Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   X3 F25 (2011 - current) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=158)
-   -   Tech Package (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=693309)

aztec31 04-30-2013 11:14 PM

Tech Package

If the standalone Navigation is ordered vs. the tech package other than the HUD what else would I miss out of? I don't care for the HUD and don't feel like paying extra for it.

OBS3SSION 05-01-2013 06:08 AM

As best as I can tell, the only ($1000) difference is the HUD. When you select navigation alone, it lists all the other tech package items to be added as well at no additional cost. I'm a tech-gadget-freak and love the idea of the HUD, but even I have a hard time justifying the $1000 cost delta for that one feature.

sfiermon 05-01-2013 06:23 AM

Tech Package

You also don't get the blackout instrument cluster

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app

Durkis 05-01-2013 07:01 AM

I too thought the HUD wasnt really worth it. But now that we have it, I will never not get it in a future car. Its so much safer keeping your eyes on the road for navigational purposes.

Plus you get the fancier blackout digital gauge cluster ! A thumbs up on that one as well.

Anfänger 05-01-2013 06:49 PM

wearing glasses with HUD

I would be interested to hear from any older drivers who need eye correction for presbyopia (reading glasses, etc.) and have HUD in their X3. Do you find the HUD text is easier to read than the dashboard display? It seems like it should be, given that the focal point is further from the eyes.

Also, what about the visibility of the HUD image if you are wearing sunglasses—particularly with polarizing lenses?

Durkis 05-01-2013 07:16 PM

Polarized lenses makes the immage very dark. I can still see it, but it almost invisible. One thing that stinks !

bsavage 05-01-2013 08:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Durkis (Post 7557482)