Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > X Series > X5 E53 (1999 - 2006)

X5 E53 (1999 - 2006)
The X5 SAV Forum

Old 06-11-2013, 11:15 AM

Mein Auto: 2004 X5
Transfailsafe, ABS indicator, 4x4 indicator dash lights - recently changed battery

Good afternoon,

I am new to the BMW family (2 months - i purchased an 04 X5 4.4i) and its giving me the blues. The dash lit up w/Transfailsafe, 4x4, DSC, and ABS lights and wouldn't get out of 2nd gear. I made it back to work, turned it off then started it up again, no transfailsafe, went through the gears, no DSC, turned it off again, then started it back up, ABS Brake and 4x4 lights are still on, and its driving sluggishly....Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated...

Thank you,

DeX5
Advertisement
Old 07-02-2013, 06:32 PM

Mein Auto: E36 M3
Ohh my friend I have the exact same issues for months. I had my buddy a BMW Engineer come and check my truck and he said when he plugged his computer into my truck that it stored battery voltage drop which is what cause the car to start shutting things down. All that was required was a new battery.
Old 07-03-2013, 09:47 AM
Regional Sponsor

Mein Auto: X3
Transfailsafe, ABS indicator, 4x4 indicator dash lights - recently changed batt

Sounds like an alternator, it's a very common issue with the 4.4l N62 engines. I'm replacing one right now actually for the same exact complaint.

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Old 10-07-2013, 01:33 PM