Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   E85 / E86 Z4 (2003-2008) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=186)
-   -   Z4 run flat tires (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=674675)

psfz4 02-06-2013 07:12 AM

Z4 run flat tires

I bought a 2004 with 19,000 miles that has the original run flats on it. The tread is OK but they are pushing 10 years old, so I am planning to put on new tires. I am new to run flats and have read a zillion threads, which are often conflicting. I don't even understand the concept behind run flats, except that they are an excuse for leaving a spare and jack out of the car. As an engineer, I can't get my mind around a tire that:

1. allows you to drive 50 miles to somewhere when you get a flat.
2.once you get there the tire can not be repaired and must be replaced
3. when you get there, no one is likely to have a replacement or the equiptment to install run flats
4.If the tires have more than slight wear, they should be replaced as a full set?
5. some owners claim that run flats are more likely to get flats than conventional tires?

Am I missing something here?

Thanks in advance for explaing the logic to me.

PS If you put a spare and jack or a slime repair kit in the trunk, how do you tie it down so it doesn't fly around. Is your AAA card a better solution?

Solarus 02-06-2013 07:46 AM

I swapped mine nearly immediately after buying my car for a $400 set of Sumitomos from Tirerack. Should I blow one - that's what my insurance policy roadside assistance is for. I honestly don't see many benefits from runflats, in case of severe damage they will explode like any other tire, while replacing or otherwise purchasing them is at least twice the cost of regular rubber.

GeorgeT 02-06-2013 07:50 AM