Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > F07 Gran Turismo (2010 - Current)

F07 Gran Turismo (2010 - Current)
The 5 Series Gran Turismo -- now available in the USA as a 535i, 550i and 550i xDrive model.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-11-2012, 08:34 PM
gt=hi&bye gt=hi&bye is offline
GT = hi&bye
Location: Charlotte, NC
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 170
Mein Auto: 550i gt
F07 Successfully coded today... (videos attached)

I coded my 550i F07 today. Only took about 30 minutes.
The following are the options that I successfully coded on my car.

Digital Speed in MPH on Dash (on Board Computer)
Close Trunk from Inside Button
Close Trunk from FOB
Fold Mirrors from Comfort Access (Door Handle)
Fold Mirrors from FOB
Close Windows and Moon Roof from FOB
Disable Driver and Passenger Seat Belt Reminders
Disable Driver and Passenger Seat Disconnect Reminders
Disable Front and Rear Window Disruption - (keep closing when door is opened)
Unlock Doors on Single Push of Start/Stop Button (allows single pull of door handle to exit)
Fog Lights Stay On with High Beams / Flash to Pass
Enable Welcome Lights (Fog lights, License Plate Lights, Taillights, Position Lights (Front Side LED's), Angel Eyes)
Enable VIM (Video-In-Motion)
Remove NAV Startup Disclaimer
Remove Reverse & Sideview Camera Disclaimer
Remove Night Vision Camera Disclaimer
Daytime Running Lights set as Angel Eyes with no Taillights on

The following are the options that I wanted coded, but could not successfully code on my car:

Enable Tire Pressure Monitor System (TPMS)
Enable Turn Signals in Heads up Display (HUD)

Clink on links to see videos of the options I chose to code on my F07:

http://s738.photobucket.com/albums/x...frominside.mp4

http://s738.photobucket.com/albums/x...seswithFOB.mp4

http://s738.photobucket.com/albums/x...leyesasDRL.mp4

http://s738.photobucket.com/albums/x...outwithFOB.mp4

http://s738.photobucket.com/albums/x...fortaccess.mp4

http://s738.photobucket.com/albums/x...dinwithFOB.mp4

http://s738.photobucket.com/albums/x...lupwithFOB.mp4

http://s738.photobucket.com/albums/x...ownwithFOB.mp4
Reply With Quote
Ads by Google
  #2  
Old 07-12-2012, 02:02 AM
avus9 avus9 is offline
Registered User
Location: Chicago
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 17
Mein Auto: 550i GT
Good stuff. I will be having mine coded the upcoming weekend.
What yr is your 5GT? Did you originally have the option to open the hatch from the inside?
Finally, any suggestions/tips in coding?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-12-2012, 04:51 AM
1STBimmer 1STBimmer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Birmingham, AL
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 409
Mein Auto: 550i GT/X5 35d
Congrats, enjoy you new 'custom' GT!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-12-2012, 05:42 AM
gt=hi&bye gt=hi&bye is offline
GT = hi&bye
Location: Charlotte, NC
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 170
Mein Auto: 550i gt
My car is a 2010.
Originally, the button on the inside only pops the smaller trunk. The FOB will originally open the power lift-gate, but you need coding to close the power lift-gate from either the inside or FOB.

I don't have any "tips", but maybe a suggestion. This was suggested to me by another forum member who coded his car...... Having cameras on at all speeds..... I was on the fence about enabling this option and finally decided against it because once engaged, the reverse camera would have to be shut off manually. As original or default, it will shut itself off when the car is put in D (drive).

I don't understand why more people don't code their cars. Not having to ACCEPT all the disclaimers is reason enough for me!

FYI: The guy who coded my car has done hundreds of BMWs and Mini Coopers over the past three years. Currently, he can code many E-series BMWs remotely. Apparently, in a few months, he will have the ability to code many F-series remotely too!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-12-2012, 08:56 AM
Mikez38 Mikez38 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Long Island, NY
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 201
Mein Auto: 550iX GT
Is the coding done thru the fob or odbc?
__________________
2011 550iX GT, 2011 MB C300 sport, 2003 Porsche C2 Cab (turbo conversion)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-12-2012, 07:20 PM
gt=hi&bye gt=hi&bye is offline
GT = hi&bye
Location: Charlotte, NC
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 170
Mein Auto: 550i gt
I am not sure I completely understand your question... but with coding, I have options that use my FOB, the on-board computer (BC), and the door handle (comfort access).

