Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-03-2012, 10:06 AM
Stealth.Pilot's Avatar
Stealth.Pilot Stealth.Pilot is offline
The Driver
Location: Florida
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,558
Mein Auto: 2014 M5
M HUD Project

Let's discuss how to enable M-HUD on non M5 vehicles.

It seems it was done on the E60, even though early E60 threads people said they traced it to the DME, and the problem was there was no way to load the M5 DME on the E60.



Clearly the M5 was using an SMG transmission vs an Automatic, although both were 6 speed.

With the F10 we have different transmissions, and different number of gears.

So far I have enabled the M-HUD option in the HUD Display Options but I can't check it. I have also added digital tachometer to the Control Menu Info options, but also can't check it.

QUESTION: DOES ANYONE HAVE ACCESS TO THE METHODOLOGY USED TO ENABLE M_HUD on the E60?
__________________

2014 ///M5 Individual
Frozen Grey, Silverstone Full Merino, Piano Black, Exec Pkg, Drivers assistance pkg, LED Package, Bang and Olufsen, 20" Forged wheels
Reply With Quote
Ads by Google
  #2  
Old 06-04-2012, 07:16 PM
JEG23 JEG23 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 316
Mein Auto: 550i
@Stealth.Pilot,

Can you please point for me where the "HUD_VARIANTE" setting is located? Thanks.

Edit:

Actually I find a "M_VARIANTE" but not a "HUD_VARIANTE"

Also I find a "MDRIVE" But not a "M_DRIVE"

Can you please correct as necessary or point me to the correct place?

JEG23
__________________
2011 550i
Space Gray /Black Nappa, Dark Wood
ZAV, ZCV, ZCW, ZDA, ZP2, 4NB, 5DF, 610, 2VH, 465, 6UK, 5DL, 6NR

Last edited by JEG23; 06-04-2012 at 07:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-04-2012, 08:34 PM
Stealth.Pilot's Avatar
Stealth.Pilot Stealth.Pilot is offline
The Driver
Location: Florida
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,558
Mein Auto: 2014 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEG23 View Post
@Stealth.Pilot,

Can you please point for me where the "HUD_VARIANTE" setting is located? Thanks.

Edit:

Actually I find a "M_VARIANTE" but not a "HUD_VARIANTE"

Also I find a "MDRIVE" But not a "M_DRIVE"

Can you please correct as necessary or point me to the correct place?

JEG23
It is possible I was quoting wrong based on memory. Unfortunately I can't find those fields right now since I am travelling. What may be a good thing to do is assemble a list on this thread of all M Drive, M HUD or M Sport related settings. Once we have that we can try to figure out what they all mean...
__________________

2014 ///M5 Individual
Frozen Grey, Silverstone Full Merino, Piano Black, Exec Pkg, Drivers assistance pkg, LED Package, Bang and Olufsen, 20" Forged wheels
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-05-2012, 02:36 AM
svache's Avatar
svache svache is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Hawaii
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 215
Mein Auto: 2012 F30 328i
I'm actually looking into this on my F30 and I found an option called "HUD_M" which is set originally to nicht_aktiv, it is in a part where the system gets to hear whether or not it has certain options or hardware, the description for this option is: "This describes whether the car has a M-Headup Display (M3/M5/M6).", now I'm wondering what you guys think of this one.. it kinda looks as if it is a different HUD than the ones standard in our cars.. if so, coding it might be a bit difficult. I haven't tested it out yet, too late for doing that now, but will do soon to see what it does if I enable this function
__________________
'12 F30 328i w/ A17, LCLY, ZLL/7S2, ZCW, ZDA, ZPK, ZPP, ZPS, ZTP, 205, 2VL, 302, 3DZ, 415, 417, 522, 524, 5AC, 5AP, 5DP, 615, 6AA, 6AB, 6NF, 6NL, 6NR, 6UH, 6VA, 6WA, 8S4, 8TH (yes, that's all lol)
Retired: '09 E70 X5, '04 E46 M3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-2012, 03:59 AM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,442
Mein Auto: Future: F80 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by svache View Post
I'm actually looking into this on my F30 and I found an option called "HUD_M" which is set originally to nicht_aktiv, it is in a part where the system gets to hear whether or not it has certain options or hardware, the description for this option is: "This describes whether the car has a M-Headup Display (M3/M5/M6).", now I'm wondering what you guys think of this one.. it kinda looks as if it is a different HUD than the ones standard in our cars.. if so, coding it might be a bit difficult. I haven't tested it out yet, too late for doing that now, but will do soon to see what it does if I enable this function
Svache ,
This was the last parameter I looked in to when I gave up M HUD ... Good that you and Jeg23 are working in this hope you folks will crack this
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-05-2012, 04:21 AM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,442
Mein Auto: Future: F80 M3
Thanks to JEG23 (He is one of our very active memeber but he is always behind the screen) we have list of parameters whihc we think has some relation to our M HUD.

I have tried some of these settings when iinitially worked on HUD thing.
i have added my observation



CAF [HU_CICHB]

3000 HMI, 78

M_DIGITAL_TACHO_EINH (NA)-- added no difference
HUD_ACTIVATION (NA)-------Acts like switch HUD on/off (Redundant)
M_KEY_SETTINGS (NA)
M_DIGITAL_TACHO (NA)---added no diiference
MDRIVE_CONFIG (2_menu)
MDRIVE (NA)
HUD_M (NA)--added no difference
MDRIVE_RUEKO (NA)----Any body know what is the meaning of Rueko?

CAF [KOMBI L6 BO]

3000 Anzeige_Konfiguration, 2C

M_DRIVE_BLINKFREQUENZ (wert 01)
M_DIGI_TACHO_EINHEIT (pia)

3003 FZG_Ausstattung, 06

M_VARIANTE (ag_variante)

3008 PIA_Einheiten, 08

KI_PIA_ANALOG_RW_KVA (Act)
KI_PIA_M_SPORT_DIGI_TACHO (NA)
HUD_PIA_M_SPORT (inact)
KI_PIA_MVERBRAUCH (NA)


and all PIA pertains to including this parameters in your profile export...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-06-2012, 09:06 PM
svache's Avatar
svache svache is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Hawaii
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 215
Mein Auto: 2012 F30 328i
I was playing a bit with these functions on my F30 last night and I noticed that when I turned the digital tacho on (in my iDrive settings menu), it would remove my digital fuel consumption meter thingie (dunno what you call it, it's located below the tachometer on the enhanced instrument cluster.
__________________
'12 F30 328i w/ A17, LCLY, ZLL/7S2, ZCW, ZDA, ZPK, ZPP, ZPS, ZTP, 205, 2VL, 302, 3DZ, 415, 417, 522, 524, 5AC, 5AP, 5DP, 615, 6AA, 6AB, 6NF, 6NL, 6NR, 6UH, 6VA, 6WA, 8S4, 8TH (yes, that's all lol)
Retired: '09 E70 X5, '04 E46 M3
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-06-2012, 10:29 PM
Mobileum Mobileum is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Norway
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 200
Mein Auto: 520d f10
I think that is also described in th "Cheat".
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-06-2012, 11:52 PM
wdimagineer's Avatar
wdimagineer wdimagineer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: San Francisco, CA
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 665
Mein Auto: 2013 M5
I'm honestly not sure this is possible. A friend of mine sent me some in-car footage he took for me of the M5 in Germany. (I'm moving there, and naturally, I've ordered one.)

The layout of the instrument cluster's lower third is completely different. It has a larger gear indicator, the M-Drive settings, and more. The part numbers are different.

The cluster feeds the HUD. If the cluster doesn't have the software, it won't be able to drive the HUD. The software versions in our cars are probably old, so even if it did exist, it may not be possible to activate it.

I don't want to discourage anybody, but I think this might be a stumbling block. The E60 was a different beast.
__________________
Current: 2014 X5 xDrive50i ZMM - Alpine White/Mocha (Mods In Progress!)
Past: 2014 Jeep SRT - 2013 Tesla Model S P85+ - Bimmerpost Featured 2013 F10 M5 - 2012 550 xDrive - 2011 M3 ZCP

Last edited by wdimagineer; 06-07-2012 at 12:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-07-2012, 02:38 AM
Stealth.Pilot's Avatar
Stealth.Pilot Stealth.Pilot is offline
The Driver
Location: Florida
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,558
Mein Auto: 2014 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdimagineer View Post
I'm honestly not sure this is possible. A friend of mine sent me some in-car footage he took for me of the M5 in Germany. (I'm moving there, and naturally, I've ordered one.)

The layout of the instrument cluster's lower third is completely different. It has a larger gear indicator, the M-Drive settings, and more. The part numbers are different.

The cluster feeds the HUD. If the cluster doesn't have the software, it won't be able to drive the HUD. The software versions in our cars are probably old, so even if it did exist, it may not be possible to activate it.

I don't want to discourage anybody, but I think this might be a stumbling block. The E60 was a different beast.
Actually the cluster is different but the lower half extended black panel is the same physical display. The cluster is a dumb device, the software is in the car not the cluster.

Also the same observations can be made with the E60.
__________________

2014 ///M5 Individual
Frozen Grey, Silverstone Full Merino, Piano Black, Exec Pkg, Drivers assistance pkg, LED Package, Bang and Olufsen, 20" Forged wheels

Last edited by Stealth.Pilot; 06-07-2012 at 02:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-07-2012, 04:04 AM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,442
Mein Auto: Future: F80 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdimagineer View Post
I'm honestly not sure this is possible. A friend of mine sent me some in-car footage he took for me of the M5 in Germany. (I'm moving there, and naturally, I've ordered one.)

The layout of the instrument cluster's lower third is completely different. It has a larger gear indicator, the M-Drive settings, and more. The part numbers are different.

The cluster feeds the HUD. If the cluster doesn't have the software, it won't be able to drive the HUD. The software versions in our cars are probably old, so even if it did exist, it may not be possible to activate it.

I don't want to discourage anybody, but I think this might be a stumbling block. The E60 was a different beast.
Thats what i thought and gave up on it...

But the video posted by stealth says other wise.

Cn some body tell if it is just RPM that get displayed as part of M HUD?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-07-2012, 07:24 AM
Tuesday Tuesday is offline
.
Location: .
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 283
Mein Auto: .
M HUD on the E60 was a breeze...that was a smart HUD, not like the the new pretty but dumb HUD in the F series.

All you had to do was activate some M-Drive parameters in CCC and in HUD and you had the option of showing the M Tach. The only problem we had with activating the MDrive functions is the top function button on the steering wheel stopped working as the car assumed that was where the M button was.

I've retrofitted HUD on E60's 5 times and was really surprised the first time I coded an F10 with HUD that it is basically a display with no real brain of its own, it is fed almost completely from the KOMBI. In E60, you could activate things like HUD blinkers by coding the HUD directly.

EDIT: The exact parameters -

M view on HUD E60


CAPPL:

MDrive
aktiv
HUD_M
aktiv

HUD:

M_SPORT_HUD
aktiv

Last edited by Tuesday; 06-07-2012 at 07:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-07-2012, 07:45 AM
Stealth.Pilot's Avatar
Stealth.Pilot Stealth.Pilot is offline
The Driver
Location: Florida
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,558
Mein Auto: 2014 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by itschase View Post
M HUD on the E60 was a breeze...that was a smart HUD, not like the the new pretty but dumb HUD in the F series.

All you had to do was activate some M-Drive parameters in CCC and in HUD and you had the option of showing the M Tach. The only problem we had with activating the MDrive functions is the top function button on the steering wheel stopped working as the car assumed that was where the M button was.

I've retrofitted HUD on E60's 5 times and was really surprised the first time I coded an F10 with HUD that it is basically a display with no real brain of its own, it is fed almost completely from the KOMBI. In E60, you could activate things like HUD blinkers by coding the HUD directly.

EDIT: The exact parameters -

M view on HUD E60


CAPPL:

MDrive
aktiv
HUD_M
aktiv

HUD:

M_SPORT_HUD
aktiv
So you activated M Mode using the button on the steering wheel?
__________________

2014 ///M5 Individual
Frozen Grey, Silverstone Full Merino, Piano Black, Exec Pkg, Drivers assistance pkg, LED Package, Bang and Olufsen, 20" Forged wheels
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-07-2012, 07:49 AM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,442
Mein Auto: Future: F80 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealth.Pilot View Post
So you activated M Mode using the button on the steering wheel?
No if i understood him correctly he activated the M Mode through coding...which we also have in our F10.
But the system stoped responding to one the button on of the steerig assuming it as a M Mode button... So we either loose the Mode control or the Cruise control

That gives me a good lead... Too bad i dont have my car with me now!

Last edited by DreamCar; 06-07-2012 at 07:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-07-2012, 07:51 AM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,442
Mein Auto: Future: F80 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by itschase View Post
M HUD on the E60 was a breeze...that was a smart HUD, not like the the new pretty but dumb HUD in the F series.

All you had to do was activate some M-Drive parameters in CCC and in HUD and you had the option of showing the M Tach. The only problem we had with activating the MDrive functions is the top function button on the steering wheel stopped working as the car assumed that was where the M button was.

I've retrofitted HUD on E60's 5 times and was really surprised the first time I coded an F10 with HUD that it is basically a display with no real brain of its own, it is fed almost completely from the KOMBI. In E60, you could activate things like HUD blinkers by coding the HUD directly.

EDIT: The exact parameters -

M view on HUD E60


CAPPL:

MDrive
aktiv
HUD_M
aktiv

HUD:

M_SPORT_HUD
aktiv

Thanks Chase, I think we have all these parameters in Kombi.. May we should dig little deeper...
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-07-2012, 06:37 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,442
Mein Auto: Future: F80 M3
Since SLI is not going anywhere...... checked on M HUD for a change... No luck but this is what i see for now...

Sorry Iphone Video !

Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-07-2012, 06:40 PM
Stealth.Pilot's Avatar
Stealth.Pilot Stealth.Pilot is offline
The Driver
Location: Florida
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,558
Mein Auto: 2014 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamCar View Post
No if i understood him correctly he activated the M Mode through coding...which we also have in our F10.
But the system stoped responding to one the button on of the steerig assuming it as a M Mode button... So we either loose the Mode control or the Cruise control

That gives me a good lead... Too bad i dont have my car with me now!
I'd be comfortable losing either of those buttons.
__________________

2014 ///M5 Individual
Frozen Grey, Silverstone Full Merino, Piano Black, Exec Pkg, Drivers assistance pkg, LED Package, Bang and Olufsen, 20" Forged wheels
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-07-2012, 06:43 PM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,442
Mein Auto: Future: F80 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealth.Pilot View Post
I'd be comfortable losing either of those buttons.
Enabled every thing ....we have the UI as shown in above video but we are missing the back end! not sure where the back end is? Kombi doesnt have anything else for M HUD
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-08-2012, 01:13 AM
svache's Avatar
svache svache is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Hawaii
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 215
Mein Auto: 2012 F30 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamCar View Post
Enabled every thing ....we have the UI as shown in above video but we are missing the back end! not sure where the back end is? Kombi doesnt have anything else for M HUD
I'm at the same page. I have everything you showed in your video, but nothing really works. Like with you it looks like something is missing..
__________________
'12 F30 328i w/ A17, LCLY, ZLL/7S2, ZCW, ZDA, ZPK, ZPP, ZPS, ZTP, 205, 2VL, 302, 3DZ, 415, 417, 522, 524, 5AC, 5AP, 5DP, 615, 6AA, 6AB, 6NF, 6NL, 6NR, 6UH, 6VA, 6WA, 8S4, 8TH (yes, that's all lol)
Retired: '09 E70 X5, '04 E46 M3
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-08-2012, 04:09 AM
DreamCar's Avatar
DreamCar DreamCar is offline
Moderator
Location: Planet Earth
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,442
Mein Auto: Future: F80 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by svache View Post
I'm at the same page. I have everything you showed in your video, but nothing really works. Like with you it looks like something is missing..
Yeah we are missing teh system which responds to the input.. we just have empty UI there is no system which can store/respond to our UI clicks
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 07-02-2012, 03:25 PM
john mclane john mclane is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Truckland, TX
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 284
Mein Auto: X5 5.0
I also tried pretty much all available

Any way into tricking the car computer into "believe" your ordinary F12 650 (my case) is a M6? Perhaps that opens options lacking for this and other M codes to work...
Or maybe there's a VO code that would enable the M HUD? Someone with a M5 would be able to tell us whats in their config... Even better, someone with close relations with BMW, perhaps in south Carolina...


Update
Changed the production code to a m6, the FA cites the engine now as S63tu (I wish), nothing different in practice. Will drive the car and let you guys now if an extra 160 hp appears (ha ha).
Perhaps additional parameters may allow some of the M functions
__________________
X5 5.0 MY12, M package, black sapphire
650i vert, MY12, Blue/ivory, to be modded soon...
Gone: 997.2 modded, 987s (not forgotten ), MB C55 amg, Passat W8, Cayenne MY 08

Last edited by john mclane; 07-03-2012 at 02:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-05-2012, 12:05 PM
dorijan dorijan is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Mein Auto: 650i xdrive
I just tried it on my 650i F13 aswell.

I can get the HUD Options to appear, however the HUD seems to wait for me pressing the "M" button in Order to activate the M Hud.

Is there any way to remap one of the existing buttons to do that?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-05-2012, 12:44 PM
john mclane john mclane is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Truckland, TX
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 284
Mein Auto: X5 5.0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dorijan View Post
I just tried it on my 650i F13 aswell.

I can get the HUD Options to appear, however the HUD seems to wait for me pressing the "M" button in Order to activate the M Hud.

Is there any way to remap one of the existing buttons to do that?


I have the same impression. If we could turn on the M button functions on idrive, would solve it but that particular command is not redundant.
Perhaps a memory command on coding, similar to what we use to make the car "remember" to the AC settings or A.S.S. to turn on M mode everytime...

If an M5 or M6 owner shows up in the forum, their code options could be copied, although it would be a LOT of work...
__________________
X5 5.0 MY12, M package, black sapphire
650i vert, MY12, Blue/ivory, to be modded soon...
Gone: 997.2 modded, 987s (not forgotten ), MB C55 amg, Passat W8, Cayenne MY 08
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-22-2012, 11:12 AM
Travel4Surf's Avatar
Travel4Surf Travel4Surf is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 217
Mein Auto: Everglades 243
Any updates?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-22-2012, 11:18 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10,186
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by Travel4Surf View Post
Any updates?
The only way to get M-HUD is to have the M Instrument Cluster. End of story.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms