Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Bimmerfest - BMW Forums (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/index.php)
-   X5 E53 (1999 - 2006) (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   Transfailsafe, ABS indicator, 4x4 indicator dash lights - recently changed battery (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=702268)

Dex5 06-11-2013 12:15 PM

Transfailsafe, ABS indicator, 4x4 indicator dash lights - recently changed battery

Good afternoon,

I am new to the BMW family (2 months - i purchased an 04 X5 4.4i) and its giving me the blues. The dash lit up w/Transfailsafe, 4x4, DSC, and ABS lights and wouldn't get out of 2nd gear. I made it back to work, turned it off then started it up again, no transfailsafe, went through the gears, no DSC, turned it off again, then started it back up, ABS Brake and 4x4 lights are still on, and its driving sluggishly....Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated...

Thank you,

DeX5:(:confused:

Bimma Lova 07-02-2013 07:32 PM

Ohh my friend I have the exact same issues for months. I had my buddy a BMW Engineer come and check my truck and he said when he plugged his computer into my truck that it stored battery voltage drop which is what cause the car to start shutting things down. All that was required was a new battery.

bmwoem1 07-03-2013 10:47 AM

Transfailsafe, ABS indicator, 4x4 indicator dash lights - recently changed batt

Sounds like an alternator, it's a very common issue with the 4.4l N62 engines. I'm replacing one right now actually for the same exact complaint.

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app

Dex5 10-07-2013 02:33 PM