For example, as seen in the videos that I posted, I can use the FOB to fold mirrors and roll windows up or down. I can also use the door handle (comfort access) to do these same things. I can use the on-board computer (BC) to display digital speed (mph).
I can use the FOB to close the power lift-gate. I can also use the FOB to enable lights when the car is unlocked (I think this option is called "Welcome Lights).

Hope this answers your question.....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-12-2012, 07:49 PM
Mikez38 Mikez38 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Long Island, NY
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 201
Mein Auto: 550iX GT
Quote:
Originally Posted by gt=hi&bye View Post
I am not sure I completely understand your question... but with coding, I have options that use my FOB, the on-board computer (BC), and the door handle (comfort access).

For example, as seen in the videos that I posted, I can use the FOB to fold mirrors and roll windows up or down. I can also use the door handle (comfort access) to do these same things. I can use the on-board computer (BC) to display digital speed (mph).
I can use the FOB to close the power lift-gate. I can also use the FOB to enable lights when the car is unlocked (I think this option is called "Welcome Lights).

Hope this answers your question.....
What I am asking is where/how is the coding physically done?
__________________
2011 550iX GT, 2011 MB C300 sport, 2003 Porsche C2 Cab (turbo conversion)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-19-2012, 06:58 PM
avus9 avus9 is offline
Registered User
Location: Chicago
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 17
Mein Auto: 550i GT
Thanks to forum member Grilodan, I finally was able to get my F07 coded today. It all went smoothly. Like the original post, I was not able to get the Tire Pressure Monitor System (TPMS) nor the Turn Signals in Heads up Display (HUD) to work.
Interestingly, he mentioned that there has to be a way to activate the function of opening the hatch with the interior button (like the 2012+s can do) - but more work needs to be done to find out how.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-20-2012, 07:33 AM
CC Brown CC Brown is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Atlanta
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 171
Mein Auto: S430
I had mine done in Atlanta. The HUD turn signals worked but the trunk release inside still operates the small trunk to open but it does shut the large trunk when it is open. The tire pressure shows only a dashed line. He also tried the speed limit detection since I have lane departure warning but it did not work either.

I do like the other addition features as shown in the other post but I still wonder why BMW doesn't allow these settings. Those that are required by law I understand but the others I do not!

CC Brown
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-11-2012, 06:47 PM
eyeatl eyeatl is offline
Registered User
Location: Atlanta
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 46
Mein Auto: 2013 650i GC 2010 Maserat
CC Brown, where in Atlanta did you have the car coded? I want to do the same .
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-12-2012, 04:28 AM
CC Brown CC Brown is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Atlanta
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 171
Mein Auto: S430
eyeatl

I sent private email of the guy who coded my car in Atlanta. I do recommend him after he did my car.
CC Brown
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-14-2012, 02:28 PM
eyeatl eyeatl is offline
Registered User
Location: Atlanta
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 46
Mein Auto: 2013 650i GC 2010 Maserat
Coding

The guy in Atlanta was able to code everything except:
Enable Tire Pressure Monitor System (TPMS)
Enable Turn Signals in Heads up Display (HUD)

He said the turn signal in HUD was not even an option in his software for my car even though I have the heads up display. I'm not sure if it is because it was an early 2010 build or what.
After recoding, the TPMS didn't even show dashes as some have reported. Mine shows just the normal status with the color of the tires.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-20-2012, 07:58 AM
gt=hi&bye gt=hi&bye is offline
GT = hi&bye
Location: Charlotte, NC
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 170
Mein Auto: 550i gt
It is good to see other F07 owners are getting their cars coded to their liking. It kind of gives the car a custom feel....well, a little bit, anyway. Apparently, turn signals in the HUD has been figured out...the guy that coded my car has subsequently contacted me and told me that I can code that option now too. No word or luck with the TMPS for the F07. Maybe that too will be figured out soon.

If anyone is on the fence about coding, I say go for it! It really does make a big difference and eliminates some of the frustrations associated with driving the F-series.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-20-2012, 05:36 PM
avus9 avus9 is offline
Registered User
Location: Chicago
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 17
Mein Auto: 550i GT
Can someone reference a link for the turn signals in HUD operation? I will be going back to my coding guy, after Bimmerfest East, as the always-on of the auto high beam assist feature didn't seem to take.
Now if someone can just figure out opening the large hatch from within the cabin...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-02-2012, 07:14 PM
gt=hi&bye gt=hi&bye is offline
GT = hi&bye
Location: Charlotte, NC
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 170
Mein Auto: 550i gt
Still waiting on my coding guy to put turn signals in HUD. But no worries, it can definitely be done. Will post info about it after it is successfully coded on my car....hopefully much sooner than later....
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-03-2012, 09:03 AM
tonyscv tonyscv is offline
Registered User
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 56
Mein Auto: 2014 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by avus9 View Post
Can someone reference a link for the turn signals in HUD operation? I will be going back to my coding guy, after Bimmerfest East, as the always-on of the auto high beam assist feature didn't seem to take.
Now if someone can just figure out opening the large hatch from within the cabin...
Quote:
Originally Posted by gt=hi&bye View Post
Still waiting on my coding guy to put turn signals in HUD. But no worries, it can definitely be done. Will post info about it after it is successfully coded on my car....hopefully much sooner than later....
This will help your coding guy. Keep in mind these settings are what worked for my 2012 F07, they may not work for other models. Make sure to make a backup of settings and do one set of changes (one feature) at a time, test it, then move on.

For HUD turn signals, it's 3 steps:

Step 1:

(For all steps - make sure you're using the F01 coding in E-Sys - don't use F10. Our car's programming is more similar to a 7-series (F01) vs. a 5 series (F10).

Module: KOMBI
Section: 3000 Anzeige_Konfiguration
Function: BLINKER_HUD_ENABLE
New Value: aktiv
Default Value: nicht_aktiv
Save and apply code to car.

NOTE: Every time when you code the "Kombi" module you will get a warning in your cluster and nav screen saying something malfunctioned and you have to take your car to nearest BMW dealer. The warning will disappear once the coding is completed and your date and time will be lost. You'll need to set your date and time every time you code from this module.

Step 2:

Module: HU_CIC
Section: 3000 HMI
Function: HUD_TURNSIGNAL
New value: aktiv / Werte=01
Default value: nicht_aktiv / Werte=00
Save and apply code to car.

Step 3:
Enable "Turn indicator" Check box in Settings=>Heads-Up Display for this to work.

Last edited by tonyscv; 09-03-2012 at 09:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-03-2012, 09:07 AM
tonyscv tonyscv is offline
Registered User
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 56
Mein Auto: 2014 M5
Also just a general heads up for those of you coding based on the F10 v3.0 cheat sheet located elsewhere in the forum, it is generally a good guide to follow and has relevant data for our cars. Toggles between "aktiv" and "nicht_activ" will auto-populate the correct "Werte" value in most cases. In one case though I found that the "Werte" values listed in the F10 cheat sheet were not correct for our cars. Fortunately the software defaulted to the correct values and when I tried to manually change the "Werte" value, upon saving it the car just rejected it anyway and reset the value back from "activ" to "nicht_activ", which of course meant that I could not get the darn thing to work for the longest time until I realized what was happening.

In the specific case I ran across, when I attempted to code Comfort Access and the Key Fob closing the windows / sunroof / mirrors, the values in the cheat sheet were not right. Using the following:

Step 1:

Module: FRM
Section: 3020
Function: ASP_BEIKLAPPEN_BEI_KOMFORTSCHLIESSEN
New Value: aktiv / Werte=01
Default Value: nicht_aktiv / Werte=00

Step 2:

Module: CAS
Section: 3003 FH MASTER
Function: KOMFORTSCHLIESSUNG_FB
New Value: aktiv / Werte=00 (when I loaded these values in the car, the Werte values were opposite what it stated in the cheat sheet. The cheat sheet shows aktiv / Werte 01. My car defaulted to aktiv / Werte 00. If that's the case for you, leave the Werte values alone (don't modify them) and just ensure "aktiv" is set. If you modify the "Werte" value to 01 and save it to the car, it will wind up saving as "nicht_aktiv, Werte 01", which will effectively just re-disable the feature, meaning when you go to test it, it won't work.)
Default Value: nicht_aktiv / Werte=01

Step 3:

Module: CAS
Section: 3003 FH MASTER
Function: KOMFORTSCHLIESSUNG_PA
New Value: aktiv / Werte=00
Default value: nicht_aktiv / Werte=01

Every other cheat sheet value I tried had the Aktiv / Werte01 and nicht_aktiv / Werte 00 correlation correct except these settings. Hopefully this will save you the hour of frustration it caused me.

- T

Last edited by tonyscv; 09-03-2012 at 09:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-03-2012, 05:52 PM
gt=hi&bye gt=hi&bye is offline
GT = hi&bye
Location: Charlotte, NC
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 170
Mein Auto: 550i gt
Way to go tonyscv!!!!!! Thanks for the heads up and added information!
Isn't it awesome how everyone shares info on these forums? Helping each other out.... Wish everything else in life could be this easy.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-20-2012, 09:36 AM
cuorealfa1 cuorealfa1 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Switzerland
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 128
Mein Auto: 5er GT 535d
unfortunately I didn't try because i saw that i have the rubber valve stems :-(
__________________

2010 BMW 535d GT
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-20-2012, 11:33 AM
jadnashuanh jadnashuanh is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: NH
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 695
Mein Auto: 535ix-drive GT
Quote:
Originally Posted by cuorealfa1 View Post
unfortunately I didn't try because i saw that i have the rubber valve stems :-(
That's too bad! Are you running RFT? If so, in most places, that would be illegal. Some of them are so stiff, you may not notice a flat if driving straight on a nice highway until the tire failed or tried to exit at speed off of a ramp. Most people would notice it when turning, but may not notice at all just going fairly straight.

In most countries, it's standard, and required. SUrprised, it isn't there.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 09-20-2012, 03:44 PM
cuorealfa1 cuorealfa1 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Switzerland
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 128
Mein Auto: 5er GT 535d
So i did also some codings and here are my results:

Entertainment Details in HUD
Phonebook Details in HUD
Phone in HUD
Turn Signal in HUD
Confirmation tone DWA

VIDEO:



__________________

2010 BMW 535d GT
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-20-2012, 05:28 PM
eyeatl eyeatl is offline
Registered User
Location: Atlanta
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 46
Mein Auto: 2013 650i GC 2010 Maserat
Thanks for posting the videos!

Please list the coding for getting the phone, phone contact list and radio info to display in the heads up display.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-20-2012, 05:51 PM
cuorealfa1 cuorealfa1 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Switzerland
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 128
Mein Auto: 5er GT 535d
here we go:

KOMBI/3000/HUD_ENTERTAINMENT_ENABLE / aktiv / Werte=01
KOMBI/3000/HUD_TELEFONANRUF_ENABLE / aktiv / Werte=01
KOMBI/3000/HUD_TELEFONBUCH_ENABLE / aktiv / Werte=01
KOMBI/3000/HUD_SPRACHEINGABE_ENABLE / aktiv / Werte=01

__________________

2010 BMW 535d GT
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-20-2012, 12:56 PM
cuorealfa1 cuorealfa1 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Switzerland
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 128
Mein Auto: 5er GT 535d
yes I'm running on RFT 20". I was thinking this spring to put Non RFT on the wheels. But i saw a women in the middle of the Highway with a Flat and a damaged 22" wheel and i was thinking "ouuuuutch" So i decided then to buy again the RFT's.
What would be illegal? To drive with RFT's?
__________________

2010 BMW 535d GT

Last edited by cuorealfa1; 09-20-2012 at 12:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-20-2012, 02:37 PM
jadnashuanh jadnashuanh is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: NH
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 695
Mein Auto: 535ix-drive GT
In the USA, TPMS are now required on all models (some don't use sensors, but rely on the antilock brakes' sensor to detect variations in wheel rotations). Tire specialists aren't supposed to install RFT without the sensors, and they always come that way from the factory. Did you change tires or wheels sometime along the way? The tire installer may have (mistankenly or fraudulently) taken then out and just put in new 'normal' valve stems. If so, you got screwed. With a tire change, they're supposed to use a new gasket, but keep the TPMS sensor. In the USA, they're around $50 each, so not bad for him to sell to someone later on.

If you go to the vehicle status page, do you have an entry for Tire Pressure? If you do, your vehicle came with them, and somewhere along the way, they disappeared!

It can be quite unsafe to drive faster than the recommendations with a RFT when it is flat, or to drive further than they specify. Without the TPMS, you may not realize it until you try to turn at speed. This can make the vehicle unstable. The max speed when you have a flat with a RFT is moderately low, much lower than your limited access highways. So, at least where I live, it is illegal because of the potential unstable situation if you didn't realize you had a flat - the sensors at least warn you to both slow down, and be more cautious. I do not know if that warning is tied into the vehicle's stability program or engine management system.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > F07 Gran Turismo (2010 - Current)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms