuner) to exclude them from the MOST bus but not seem to be gaining any ground. I took that factory fiber loop from the glove box to bypass these modules.....

FYI: I did not have to purchase a spare, I just took the loop connector apart and connected the two end together (the fiber ends in the glove PIC #3)-this seemed to do the trick. It seems if ring bus is broke the red LED does flash, when connected red LED stays light. I took the actual fiber optic line out of the connector housing and used it for bypassing.

......1) when I used the 'fiber loop' to bypass any the modules in the trunk and including the ASK or CD changer in the dash (PIC #5), nothing happens. 'BMW' logo will still be displayed on the screen.
2) when i take any of the modules out of the network ring (unplugging ANY of the modules-not 'bypassing' anything) I DO GET the 'accept' prompt on the nav display (PIC#7) and can navigate through some functions but can operate only the climate functions. No Nav(PIC#8) or radio (PIC#9), chime, ect. I can only scroll through.
3) I also tried that trick to go into the MOST diagnostic screen (PIC#10), but nothing comes up under the 'MOST' menu. Again, the only way can control anything on the Nav display is when the MOST fiber ring is broke. If I try to connect the fiber ring back together at that point, it will just freeze on whatever is display I have up.
4) Nav disk DVD does seem to spin and eject fine. Although I have noticed it will still spin when the ignition is off.
5) Dash CD player seems to a spin the CD, but no sound of course.
6) CD changer tries to eject a the cartridge. But it never worked anyway.
7) All the modules seem to be transmitting light via the fiber.

Basically, the 'BMW' logo stays on when everything is connected and I cant do anything.

I got my whole car torn apart and need some advise on what to do next?
Do I need some software to reset the ghost errors after bypassing each module?

SFbay 01-19-2013 09:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by resistro (Post 7324530)
Here's my problem:

"BMW" is only displayed (PIC#1)on the navigation screen (unless I break the MOST fiber loop-more info later). Wont do anything! No radio, chime, voice control, ect.

I tried that trick to bypass modules (ASK CD player, Voice Controller, CD changer, L7 Amp, Tuner) to exclude them from the MOST bus but not seem to be gaining any ground. I took that factory fiber loop from the glove box to bypass these modules.....

FYI: I did not have to purchase a spare, I just took the loop connector apart and connected the two end together (the fiber ends in the glove PIC #3)-this seemed to do the trick. It seems if ring bus is broke the red LED does flash, when connected red LED stays light. I took the actual fiber optic line out of the connector housing and used it for bypassing.

......1) when I used the 'fiber loop' to bypass any the modules in the trunk and including the ASK or CD changer in the dash (PIC #5), nothing happens. 'BMW' logo will still be displayed on the screen.
2) when i take any of the modules out of the network ring (unplugging ANY of the modules-not 'bypassing' anything) I DO GET the 'accept' prompt on the nav display (PIC#7) and can navigate through some functions but can operate only the climate functions. No Nav(PIC#8) or radio (PIC#9), chime, ect. I can only scroll through.
3) I also tried that trick to go into the MOST diagnostic screen (PIC#10), but nothing comes up under the 'MOST' menu. Again, the only way can control anything on the Nav display is when the MOST fiber ring is broke. If I try to connect the fiber ring back together at that point, it will just freeze on whatever is display I have up.
4) Nav disk DVD does seem to spin and eject fine. Although I have noticed it will still spin when the ignition is off.
5) Dash CD player seems to a spin the CD, but no sound of course.
6) CD changer tries to eject a the cartridge. But it never worked anyway.
7) All the modules seem to be transmitting light via the fiber.

Basically, the 'BMW' logo stays on when everything is connected and I cant do anything.

I got my whole car torn apart and need some advise on what to do next?
Do I need some software to reset the ghost errors after bypassing each module?

Dude, don't be so cheap!! It will cost you more time and money;)

Get a new loop jumper and bypass navi and everything will work.
According to pic3 you lose lots of data.
You thought you saved 30$??? Really??? I'm impressed
Your FYI failed;)

resistro 01-31-2013 05:25 PM

Like I stated, I already bypassed the NAV and it didn't help..
FYI: i wasn't trying trying to be cheap. Just wanted to let people know you don't have to go threw the trouble to buy a bypass loop when there is already one there you can use when your smart about it.

Looks like you failed DUDE:thumbdwn:

219BMW 01-31-2013 05:45 PM

Pssst Hey Resistro...when you take the fiber loop out the glovebox to use to check other stuff..............YOUR STILL BREAKING THE LOOP (hence calling it a loop) Its not a spare...its also part of the system.

SFbay 02-01-2013 12:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by resistro (Post 7351553)
Like I stated, I already bypassed the NAV and it didn't help..
FYI: i wasn't trying trying to be cheap. Just wanted to let people know you don't have to go threw the trouble to buy a bypass loop when there is already one there you can use when your smart about it.

Looks like you failed DUDE:thumbdwn:

I didn't fail, bc I can see that your connection is not usable for fb,
Instead of saying "thank you" I hear Fk off?? Ok, good luck and stop asking for advice then!

KaileSvick 02-03-2013 01:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 219BMW (Post 7351588)
Pssst Hey Resistro...when you take the fiber loop out the glovebox to use to check other stuff..............YOUR STILL BREAKING THE LOOP (hence calling it a loop) Its not a spare...its also part of the system.

Spot on :thumbup:

cravin2012 02-25-2013 05:14 AM

I had the same problem with mine... My CD Stacker in the dash was jammed... I pulled the unit out, and opened it up to get the CD Mag out of the unit... I somehow, ruined the unit, and I lost stereo, Nav, time... The lot...

I got a replacement unit, and it all works again...

resistro 03-22-2013 01:05 PM

4 Attachment(s)
FINALLY solved it, my 'BMW' logo stuck on the Nav. It was the ASK unit. 100% sure. I decided to reset the Bat. every time I bypassed a MOST unit with the fiber jumper. When I got to the ASk unit the Nav came alive (of course no sound or Nav options cause ASK was bypassed). So I took the ASK apart and re-flowed the soldier connections and WOW it started working normally again!! Radio, Nav, Voice-everything is working now. Didn't even have to buy another one!

The ASK unit also controls some diagnostic functions it is considered the Connection/Network/Audio master. So when it was down I could not even use INPA to check any error read-outs of any of the MOST units so I could not narrow it down to a specific unit. )f course now, I can see all the units.

So glad that problem is over with!

Max6200 12-22-2013 02:57 PM

Hello resistro, i have exactly the same problem of yours. But can you show me or explain how you repair your ask unit. My problem is certainly also the connected because, somme tome it work fine 2 minutes and after it shut down (hé freeze) please help me because i just buy a nav unit ( diag by bmw) and it still not working... Thanks a lot:cry:

Rob745li 01-25-2014 11:59 AM

Do u have to make the "lollipop" like that to bypass amp? Like do I have to break the "lollipop"?


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app

Max6200 01-25-2014 01:54 PM

Hi, excuse me but the problem is resolve, it was the ask in default, i replace it and now it working fine. Thank you

KevvyGP 02-01-2014 08:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cravin2012 (Post 7402819)
I had the same problem with mine... My CD Stacker in the dash was jammed... I pulled the unit out, and opened it up to get the CD Mag out of the unit... I somehow, ruined the unit, and I lost stereo, Nav, time... The lot...

I got a replacement unit, and it all works again...

Hey Cravin, i seem to have the exact same issue, precisely. What "unit" did you need to end up replacing?

cravin2012 02-06-2014 04:59 PM

Hi There, I was lucky that a dismantler had the same unit as mine in stock... So I replaced it with the same that was in my dash... cheers

fonzo123 07-24-2014 10:40 PM

So I have the same issue if I replace the navigation unit will that take care of the problem


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app

fonzo123 07-25-2014 06:40 PM

What did u replace ????


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms