Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 6 Series

6 Series
The BMW 6 Series builds on BMW's sporty heritage with aggressive lines and an incredible motor to back the design up. Available in coupe and convertible trims with a standard 4.8 liter engine producing 360 horsepower and 360 lb-ft of torque, the 6-series is a popular choice that exceeds expectations.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2005, 01:25 PM
Vicken Vicken is offline
Registered User
Location: Los Angeles
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 23
Mein Auto: BMW 645CI
AUX INPUT just added what a nightmare!!!

[SIZE=5Hi Everyone,
I just had my AUX INPUT installed and let me tell you what a nightmare that turned out to be. Please advise NO dealer in SoCal has a F**ken clue what they are talking about. I purchased Aux cable $65.Then the dealer wanted 3 1/2 hours @ $126 for the install, yes do the math. So I took it my friends Auto shop. JUST IN CASE you guys attempt this, the Aux Cable needs to plug in behind the CD/DVD player which is pretty easy, ONLY IF YOU KNOW THAT THIERS A SCREW holding the vents on top; you'll need to remove the Hazard/Door lock module which is one whole item 1st!!! Then that whole face plate with the radio comes right out. Then you'll find the spot for the aux input is already taken, you'll need to take the pins out of the old plug and place them on too the Aux plug and make sure you follow the retrofit instructions because they don't go in the same exact spot on the plug, they get moved around. Then the dealer needs to So-Called reprogram your car, BULL****T. It’s a matter of activating a feature using the GT-1. Which the dealer did for me "Goodwill". Please let me know if anyone in consider doing this, I’ll be more than happy to walk you through it. The install should not take more than 30-45min.[/SIZE]

Last edited by beewang; 12-23-2005 at 02:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
Ads by Google
  #2  
Old 12-23-2005, 02:49 PM
Malibubimmer Malibubimmer is offline
Officially Welcomed to The 'Fest!
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,975
Mein Auto:
Thanks for the info.

Last edited by Malibubimmer; 12-23-2005 at 09:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2005, 04:41 PM
phunkfarm phunkfarm is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: sf
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 241
Mein Auto: 645
Hey viken

can you please list the procedure step by step for us

I plan to do this as well. I think it would be very helpful
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-23-2005, 09:39 PM
esoteric esoteric is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 135
Mein Auto: Just about everything
first with a fiber stick, or if your careful a pick tool. remove hazard lock switch. I found the easiest way was to approach it from the side.I did mar the one I just did and have a new one coming for it. no big deal, it will be used ... well out of a wrecked 645. Anyways disconnect the plug from the back of the switch

there is a torx screw under the switch, it will be vertical either a t15 or t20... remove

next remove the A/C vent, I use a hook tool from inside the vent and pull out on each side.

remove the two philip head screws on each side of the radio bezel.

next remove the boot on the shifter by pullin it up, not off.

remove the ashtray

then reach in the cavity of the shifter and pull up on the plastic piece that held the boot, disconnect the 4 plugs and remove

remove 4 torx head screws that will be visible

partially remove the unit and disconnect the harnesses, then completely remove

with that removed you are now able to grasp the trim bezel from underneath and pry up on it a little to release the clips.

remove the electrical plugs and set the unit aside safetly

remove the 4 philip head screws holding the dvd nav and the cd player in place

put the vehicle in gear and slide the unit out of the cavity.

remove the gps antenna, the radio antenna, the 3 pin plug to the fan, the 10 pin din cable, so your left with the one big square molex connector. squeeze the sides of it and flip the lever down, the plug will come out

next set the radio aside in a safe place

the last harness has the top passenger side plug in it that needs to be removed for the aux input to plug in. Here is the screwed up part, thathad my sleep deprived brain asking silly stupid questions here.

leave the pins in that plug, remove the pins from the other plug (adapter) and insert into the existing plug, if memory serves me it will be 2, 7, and 8. the plug is labeled on the front

now to remove the pins it is pretty simple, look at the one on the adapter first, little tit that holds the cover on, when depressed, it will slide to the right or whatever ay the arrow says. with a pick tool, depress on the tit that holds the pin in the socket, pull back an 1/8" and depress again, because it will most likely get caught up on the opening

remove and reinstall into the existing harness with the pins going in the hole assigned

put everything back together.

don't bother testing till the aux is assigned to the menu via the dealer and his computer

words of advise, use a few towels when removing the panels soas not to scratch. you candisconnect the battery so you willget no fault codes, but i believe that when disconnected the vehicle won't shift out of park.

you might ask why I don't care about fault codes, well your heading to the dealer anyways, they will reset them! that is why

sorry if not completely comprehensive, but I am operating on 2 hours of sleep in the past 57 hours.

Also i willpost a video on the one I did in about 2 hours or so...

jim
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2007, 06:24 PM
BHR4CE1's Avatar
BHR4CE1 BHR4CE1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,774
Mein Auto: a steak
What is this AUX input for?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2007, 07:10 PM
cobradav cobradav is offline
Officially Welcomed to The 'Fest
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,421
Mein Auto:
Allows you to listen to any device that produces audio via a "line out" or "headphone out" jack though the Audio system as another source. Such things as iPod, or any other brand of MP3 player, tape (cassette, 8-track - r u old enough?) CD or DVD player (audio portion only, not video).

Last edited by cobradav; 01-07-2007 at 07:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2007, 08:10 PM
BHR4CE1's Avatar
BHR4CE1 BHR4CE1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,774
Mein Auto: a steak
Quote:
Originally Posted by cobradav View Post
Allows you to listen to any device that produces audio via a "line out" or "headphone out" jack though the Audio system as another source. Such things as iPod, or any other brand of MP3 player, tape (cassette, 8-track - r u old enough?) CD or DVD player (audio portion only, not video).
Yes, regrettably I am old enough to recall 8-tracks (I was born in 1963) and had a cassette player in my first car at age 16.

The dealer situated my iPod input in the glove box, and I am extremely thankful. That middle compartment is so dam* tiny as it is! I have 6 coins, 1 pack of gum, sunglasses and a pen in there...it's full!

This car is SERIOUSLY deficient of "hide-away" space, but what it lacks in convenience…it makes up for in power.

I slaughtered a bright yellow Porsche Carerra S4 today on PCH. He even tried it again at the second light… Poor guy! I felt like a kid again… Weeeeeeeeeeee
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-07-2007, 09:18 PM
Malibubimmer Malibubimmer is offline
Officially Welcomed to The 'Fest!
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,975
Mein Auto:
Quote:
Originally Posted by BHR4CE1 View Post
Yes, regrettably I am old enough to recall 8-tracks (I was born in 1963) and had a cassette player in my first car at age 16.

The dealer situated my iPod input in the glove box, and I am extremely thankful. That middle compartment is so dam* tiny as it is! I have 6 coins, 1 pack of gum, sunglasses and a pen in there...it's full!

This car is SERIOUSLY deficient of "hide-away" space, but what it lacks in convenience…it makes up for in power.

I slaughtered a bright yellow Porsche Carerra S4 today on PCH. He even tried it again at the second light… Poor guy! I felt like a kid again… Weeeeeeeeeeee
Tweener. I knew he wasn't a 'snapper or Geezer. Tweener middle division I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-07-2007, 10:17 PM
BHR4CE1's Avatar
BHR4CE1 BHR4CE1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,774
Mein Auto: a steak
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malibubimmer View Post
Tweener. I knew he wasn't a 'snapper or Geezer. Tweener middle division I guess.
I did feel a little like a 'snapper today however!

I hammered that Porsche, and I haven't even gotten to push the "Magic" button yet. It must have been a slow Porsche!!!

After "getting on it" a little today...I think I am really gonna' like this car!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-08-2007, 04:20 AM
Gran Turismo's Avatar
Gran Turismo Gran Turismo is offline
Alpina Addict
Location: Switzerland
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,352
Mein Auto: '11 Alpina B5 Biturbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by BHR4CE1 View Post
The dealer situated my iPod input in the glove box, and I am extremely thankful. That middle compartment is so dam* tiny as it is! I have 6 coins, 1 pack of gum, sunglasses and a pen in there...it's full!
Yes, the iPod interface is designed for the glovebox, as otherwise most probably a custom made wiring harness would become necessary.

However you additionally should have the Aux input too in that middle compartment - that location as standard equipment is one of the very few changes for model year 07 (or is it different with the M6?). With previous 6er vintages, the Aux input had to retrofitted in the glovebox as well... and that's what the OP of this thread was referring to.
__________________
Current: 2011 Alpina B5 Biturbo Saloon
Retired: 2007 650i SMG Coupe


"Really skilled drivers have smashed bugs on their side windows too" - Walter Röhrl
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-08-2007, 06:56 AM
BHR4CE1's Avatar
BHR4CE1 BHR4CE1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,774
Mein Auto: a steak
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gran Turismo View Post
Yes, the iPod interface is designed for the glovebox, as otherwise most probably a custom made wiring harness would become necessary.

However you additionally should have the Aux input too in that middle compartment - that location as standard equipment is one of the very few changes for model year 07 (or is it different with the M6?). With previous 6er vintages, the Aux input had to retrofitted in the glovebox as well... and that's what the OP of this thread was referring to.


Yes, I did find an input plug in the middle console, so that must be it.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-08-2007, 12:03 PM
HGilmore's Avatar
HGilmore HGilmore is offline
AMV Roady
Location: CR/Cali
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,489
Mein Auto: F01
Quote:
Originally Posted by BHR4CE1 View Post

I slaughtered a bright yellow Porsche Carerra S4 today on PCH. He even tried it again at the second light… Poor guy! I felt like a kid again… Weeeeeeeeeeee
Nice Bear-man.....Porsches are nice but over-rated. I drive my GF's 06 Carrera every now and then, and while it is quick, I don't like the ride or the rattles.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-08-2007, 09:17 PM
Murtaza Murtaza is offline
MB Driving Infidel
Location: Laguna Beach, CA
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 108
Mein Auto: R230
Quote:
Originally Posted by HGilmore View Post
Nice Bear-man.....Porsches are nice but over-rated. I drive my GF's 06 Carrera every now and then, and while it is quick, I don't like the ride or the rattles.
I agree that the non Turbo/GT3's are a bit boring. The 997 TT, however, is pure adrenaline and an absolute joy to drive
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-09-2007, 04:53 AM
6er 6er is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: UK
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 619
Mein Auto: 6er
You should aquire a ETK TIS etc these discs give you valuable information ie

diagrams on removal of such items, Part diagrams and numbers, wiring diagrams

lucky if removing the Nav takes 5 mins really.

Now removing the Steering wheel thats fun, I could have done with a power drill for the main nut haha that was pure strength in the end haha

TIP : Hazard switch removal ... take a old credit card ( or a wifes current card ) and snap it to fit double it up and the hazards will pop right out no fuss
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-10-2007, 04:49 AM
Britannia Britannia is offline
Registered User
Location: Worcester, UK
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Mein Auto: 630i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gran Turismo View Post
However you additionally should have the Aux input too in that middle compartment - that location as standard equipment is one of the very few changes for model year 07 (or is it different with the M6?).
I've got the aux input in the middle comparment under the armrest.

I'm assuming there is no power from the aux input so the iPod will run out of battery in a few hours.

Does any one know how you get power there? Can you hard wire a 9v dc adapter to the carphone cradle?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-10-2007, 05:34 AM
Gran Turismo's Avatar
Gran Turismo Gran Turismo is offline
Alpina Addict
Location: Switzerland
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,352
Mein Auto: '11 Alpina B5 Biturbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Britannia View Post
I'm assuming there is no power from the aux input so the iPod will run out of battery in a few hours.
Exactly. Also, selecting songs while driving (or simply switching the thing on) will turn out as a major PITA too if you put the iPod in there!

Have you already searched the forum for 'iPod MOST interface'?
__________________
Current: 2011 Alpina B5 Biturbo Saloon
Retired: 2007 650i SMG Coupe


"Really skilled drivers have smashed bugs on their side windows too" - Walter Röhrl
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-25-2007, 10:07 PM
E60orBust's Avatar
E60orBust E60orBust is offline
Registered lunatic.
Location: People's Republic of Marylandistan.
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 442
Mein Auto: M-Sport twins.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Britannia View Post
I've got the aux input in the middle comparment under the armrest.

I'm assuming there is no power from the aux input so the iPod will run out of battery in a few hours.

Does any one know how you get power there? Can you hard wire a 9v dc adapter to the carphone cradle?
Not a 6 series, but i wired up an additional 12V outlet in the arm rest of my E60 to connect the monster iCharge to. This would give you power (and aux if you have it installed) in the center console.

Write up for the Aux install (5 series) with pictures of dash dismantling - http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...&highlight=aux

Write up for adding 12V outet to center console via modifying the "flashlight harness" that normally turns the glovebox flashlight into another 12V outlet - http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...ght=flashlight

I've only been in the M6 and I didn't really pay much attention to the glove box/arm rest area, so I'm not sure how much the M6/6 differ from the 5, but if you have rear 12V outlets on the 6, you should be able to tap them as a power source for my mod.
__________________
Team 1 'Brothers M'
Team 2 'Black & Blue'
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-31-2010, 12:55 PM
B_RASHED B_RASHED is offline
b_rashed
Location: Sacramento,Ca
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 445
Mein Auto: 2009 750li
so this is what happened. i did the install on the AUX and went to the dealer to get it programmed but they told me that they would need to do the whole upgrade on the computer so it would be 300 total. i dont mind doing it because they said it would eliminate a lot of the bugs i get with the navigation and some other stuff with the car and the rep said he could retrofit the tail lights and headlights so they wouldnt give me an error message anymore since i upgraded to the new lci lights. but now i think im going to get the ipod hook up and just program the car since im spending the money anyway. my only problem is that i have the dinan stage 2 software, will it get erased from the computer??
__________________

Vehicles
2009 BMW 750LI (current)
2006 BMW 650I Convertible Sold- Dinan Stage 3, Full Throttle Body, Carbon Fiber Dual Intake, M6 Kit, LCI headlights and tailights, H&R lowering springs, 19" M6 wheels, custom magnaflow exhaust
1998 528I sold- hamann lip kit, euro headlights, custom exhaust
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-31-2010, 02:17 PM
OXDUB805 OXDUB805 is offline
Registered User
Location: OXNARD
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 28
Mein Auto: BMW 645
THAT AWESOME! any one near Oxnard< Ca that would love to helpo me out? some extra cash a and lunch! JOSEREVELES@HOTMAIL.COM
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-04-2011, 05:56 PM
ctryboi28 ctryboi28 is offline
Registered User
Location: GA
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Send a message via Yahoo to ctryboi28
Mein Auto: 645 Convert
man your post was a life saver. i had input installed for $40, even though i had to go back and put pins in correct spot, but it saved me $80 of my money giving to dealership!!

long story to say thanks for your detailed instructions!!
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 01-12-2013, 08:24 AM
tk123 tk123 is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: charlotte
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 143
Mein Auto: 650 ic
aux retrofit

Quote:
Originally Posted by esoteric View Post
first with a fiber stick, or if your careful a pick tool. remove hazard lock switch. I found the easiest way was to approach it from the side.I did mar the one I just did and have a new one coming for it. no big deal, it will be used ... well out of a wrecked 645. Anyways disconnect the plug from the back of the switch

there is a torx screw under the switch, it will be vertical either a t15 or t20... remove

next remove the A/C vent, I use a hook tool from inside the vent and pull out on each side.

remove the two philip head screws on each side of the radio bezel.

next remove the boot on the shifter by pullin it up, not off.

remove the ashtray

then reach in the cavity of the shifter and pull up on the plastic piece that held the boot, disconnect the 4 plugs and remove

remove 4 torx head screws that will be visible

partially remove the unit and disconnect the harnesses, then completely remove

with that removed you are now able to grasp the trim bezel from underneath and pry up on it a little to release the clips.

remove the electrical plugs and set the unit aside safetly

remove the 4 philip head screws holding the dvd nav and the cd player in place

put the vehicle in gear and slide the unit out of the cavity.

remove the gps antenna, the radio antenna, the 3 pin plug to the fan, the 10 pin din cable, so your left with the one big square molex connector. squeeze the sides of it and flip the lever down, the plug will come out

next set the radio aside in a safe place

the last harness has the top passenger side plug in it that needs to be removed for the aux input to plug in. Here is the screwed up part, thathad my sleep deprived brain asking silly stupid questions here.

leave the pins in that plug, remove the pins from the other plug (adapter) and insert into the existing plug, if memory serves me it will be 2, 7, and 8. the plug is labeled on the front

now to remove the pins it is pretty simple, look at the one on the adapter first, little tit that holds the cover on, when depressed, it will slide to the right or whatever ay the arrow says. with a pick tool, depress on the tit that holds the pin in the socket, pull back an 1/8" and depress again, because it will most likely get caught up on the opening

remove and reinstall into the existing harness with the pins going in the hole assigned

put everything back together.

don't bother testing till the aux is assigned to the menu via the dealer and his computer

words of advise, use a few towels when removing the panels soas not to scratch. you candisconnect the battery so you willget no fault codes, but i believe that when disconnected the vehicle won't shift out of park.

you might ask why I don't care about fault codes, well your heading to the dealer anyways, they will reset them! that is why

sorry if not completely comprehensive, but I am operating on 2 hours of sleep in the past 57 hours.

Also i willpost a video on the one I did in about 2 hours or so...

jim
Is your video out yet? I would love to see it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 6 Series
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dealer Finally Installed Aux Input - Now Subs Don't Work PotatoAddict Car Navigation, Audio & Electronics sponsored by BimmerTech 0 12-22-2005 03:17 AM
AUX input kit for '06 650i IFly650i 6 Series 6 12-07-2005 12:45 PM
Pre 09/02 E46 Aux Input Kits Shadyside Car Navigation, Audio & Electronics sponsored by BimmerTech 14 07-02-2005 11:11 AM
Aux input for E46 with NAV, my DIY eelnoraa Car Navigation, Audio & Electronics sponsored by BimmerTech 0 02-14-2005 11:40 AM
woohoo, first mod: aux input adapter KrisL 3 Series / 4 Series 3 07-10-2004 08:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms