Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=99)
-   -   Snow Question (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=680026)

8355adam 03-04-2013 01:44 PM

Snow Question

330i (no AWD) with 1st season blizzaks on all four. How much snow can i reasonably expect to navigate through? Expecting 5 inches in the next couple of days and this will be the first (late) test of my winter set up. I am a volunteer EMT/Firefighter and i need to be able to get to the station. No other cars available.

furby076 03-04-2013 01:47 PM

If the snow reaches the body of your car then you may not want to drive it.
If you've never driven a rear wheel in the snow then just be careful - there is a lot of torque and that can spin you out of control

galahad05 03-04-2013 01:48 PM

You'll be limited by ground clearance, as furby says....unless you drive lots of steep and/or long hills. Then you may have some issues with anything short of a studded tire.

BiHoTTo115 03-04-2013 01:48 PM

I've got the xi version, and with Conti DWS's to boot (all seasons). The car handles beautifully in snow, but the issue, as you stated, is the ride height.

Anything more than 5 or so inches, and the car becomes the Ultimate Plow Machine. That's on an xi as well, which has a higher curb height. The grinding noise will drive you insane!

bear-avhistory 03-04-2013 02:28 PM

Drove a 67 Stingray Big Block from the Jersey shore to Wall St for 20+ years with no problems. Just watch the ground clearance & don't hammer the throttle or brake. Remember stopping is as hard as starting. Lots of 4X4 people forget that.

Also your traction control nannies can get weird in the snow so try to experiment with them on & off in a safe place like a big parking lot.

Pilgrim 03-04-2013 03:42 PM