Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=126)
-   -   Daynamic Drive Inactive (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=673180)

gmcclintock 01-29-2013 04:41 PM

Daynamic Drive Inactive
 
I was getting this error and the dealer said I needed a new ASR Module, I am wondering if a bad battery will produce this error. Keep in mind that this is an isolated error it comes up on its own, no other errors are present just this one. It use to come and go very frequently but I recently changed my battery and had the SA reset the error and it has been about a week since I saw it so I'm wondering if the batter is the cause of it.

Also when I make sharp right hand turns I feel like the car will roll over so I'm kinda thinking that the module is in fact defective. What do you guys think?

BMW7_CEO 01-29-2013 04:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gmcclintock (Post 7346774)
I was getting this error and the dealer said I needed a new ASR Module, I am wondering if a bad battery will produce this error. Keep in mind that this is an isolated error it comes up on its own, no other errors are present just this one. It use to come and go very frequently but I recently changed my battery and had the SA reset the error and it has been about a week since I saw it so I'm wondering if the batter is the cause of it.

Also when I make sharp right hand turns I feel like the car will roll over so I'm kinda thinking that the module is in fact defective. What do you guys think?

Well bro it could be your sway bar because the thing happen to me and I had to replace it and What it could be is ether the battery or the Alternator that has to replace but since you change the battery already get your alternator check by the dealer

gmcclintock 01-29-2013 06:12 PM

I was thinking shocks/struts/springs but ill get all of those looked at to include what you mentioned thanks.

BMW7_CEO 01-29-2013 06:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gmcclintock (Post 7346958)
I was thinking shocks/struts/springs but ill get all of those looked at to include what you mentioned thanks.

Yeah get it checked and I bet it's that and no problem man

Piers1989 01-30-2013 01:33 AM

I was sometimes getting this error after cornering hard and a strange "pop" sound.

I read that it is the valve block for dynamic drive and can be fixed by removing the old block from the car (front wheel well i believe), taking the ball bearing things out (after noting where they go!, and cleaning the block out thoroughly.

Never had it done on my car as it was written off before I got round to it.

The new one doesn't do this.

gmcclintock 01-30-2013 04:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Piers1989 (Post 7347589)
I was sometimes getting this error after cornering hard and a strange "pop" sound.

I read that it is the valve block for dynamic drive and can be fixed by removing the old block from the car (front wheel well i believe), taking the ball bearing things out (after noting where they go!, and cleaning the block out thoroughly.

Never had it done on my car as it was written off before I got round to it.

The new one doesn't do this.

Thanks for the info, I purchased a block and was going ot replace it, but after not getting the error for a few days now I figured it might have been the battery causing this and I held off on it. So I think I'll go ahead and change it out and rebuild/clean the old one and see what happens thanks for the info.

First_745Li 03-18-2013 05:38 AM

GMC,
Did your DDI issue get resolved? If so, what was your solution? I got that error this morning on the way to work.

Ultimate745i 03-18-2013 05:43 AM

First745Li, when I recieved my Dynamic Drive warning out of nowhere it was my Battery and alternator going bad. Replaced both and all was well afterwards.

Ultimate745i 03-18-2013 05:52 AM

never could understand why our cars just cant be more specific when there's an issue. Bummer! :mad:

745iguy 03-18-2013 05:53 AM

Another thing you might want to inspect on the front pass side there is a sensor with a linkage attached to that sensor from the LCA that aids in keeping your cornering flat. Mines had seized and broke causing DD inactive messages on fast corners. So if you get a sensor error(i don't know if you have Inpa) check that out first, if i recall correctly there is one in the back on the same side as well. (Upon checking my dealers part site this linkage has a revised part that superseded the original)
Other things that may cause this include but is not limited to bad battery, alternator going/gone, bad sensor, low fluid, bad dd valve block, bad ps pump or bad active sway bar.

Ultimate745i 03-18-2013 05:54 AM

^^^ yes I forgot about the only other time was when my steering fluid was low.

Punisher745Li 03-18-2013 09:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ultimate745i (Post 7451531)
never could understand why our cars just cant be more specific when there's an issue. Bummer! :mad:

totally true! mine did the same thing, took it to the shop and it was the Mass Air Control Sensor....after that my car has the power back, I wonder if that's the only thing on the dashboard that light up to show bad issues...lol :rofl:

Ultimate745i 03-18-2013 09:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Punisher745Li (Post 7452044)
I wonder if that's the only thing on the dashboard that light up to show bad issues...lol :rofl:

LOL! Agreed. Maybe it's BMW's way of getting you to change out several parts before actually repairing the correct one. :(

Punisher745Li 03-18-2013 09:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ultimate745i (Post 7452049)
LOL! Agreed. Maybe it's BMW's way of getting you to change out several parts before actually repairing the correct one. :(

Well we cant complaint, we have 7 or 6 year old cars I bet you the new models even talk saying "Don't forget to change my oil"....

Its funny because our cars been having the Push to Start long time ago, and companies like Ford, Nissan and Toyota they just included in new 2013 cars saying is the last technology!!! :blah::blah:

Ultimate745i 03-18-2013 09:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Punisher745Li (Post 7452071)

Its funny because our cars been having the Push to Start long time ago, and companies like Ford, Nissan and Toyota they just included in new 2013 cars saying is the last technology!!! :blah::blah:

I believe BMW is very well versed in technology advancements, I just dont think they're sorting their issues out or modifying them before the next year's models come out.
Example: all 02-05 model 7's basically have the same issues. It shouldnt take that long to rectify the problems from the past year's model. Feel me?

First_745Li 03-18-2013 10:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ultimate745i (Post 7451531)
never could understand why our cars just cant be more specific when there's an issue. Bummer! :mad:

The car gets it trait from its owner... :p

Ultimate745i 03-18-2013 10:42 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by First_745Li (Post 7452260)
The car gets it trait from its owner... :p

I was gonna let you slide,..but...since we're friends...Attachment 367032 :rofl:

First_745Li 03-18-2013 10:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ultimate745i (Post 7451526)
First745Li, when I recieved my Dynamic Drive warning out of nowhere it was my Battery and alternator going bad. Replaced both and all was well afterwards.

I replaced the battery about 6 months ago, from the SEARCH I did on here, (SEARCH)... I found that its common to replace both.. thanks again Bro..!:)

Ultimate745i 03-18-2013 10:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by First_745Li (Post 7452328)
I replaced the battery about 6 months ago, from the SEARCH I did on here, (SEARCH)... I found that its common to replace both.. thanks again Bro..!:)

Hope you dont have the Water Cooled type alternator though. They cost a GRIP!

First_745Li 03-18-2013 11:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 745iguy (Post 7451532)
Another thing you might want to inspect on the front pass side there is a sensor with a linkage attached to that sensor from the LCA that aids in keeping your cornering flat. Mines had seized and broke causing DD inactive messages on fast corners. So if you get a sensor error(i don't know if you have Inpa) check that out first, if i recall correctly there is one in the back on the same side as well. (Upon checking my dealers part site this linkage has a revised part that superseded the original)
Other things that may cause this include but is not limited to bad battery, alternator going/gone, bad sensor, low fluid, bad dd valve block, bad ps pump or bad active sway bar.

I have INPA, will it show that this sensor is bad? I'll check it this afternoon. Thanks Bro

First_745Li 03-18-2013 11:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ultimate745i (Post 7452273)
I was gonna let you slide,..but...since we're friends...Attachment 367032 :rofl:

:rofl::rofl:.. Look at the threads.."my car is broke, need help"..

It's like their cars won't start so they decided to ride in on the short bus...

First_745Li 03-18-2013 11:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ultimate745i (Post 7452338)
Hope you dont have the Water Cooled type alternator though. They cost a GRIP!

oh and Bro... I have the watercooler version...yay me :banghead:

First_745Li 03-18-2013 11:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Punisher745Li (Post 7452071)
Well we cant complaint, we have 7 or 6 year old cars I bet you the new models even talk saying "Don't forget to change my oil"....

Its funny because our cars been having the Push to Start long time ago, and companies like Ford, Nissan and Toyota they just included in new 2013 cars saying is the last technology!!! :blah::blah:

Very true!

Punisher745Li 03-18-2013 11:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ultimate745i (Post 7452338)
Hope you dont have the Water Cooled type alternator though. They cost a GRIP!

I just check mine!! not that version :supdude: just in case lol

745iguy 03-18-2013 12:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by First_745Li (Post 7452356)
I have INPA, will it show that this sensor is bad? I'll check it this afternoon. Thanks Bro

It will give an error i forgot what the hell it said when mine was doing this.. Some kind of implausible signal. I will try and find it for ya. (Error code that is)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms