Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   E60 (2004 - 2010) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=104)
-   -   iDrive Swap (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=674379)

Frenchyrider267 02-04-2013 05:54 PM

iDrive Swap
 
So I was reading through my BMW Service Manual seeing pictures of the larger iDrive screens. I have a 2004 525i equipped with the 5.75" screen. I was wondering if it were possible to change my iDrive unit to the larger 8.8" screen.....of course, if it is possible, I'm sure proper coding must be done.

Thoughts?

Frenchyrider267 02-05-2013 02:36 PM

No one has ever wondered about this? I'm the first and only??

bmwoem1 02-05-2013 03:40 PM

The large screen is for e60 with nav... I don't think it will work when you plug it in to a car that is coded/programmed with no nav.

schpenxel 02-05-2013 04:57 PM

You have to use the CCC unit w/NAV for it to work with the larger screen as far as I know. It will physically work with the MASK, but my understanding is the picture only shows up at the top left of the screen. Anything beyond the original screen size just ends up being black, and the picture isn't centered so it looks like crap.

I found a good deal on the larger screen a while back and bought it thinking I would be able to use it with my MASK system, but after doing some reading I never even swapped it in

I've been searching for a good price on a CCC unit for a while--I found a kit with idrive controller, CCC with preset buttons and the plastic piece that covers the buttons HVAC controls, and screen for $550 a few months back when I first started looking and didn't buy it. Still kicking myself for that one

Frenchyrider267 02-05-2013 09:33 PM

So what you are saying is that basically you can't just change the screens out. You have to change the screen as well as a module that mates with the larger screen.

schpenxel 02-06-2013 05:13 AM

You can physically make it work--the picture just looks like crap and will still only use 5.75" of your larger screen

For it to look right, yes, you need the CCC module too


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms