Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)

E36 (1991 - 1999)
The E36 chassis 3-Series BMW was a huge hit among driving enthusiasts from the first moment the car hit the pavement. The E36 won numerous awards over the years it was produced and is still a favorite of many BMW enthusiasts to this day! -- View the E36 Wiki

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #26  
Old 08-20-2011, 07:25 PM
BMRfanatic's Avatar
BMRfanatic BMRfanatic is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: South Shore MA
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,986
Mein Auto: Bad Luck 46
Do what I did on accident ....unleash at 1st gear and the rev limiter should kick in at 39mph. My car thinks it idles and 1k but redlines at 9k lol and at highway speed it thinks its running at 4 or 5k

Sent from my HTC HD2 using Bimmer
__________________

-Dino
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-20-2011, 08:10 PM
DenKare DenKare is offline
darksilver
Location: Canada
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 195
Mein Auto: 1995 325is
diff tags are not wrong 3.15 is stock diff for 325 5 speed its defs your tach
__________________
I like the colour No Bias.
1995 325is 5spd
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-20-2011, 08:23 PM
granlund granlund is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Dayton, OH
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 550
Mein Auto: -02 530 & -92 325is
After some digging around, I believe you have an instrument cluster from a Z3. They are the only ones I believe came without an MPG gauge and with chromed rings. If the donor vehicle was an 1.9, then you have the 4- vs. 6-cylinder rpm problem.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 08-20-2011, 08:44 PM
Moeman10's Avatar
Moeman10 Moeman10 is offline
hookersandblow
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6,829
Send a message via AIM to Moeman10
Mein Auto: 1992 325is
Either that or a TI, they came without the MPG gauge as well.


Its the cluster. Not your diff.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by petriej View Post
You can sleep in your car, but you can't race your house!
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 08-20-2011, 11:34 PM
B_Rad_M3's Avatar
B_Rad_M3 B_Rad_M3 is offline
I6 feels good
Location: Hell
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,282
Mein Auto: POS
OP...

Try this out, if cluster was bad the tach and speedo wouldn't be synchronized...

(Guys let me know if I'm wrong here ok)

Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 08-21-2011, 12:54 AM
hornhospital's Avatar
hornhospital hornhospital is offline
D'oh, You kids!
Location: In the Grumpy Chair
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14,137
Mein Auto: 1995 318is / 1993 325is
I think that only tests the operation of the IC, not whether it's reading correctly. It can't hurt to try it, though. Good idea, Brad.
__________________
Quotes to live by:
guessing gets expensive...drivinfaster
nothing is more expensive than a cheap BMW...c4harpe13

Ken Kanne, Silverhill, AL, E36 Forum Mod/Craigslist addict/Hoarder of all sorts of stuff
BMW-CCA #441426
1995 318is "Bebe"; 1993 325is "Elvira" 1985 635CSi "Katja" 1984 633CSi "Sylvia"
HAVE I HAD MY MEDS YET?

Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 08-21-2011, 10:37 AM
jsdugan jsdugan is offline
Registered User
Location: Central Illinois
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 34
Mein Auto: 1995 325ic
Good and Bad news

Good News: The car really stumbles at 1,000 rpm's when I tried to stay in gear or engage 1st, 1,000 rpm's would almost cause it to stall. AND, THE BIGGER DEAL - I tried red lining it, and it was going well past 7,000 and I didn't keep it going any more to the rev limiter because I figured I got my answer about the tach being wrong. So, is there any way to adjust it so I can have the correct reading (swap a gear in the tach?).

Bad News: This means my instrument cluster must have been swapped out at one time, so the 111,000 miles that I thought I have on the car is completely inaccurate. I know almost everything on the car except for the aluminum radiator seems stock. Shocks, struts, bushings, possibly even spark plugs.

So, I will run it a while a check the mileage to see how it goes. So will I be able to get the tach accurate? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 08-21-2011, 11:02 AM
jsdugan jsdugan is offline
Registered User
Location: Central Illinois
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 34
Mein Auto: 1995 325ic
Carfax?

Does anyone have the ability to run a carfax for me? I am curious if the odometer swap, or whatever happened, shows up on it. My VIN is: WBABJ5325SJC82388
The report could be sent to jsdugan@gmail.com if someone is able to do this.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 08-21-2011, 11:08 AM
drive by72's Avatar
drive by72 drive by72 is offline
I feed trolls
Location: Snowy Wisconsin
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,950
Mein Auto: 3 series
You'll have to swap the clusters to get an accurate tach. They can be had for around 100 bucks, and arent terribly hard to install
__________________

RIP Ben "Jever" Doebele, we wont forget you

Please, call me Chadley

1997 328iS... HR coilovers, Brembo F40 calipers, camber plates, it needs a CUMMINS!!

1990-somethin Chevy K3500... Cummins, cab swap, 5 speed, and lots of motor work. 20 MPG, 40 PSI, 507 ft/lbs torque
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 08-21-2011, 01:33 PM
Moeman10's Avatar
Moeman10 Moeman10 is offline
hookersandblow
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6,829
Send a message via AIM to Moeman10
Mein Auto: 1992 325is
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsdugan View Post
Does anyone have the ability to run a carfax for me? I am curious if the odometer swap, or whatever happened, shows up on it. My VIN is: WBABJ5325SJC82388
The report could be sent to jsdugan@gmail.com if someone is able to do this.
Thanks!
No, that's illegal.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by petriej View Post
You can sleep in your car, but you can't race your house!
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 08-21-2011, 02:14 PM
johnf's Avatar
johnf johnf is offline
John Firestone
Location: Bremerhaven, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,619
Mein Auto: 1996 318is
Quote:
Originally Posted by drive by72 View Post
You'll have to swap the clusters to get an accurate tach....
Huh? What about the standard procedure of coding the cluster to match the car (and engine)?
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 08-21-2011, 06:04 PM
cj.surr's Avatar
cj.surr cj.surr is online now
some kid
Location: Ithaca, NY
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10,458
Mein Auto: whiny 318
I don't think you have to code the cluster at all. You just need one with the same mileage.
__________________
-CJ

Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 08-21-2011, 06:07 PM
FenderBender's Avatar
FenderBender FenderBender is online now
Needs Boost
Location: Hicktown, PA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 11,189
Mein Auto: Red Sled
Only certain E36s came with codes you can swap, do a search on bimmerforums and it will show you.

I would just get a cluster with around the same mileage.
__________________
Turbo Build Here


Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 08-21-2011, 06:47 PM
jonesin's Avatar
jonesin jonesin is offline
The Canadian Prick.
Location: Fort McMurray AB
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12,597
Mein Auto: '96 328is Cosmos
Except that he has no clue what the milage is now. He wasn't the one who swapped the clusters.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by hnaz View Post
I grew up in a time when the internet was just a baby. Grammar back then versus now... holy cow. You could watch the degradation of society as the internet became more mature.

HAS KEN HAD HIS MEDS YET?
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 08-21-2011, 06:52 PM
cj.surr's Avatar
cj.surr cj.surr is online now
some kid
Location: Ithaca, NY
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10,458
Mein Auto: whiny 318
Well, since there's no tamper dot, we would assume the mileage on the cluster is correct, right?
__________________
-CJ

Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 08-21-2011, 06:55 PM
jonesin's Avatar
jonesin jonesin is offline
The Canadian Prick.
Location: Fort McMurray AB
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12,597
Mein Auto: '96 328is Cosmos
The tamper dots weren't in all years. I don't recall what year they started off the top of my head.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by hnaz View Post
I grew up in a time when the internet was just a baby. Grammar back then versus now... holy cow. You could watch the degradation of society as the internet became more mature.

HAS KEN HAD HIS MEDS YET?
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 08-21-2011, 06:57 PM
cj.surr's Avatar
cj.surr cj.surr is online now
some kid
Location: Ithaca, NY
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10,458
Mein Auto: whiny 318
Then what stops people from throwing in clusters with lower mileage?
__________________
-CJ

Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 08-21-2011, 07:08 PM
jsdugan jsdugan is offline
Registered User
Location: Central Illinois
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 34
Mein Auto: 1995 325ic
What is this tamper dot thing? I just bought the car, so I guess I don't have a clue how many miles are actually on it. So, there is a chance I can reset a z3 tach, or whatever instrument cluster I have. I am guessing that I just need to live with it.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 08-22-2011, 03:12 PM
jsdugan jsdugan is offline
Registered User
Location: Central Illinois
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 34
Mein Auto: 1995 325ic
Just drove 200 ish miles and got 25 mpg with doing about 30% at 67, 55% at 57, and 15% in town. Oh, about 80 miles were with the AC on. Not the greatest, but I am sure the plugs are old and could use a tune up. The bad idle got a little better throughout the day, at first it would die if I put it in neutral and idle while slowing down, but throughout the day it got a little better.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 08-22-2011, 04:50 PM
drive by72's Avatar
drive by72 drive by72 is offline
I feed trolls
Location: Snowy Wisconsin
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,950
Mein Auto: 3 series
25 isnt bad at all, except i get that going 85
__________________

RIP Ben "Jever" Doebele, we wont forget you

Please, call me Chadley

1997 328iS... HR coilovers, Brembo F40 calipers, camber plates, it needs a CUMMINS!!

1990-somethin Chevy K3500... Cummins, cab swap, 5 speed, and lots of motor work. 20 MPG, 40 PSI, 507 ft/lbs torque
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 08-22-2011, 04:57 PM
jsdugan jsdugan is offline
Registered User
Location: Central Illinois
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 34
Mein Auto: 1995 325ic
So, besides the plugs and valve cover gaskets (which I am pretty sure don't have anything to do with mileage) , what should I replace for better mileage? The factory type air cleaner looked pretty clean.

Sent from my ADR6300 using Bimmer
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 08-22-2011, 05:02 PM
drive by72's Avatar
drive by72 drive by72 is offline
I feed trolls
Location: Snowy Wisconsin
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,950
Mein Auto: 3 series
Pretty much the basics. Plugs, fuel filter, air filter, ensure good tire pressure, shift before 2500rpm while driving, coast as much as you can and use brakes only when you need to, etc.
__________________

RIP Ben "Jever" Doebele, we wont forget you

Please, call me Chadley

1997 328iS... HR coilovers, Brembo F40 calipers, camber plates, it needs a CUMMINS!!

1990-somethin Chevy K3500... Cummins, cab swap, 5 speed, and lots of motor work. 20 MPG, 40 PSI, 507 ft/lbs torque
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 08-22-2011, 05:08 PM
jsdugan jsdugan is offline
Registered User
Location: Central Illinois
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 34
Mein Auto: 1995 325ic
Shift before 2,500, ha! Remember what my original post was about I may be dogging it a bit too much if I try that on my tach. I was surprised to see how cheap, and easy (I think; might be wrong), the fuel filter will be.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 05-18-2014, 09:34 PM
scubasegt scubasegt is offline
Registered User
Location: wisconsin
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 10
Mein Auto: 94 318is
My 94 318is has the same problem 70 mph is 4k on the tach and its gota be something cause im sucking gas like crazy at 4k lol
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series / 4 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms