View Single Post
  #96  
Old 09-25-2012, 11:35 AM
330soon2b's Avatar
330soon2b 330soon2b is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: new jersey
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,274
Mein Auto: '04 330i ZHP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sportsdad View Post
"When the players hit the ground in the end zone, the officials determined that both Tate and Jennings had possession of the ball. Under the rule for simultaneous catch, the ball belongs to Tate, the offensive player. The result of the play was a touchdown.

Replay Official Howard Slavin stopped the game for an instant replay review. The aspects of the play that were reviewable included if the ball hit the ground and who had possession of the ball. In the end zone, a ruling of a simultaneous catch is reviewable. That is not the case in the field of play, only in the end zone.

Referee Wayne Elliott determined that no indisputable visual evidence existed to overturn the call on the field, and as a result, the on-field ruling of touchdown stood. The NFL Officiating Department reviewed the video today and supports the decision not to overturn the on-field ruling following the instant replay review.

The result of the game is final."

Ref: NFL head officials
http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap100...awks-touchdown

Looks like the NFL is saying it was a good call. Makes the win for your team all that much better.
__________________
Titanium Silver '04 330i ZHP | 6 SPD | Black Leather | BT | Moonroof | Xenons | Silver Cube | CP | XM Radio | RE Clutch Stop | X-Pel ClearBra | UGDO
Reply With Quote