Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > M Series > E46 M3 (2001-2006)

E46 M3 (2001-2006)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2006, 07:02 AM
damills's Avatar
damills damills is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Tennessee
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 579
Mein Auto: 03 m3, waiting on m235i
SMG program question

Can the dealer program SMG so when you start the car you can always be in a specific mode, for example Auto, lowest program setting

Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 03-11-2006, 12:51 PM
ozm3smg ozm3smg is offline
Registered User
Location: At The Track or Melbourne Victoria Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Mein Auto: 03 E46 M3 TiAg SMG II
Quote:
Originally Posted by damills
Can the dealer program SMG so when you start the car you can always be in a specific mode, for example Auto, lowest program setting
Don't think so - you have to be in Neutral (o) to start. SMG remembers your DL settings for S/A anyway
__________________
Work Hard, Play Hard, Enjoy - Lifes Too Short !!!
03 M3 Coupe TiAg SMGII / 18" Dual Spoke / Michelin PS / Incar Canon MD160 miniDV
Save your Racing for the Track
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2006, 01:58 PM
damills's Avatar
damills damills is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Tennessee
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 579
Mein Auto: 03 m3, waiting on m235i
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozm3smg
Don't think so - you have to be in Neutral (o) to start. SMG remembers your DL settings for S/A anyway
Ok, Im dumb, what is DL settings and S/A
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2006, 07:35 PM
English Teacher English Teacher is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 67
Mein Auto:
Noooooo you are not dumb. Pretty soon we will all be using the first letter of the word to save time in typing. This will look like : N y a n d p s w w a b u t f l o t w t s t i t. Easy huh? Beside when you use "code" you exclude the uninitiated from the inner circle. And watch out for Pincone, she will chastise you for not using search first.

DL is Drive Logic and S/A is Sequential/Automated (6 levels of shifting speed for Sequential, 5 levels of shifting speed for Automated) using the Paddles on the steering wheel or the shift lever on the console for Sequential.

Last edited by English Teacher; 03-11-2006 at 07:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-11-2006, 08:33 PM
damills's Avatar
damills damills is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Tennessee
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 579
Mein Auto: 03 m3, waiting on m235i
Quote:
Originally Posted by English Teacher
Noooooo you are not dumb. Pretty soon we will all be using the first letter of the word to save time in typing. This will look like : N y a n d p s w w a b u t f l o t w t s t i t. Easy huh? Beside when you use "code" you exclude the uninitiated from the inner circle. And watch out for Pincone, she will chastise you for not using search first.

DL is Drive Logic and S/A is Sequential/Automated (6 levels of shifting speed for Sequential, 5 levels of shifting speed for Automated) using the Paddles on the steering wheel or the shift lever on the console for Sequential.
Ok, now I see, I would like my card to default to Automated at the lowest level of shifting. So what I am asking is not possible, correct?

Thanks for the explanation
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-12-2006, 06:35 AM
English Teacher English Teacher is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 67
Mein Auto:
Quote:
Originally Posted by damills
Ok, now I see, I would like my card to default to Automated at the lowest level of shifting. So what I am asking is not possible, correct?

Thanks for the explanation
I Don't know what card you are talking about but I'd just call BMW and ask them.

I have not received my 06 M3 yet but when I do I'll ask. When I test drove an M3 last year I can't recall what shift speed it defaulted to. It did seem slow in shifting speed in A mode. Proof read, proof read, proof read.

Last edited by English Teacher; 03-12-2006 at 07:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-21-2006, 02:29 PM
Lori Lori is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Virginia
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 590
Mein Auto: Jet Black M3 ZCP
Quote:
Originally Posted by English Teacher
Noooooo you are not dumb. Pretty soon we will all be using the first letter of the word to save time in typing. This will look like : N y a n d p s w w a b u t f l o t w t s t i t. Easy huh? Beside when you use "code" you exclude the uninitiated from the inner circle. And watch out for Pincone, she will chastise you for not using search first.

DL is Drive Logic and S/A is Sequential/Automated (6 levels of shifting speed for Sequential, 5 levels of shifting speed for Automated) using the Paddles on the steering wheel or the shift lever on the console for Sequential.
I didn't know Pinecone was a girl. Hi Pinecone
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-21-2006, 02:35 PM
rruiter rruiter is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: usa
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 545
Mein Auto: 04 M3 Coupe SMG
I also noticed that when you park the car in first gear, you can't switch it to neutral unless you start the car. Is this normal ? Kind of a pain when I need to move it in my garage. Guess I will have to park it in neutral from now on and use the parking brake. Don't like that. Always afraid I don't use the parkign brake enough and the car slowly runs into my garage door. Then when I open the garage dor without noticing this has happened.....ouch !
__________________
04 BMW M3 Coupe SMG-II Carbon Black
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-22-2006, 05:12 PM
Pinecone's Avatar
Pinecone Pinecone is offline
M Mad
Location: Maryland
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,480
Mein Auto: M Roadster/M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lori
I didn't know Pinecone was a girl. Hi Pinecone
That will be news to my wife.
__________________
Terry Carraway

'95 Alpine M3 LTW
'00 Dakar M Roadster
'02 Topaz M3
Red/White SRF #4 (Chassis 561)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-12-2006, 09:22 PM
Jim in Oregon Jim in Oregon is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Eugene, Oregon
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 548
Mein Auto: 2009 E92 M3 Coupe
SMG always defaults to Sequential mode on startup but if you just push the lever hard to the right, it will bypass sequential and end up in automated mode. As for the level....the car will always remember the last sequential level (S1 - S5) and will remember the last automated level ONLY if the last was A3, A4 or A5. If you turned off the car when it was in A1 or A2, the default is A3. Confusing, yes. In mid 2002, BMW changed the default automated levels to A3 minimum as stated above. It had something to do with the transmission being cold in the morning and so BMW wanted to keep the revs up so it defaulted to A3.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-12-2006, 09:52 PM
rruiter rruiter is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: usa
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 545
Mein Auto: 04 M3 Coupe SMG
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim in Oregon
SMG always defaults to Sequential mode on startup but if you just push the lever hard to the right, it will bypass sequential and end up in automated mode. As for the level....the car will always remember the last sequential level (S1 - S5) and will remember the last automated level ONLY if the last was A3, A4 or A5. If you turned off the car when it was in A1 or A2, the default is A3. Confusing, yes. In mid 2002, BMW changed the default automated levels to A3 minimum as stated above. It had something to do with the transmission being cold in the morning and so BMW wanted to keep the revs up so it defaulted to A3.
It is not A, it is called D now. Why keep the revs up for a cold transmission ? Doesn't make sense to me, I was always taught to take it easy on a cold engine/trans.
__________________
04 BMW M3 Coupe SMG-II Carbon Black
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-12-2006, 10:17 PM
Jim in Oregon Jim in Oregon is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Eugene, Oregon
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 548
Mein Auto: 2009 E92 M3 Coupe
I think they did it because when it's cold the shifter is really stiff and it's tough on the hydraulics. With increased revs (3000 rpm shifts), the transmission fluid heats up a bit faster and so will shift better. In really cold weather, if you choose D1 which starts in 2nd gear...the transmission will still start in 1st until it warms up, and it will still shift about 3000 rpms in D1 try it sometime if you have temperatures below 30 degrees).

BMW designed it so the hydraulics didn't break something when it forced a shift when the engine and transmission is cold. Recall regular stickshifts when cold shifting back into first gear...you really have to use some pressure to make the shift from 2nd to 1st.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-22-2006, 05:13 PM
Pinecone's Avatar
Pinecone Pinecone is offline
M Mad
Location: Maryland
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,480
Mein Auto: M Roadster/M3
Put the key in, turn two clicks, PUSH ON BRAKE PEDAL, shift into neutral. Just like you do to start it.
__________________
Terry Carraway

'95 Alpine M3 LTW
'00 Dakar M Roadster
'02 Topaz M3
Red/White SRF #4 (Chassis 561)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-22-2006, 10:32 PM
rruiter rruiter is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: usa
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 545
Mein Auto: 04 M3 Coupe SMG
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinecone
Put the key in, turn two clicks, PUSH ON BRAKE PEDAL, shift into neutral. Just like you do to start it.
ah, I probably didn't push the brake pedal while trying this. makes sense. Thanks.
__________________
04 BMW M3 Coupe SMG-II Carbon Black
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-09-2006, 07:46 AM
tompat tompat is offline
Registered User
Location: Singapore
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: 320 CI
Quote:
Originally Posted by damills
Can the dealer program SMG so when you start the car you can always be in a specific mode, for example Auto, lowest program setting

Hi Friends,

Does anybody have any idea or knowledge of the next generation SMG, BMW is developing..? could it be a kind of couble-clutch system and will it first be implemented in the new M3..? thanks fo your thoughts,

Cheers,


Thomas
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > M Series > E46 M3 (2001-2006)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A purist review of SMG II nate General BMW 30 03-25-2013 05:47 PM
SMG Quick Launch 545smg E60 (2004 - 2010) 9 10-03-2005 08:38 AM
SMG Question csb5150 E90/E91/E92/E93 (2006 - 2013) 3 07-03-2005 11:28 AM
Can I do this w/ SMG? marksmith M Series 14 12-18-2003 08:02 AM
Question for Vince re: SMG retrofit Imola Ed Off-Topic 4 09-12-2002 09:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms