Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   X5 E53 (1999 - 2006) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   2001 x5 4.4 question about gauge cluster (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=691623)

qkrrlxo 04-23-2013 12:01 PM

2001 x5 4.4 question about gauge cluster
 
Hi everyone.. I just recently bought a 01 x5 4.4 I noticed a small red light on the gauge cluster near the milage. I spoke to the owner if the cluster was replaced and he said no.. he replaced the immobilzer. I checked the carfax if there were any milage rolling and nothing. I wanted to make sure so I took it to the mechanic shop and read the VIN on the cluster and the Immobilizer. the cluster have the same VIN as the car.. but the immobilizer has a different VIN.. is there any way to get rid of the light by reprogramming or recoding it?

thank you

QSilver7 04-23-2013 12:10 PM

The manipulation dot (tamper dot) illuminates when the IKE (instrument cluster) and the LCM (light/lamp control module) don't have the same VIN. Are you sure its the immobilizer or are you confusing that with the LCM?

See datapoint #1 in the info below about redundant data storage (between the IKE & LCM):

http://bimmerboard.com/members/q/ori...mper%20Dot.jpg

745iguy 04-23-2013 12:11 PM

2001 x5 4.4 question about gauge cluster
 
I thought a dot near the mileage was a tamper dot and was only related to the cluster.

Edit: ah i see what else as quiks post explained

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app

qkrrlxo 04-25-2013 12:06 AM

i guess you're right.. i think its the LCM.. anyway to get rid of the light?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Bimmer App

QSilver7 04-25-2013 03:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by qkrrlxo (Post 7542587)
... anyway to get rid of the light?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Bimmer App

Yes, follow the instruction given in the SIX datapoints listed in the Redundant Data Storage image posted above.

You either need aftermarket hardware/software to get the LKM & IKE to have the same VIN + mileage zeroed...or buy a new LCM from a BMW dealership and let them code it.

Again, everything you need to not get a tamper dot is listed in the 6 datapoints and last paragraph in REDUNDANT DATA STORAGE. :)

qkrrlxo 04-26-2013 04:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by QSilver7 (Post 7544056)
Yes, follow the instruction given in the SIX datapoints listed in the Redundant Data Storage image posted above.

You either need aftermarket hardware/software to get the LKM & IKE to have the same VIN + mileage zeroed...or buy a new LCM from a BMW dealership and let them code it.

Again, everything you need to not get a tamper dot is listed in the 6 datapoints and last paragraph in REDUNDANT DATA STORAGE. :)

thank you.. where to obtain aftermarket software/hardware? is it expensive? so if i reset the mileage to zero does my gauge cluster goes back to zero too?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms