Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   7 Series - F01 / F02 (2009 - current) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=143)
-   -   Changed from 18" to 20" - tpms malfunction (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=691022)

tlito 04-20-2013 04:01 PM

Changed from 18" to 20" - tpms malfunction
 
Went from stock 18" OEM wheels on my 2010 750i - to 20" 303m OEM wheels.

I bought complete set up - wheels, tires and tpms. Though I don't 100% know what car they came off or if there is actually tpms installed (seller says yes)

I go into menu and reinitialize the tpms and after driving a bit I get a tpms malfunction message.

Any ideas?

swb3 04-20-2013 04:36 PM

Changed from 18" to 20" - tpms malfunction
 
They may not be the correct TPMS for your car. I am no guru on TPMS but I think it needs to be the proper match for the vehicle. Some one else will need to chime in here.

Or, the batteries could be bad, I had a set of wheels last year where three of the TPMS stopped working at different times because of a bad batch of batteries.


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app

dagoo98 04-20-2013 07:05 PM

Your tpms sensors will need to be programmed to your car. To put it simply, they most likely work but your car doesn't know their address so it can't speak to them.

Wolfman64 04-21-2013 01:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dagoo98 (Post 7532833)
Your tpms sensors will need to be programmed to your car. To put it simply, they most likely work but your car doesn't know their address so it can't speak to them.

Is that true? Never seen that before. As long as the sensors have the right frequency, shouldn't that just register within some miles of driving/reset?

I have had sensors with a bad battery which needed replacement, or the wheels could have been sold without sensors.

Are the valve stems metal or rubber? If rubber, there are no TPMS installed...

tlito 04-21-2013 05:24 PM

Tpms
 
They are metal stems and look like tpms - only brought it up because I was not 100% sure.

dagoo98 04-21-2013 07:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wolfman64 (Post 7533210)
Is that true? Never seen that before. As long as the sensors have the right frequency, shouldn't that just register within some miles of driving/reset?

I have had sensors with a bad battery which needed replacement, or the wheels could have been sold without sensors.

Are the valve stems metal or rubber? If rubber, there are no TPMS installed...

They will be need to be programmed. it is the same situation if you were to replace one of the sensors on your current wheel setup. The "address" of that new tpms sensor would need to be programmed to the car so that it can speak to the car.

tlito 04-21-2013 07:24 PM

Is this a DIY thing or only dealer?

bugatti8 04-21-2013 10:06 PM

If you have the correct TPMS, you just have to initialize it and drive for awhile. The car will auto detect.
but if "one" of them are not working properly, the tpms malfunction msg will show up.

sdadept 04-23-2013 11:57 PM

I had this same problem when I purchased 18" winter rims & tires for my 2012 750li xdrive Msport from a guy here on bimerfest (great deal and solid transaction). The tire pressure sensors weren't right so I had to spend an extra $500 when they mounted the winter wheels for new tire pressure sensors. (owell)

I bought the rims/tires because you can't put winter tires on 20" rims. The 18" rims/tires came from a 2009 bmw 750i I believe.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms