Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > X Series > X3 E83 (2004 - 2010)

X3 E83 (2004 - 2010)
Talk about the E83 BMW X3 in this forum!

Old 12-18-2006, 06:18 PM

Mein Auto: BMW X3
DICE ipod kit, no sound??

I'm new to disassembling cars, but I'm stuck here.

I installed a DICE Ipod kit into my wife's 2004 X3. The radio now shows the tracks and the buttons control the ipod, but there is no sound. I then pulled out the radio and plugged in the white plug. Still no sound.

I spoke to Tom from EAS, who seemed sure that there was another white plug to be found behind the radio. When I couldn't find one, he suggested that I go to a BMW dealer.

None of the BMW dealers I spoke to would touch a third party product, so I went to a local car stereo shop. They couldn't find another white plug, and couldn't get sound.

I called DICE, who thought I needed a DSP kit. It has arrived, but I can't find anyplace to plug it in. I called DICE again, and the new guy doesn't think I need a DSP kit, but wants me to take a picture of my amplifier to be sure.

This is where I'm stuck. What/where is the amplifier?

When I open the back left panel in the trunk, I find a bunch of wires and a black box which has no visible wires pointing backwards. The box says DSP on it. Also, when I press the radio button that brings up the base/treble controls, I do get a DSP menu.

So, what do I do now?

Here are some pictures:

Advertisement
Old 12-21-2006, 07:38 AM

Mein Auto: 2006 X3