Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   7 Series DIY (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=138)
-   -   How to install aftermarket amp and subs (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=672443)

mjquake 01-26-2013 05:42 AM

How to install aftermarket amp and subs
 
There is a similar post on e90post, but this is more specific to our series. I finally decided to use the harness i got from @Technic and thanks to ilya for fixing my L7. I

***IMPORTANT*** Your ASK and L7 should be properly working for this to work.

What you need?
Technic harness
Aftermarket amp and subs in a box
Amplifier Installation Kit
Basic tools like screw drivers or simple drill.


1. Disconnect your battery (Both Terminals), please follow the proper procedures for doing this.

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...wyNGg1RnM/edit

2. Prepare your installation kit. i got this kit from Oreilly's for like 30 bucks. It depends on the amp watt you plan to use.

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...h2Rlh3UkE/edit

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...FRRlRvbjg/edit

3. You will need to clean out your trunk and remove the mats if you plan to install in the trunk as i did. This is to make it easy for you to run some short wires. We are lucky we have our battery in the trunk

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...RoUEFGNm8/edit

4. Prepare the harness for install, it looks like this
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...dEU29jbUk/edit

5. You can disconnect and remove your L7 now. Follow the instructions for doing this.

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...9yUHc1SzA/edit

6. Run the length of your power cable for the aftermarket amp required to have enough to reach where you will position your amp. You can install the fuse holder (NO MORE THAN SIX INCHES) from where it will connect to the battery terminal. DO NOT INSTALL THE FUSE IN THE HOLDER YET. AND DO NOT CONNECT IT TO THE BATTERY TERMINAL YET. You can strap it down with some strips.

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...FJRFcxLU0/edit
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...JBTDJ5UkE/edit

7. Do the same for you ground cable for the length from the aftermarket amp to a suitable of the car. I found a place for it on the roof of the trunk. You can hook up the ground cable now to the chassis and leave the other end hanging for now.

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...NpaTdjalk/edit
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...M3dEZfcHc/edit
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...FRMTJLeFE/edit

8. Hook the harness to the the first end of the harness to where the L7 usually plugs in.
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...VCdjVLWnM/edit

9. Connect the other appropriate parts with the white ends.
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...FVZlMxSzA/edit
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...90SXotNUE/edit

10. Connect the other end of the harness to the L7 amp and connect the fiber optic as well as it normally is.
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...Jsc3FubW8/edit

11.Install you L7 back in place holding it with the clip
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...0tV0l1Vlk/edit

12. Attach your remote turn on wire that came with your installation kit to Technic harness remote turn on wire. Give it enough length to reach you aftermarket amp as usual.

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...N5X3JYMXM/edit
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...lJbVJsc3M/edit

13. Hook up the RCA cables that came with your installation kit to the RCA ends of Technic harness.
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...ZPUUQyNlE/edit


14. Find a suitable space by the L7 to place Technic harness. I simply just hang it somewhere in there..
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...VlUV9scDA/edit

All your critical wiring is pretty much done now, until you get ready to hoop them up to your subs and amp.
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...FXUnNZbEU/edit

15. Mount your amp on the speaker box. Easier this way for me. And then connect the speaker wires that came with you installation kit and position the box in the appropriate location.
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...M1ZTdPYlE/edit
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...RNSzFzTWs/edit

16.You can now hook up your amplifier power cable to the positive terminal. Hook up the positive terminal to you batter. YOU CAN NOW INSTALL THE FUSE in the fuse holder after that.
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...IxaWxDYTQ/edit
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...g3ZThTek0/edit

17. Connect your battery ground wire to the battery negative terminal.
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...FQODZaYXM/edit

18. You can now connect all appropriate end to the aftermarket amp. The amp will have a POWER, GROUND, and REMOTE TURN ON . Connect them appropriately.
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...drcVdxcU0/edit

19. Connect the RCA cable to the RCA ports on the aftermarket amp. And connect the speaker wires as well.
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...FWU3cyMXc/edit
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...d2czBPUzQ/edit

20. A little bit of clean up and you are done. DONT FORGET TO TUNE YOUR AFTERMARKET AMP, I forgot that part initially and was wondering where my bass wass. After that even i thought the bass was unbearable. :)

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...VnSWttMXM/edit
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bzmh...9oM2xjSzQ/edit

cisco150 01-26-2013 10:53 AM

You have any links to where i can by the harness and thanks for this i love my seven but not the radio sound lol

mjquake 01-26-2013 09:19 PM

harnes
 
search for Technic on the forums, he is the user who makes them

cisco150 01-27-2013 09:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mjquake (Post 7340576)
search for Technic on the forums, he is the user who makes them

Thanks bro Got hold of him.

mgucci745 07-25-2013 07:57 PM

If I do this with a 2400 watt amp and have the tuner mod will my logic 7 be reliable?

mjquake 07-26-2013 12:22 AM

You should be just fine mgucci. In fact, you should be worried about the rattling and too much bass with that 2400 watt amp. :-) i have a 1000 watt amp with 2 12's and honestly for the last two months, I have had the bass sitting at a quarter of the total bass setting.

My ears were starting to hurt. Plus my little girl sitting in the back doesn't like too much bass :-)

mgucci745 07-26-2013 10:43 AM

So I will not have to install a capacitor? I'm afraid my 2400watt amplifier is going to kill my battery quick! Every time I idle with just the battery on the "Recharge Battery!" notification comes on after 3 minutes :(

mjquake 07-26-2013 11:41 AM

Your battery is already in bad shape then, may need replacement. With that power of an amp, you will definitely get that notification every minute. I don't think a capacitor will help as the battery is already in bad shape. And yes normally you don't need to install a capacitor.

I have a 1000 watts amp, I can idle as long as I like, never had any issues with the recharge battery.

mgucci745 07-26-2013 01:22 PM

Thank you so much!!! I took my car to autozone a while back since my car has slight starting issues every once in a while... He tested the battery and it was fine but it said my starter failed! I will be fine with just the tuner mod correct?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms