Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=126)
-   -   need some help (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=673050)

isaac745i 01-29-2013 05:59 AM

need some help
 
I have a 2004 745i that I've had pretty good luck with for the most part. Lately the dynamic drive inactive light keeps coming on in the dash and now I can feel a sort of misfire in the engine. The other day it flashed another warning light that said engine malfunction drive moderately, the I drive said do not put a load on motor or might cause catalyst damage. anyone have any ideas what this could be? thanks in advance

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Bimmer App

PAPER 01-29-2013 07:59 AM

It could be a few different things .best thing
To do is have the car scanned to see what faults
Come up .

It could be some simple such as coil packs
Or even battery . But have the car scanned
To get a better idea from the errors

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Bimmer App

isaac745i 01-31-2013 07:53 AM

I'm getting a new battery because under load the battery is weak but alternator is still strong so my question is when I get a battery the guys at Batteries Plus tell me that their Duracell Gold will be enough for my car, it's 900 cca so it's pretty high but I've heard that you might have to use a gel battery or something? if this true? and I've heard something about registering the battery once you install it? how do I do that?

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Bimmer App

PAPER 01-31-2013 08:28 AM

You need an AGM Battery & can register it with INPA

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Bimmer App

isaac745i 02-01-2013 06:45 PM

how can I register the battery with INPA? us it something I have to bring it in to do or can I do it online or something?

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Bimmer App

wjjklj 02-01-2013 08:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by isaac745i (Post 7353935)
how can I register the battery with INPA? us it something I have to bring it in to do or can I do it online or something?

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Bimmer App

You have to buy the cables and software for INPA. Checkout xcar360.com.

gmcclintock 02-01-2013 09:14 PM

I've been having the same "dynamic drive inactive" error on my iDrive for a while took it to the dealer they said I need a new ASR/ARS module. My battery also needed changing so I did and its been 2 weeks without error on iDrive however I just scanned the car for errors a few hours ago and it does show up in INPA. I will clear it out tomorrow and see if it comes back in INPA though. But all in all after changing the battery the error stop popping up in the iDrive screen.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms