Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2012, 05:48 AM
lycos lycos is offline
Registered User
Location: France
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Mein Auto: 2007 e90
Arrow Changing VIN KOMBI - 080D0WQ / M35080 - E8x E9x

Hello,

I'm trying to change the VIN to a KOMBI from eBay.

I have successfully changed the KM, but when changing the VIN, the EEPROM corrupts and the KOMBI dosenīt read anything,
restoring the eeprom to the original file, all works fine, but with the tappering dot.

It seems that is not so easy that changing the 2E0 line.
Is there any checksum around?
Can someone change the VIN in this file?

KOMBI_Factory_default_[A750235].BIN

Many thanks!


------------------------------------------------
_a_
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 12-31-2012, 08:24 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17,624
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by lycos View Post
Hello,

I'm trying to change the VIN to a KOMBI from eBay.

I have successfully changed the KM, but when changing the VIN, the EEPROM corrupts and the KOMBI dosenīt read anything,
restoring the eeprom to the original file, all works fine, but with the tappering dot.

It seems that is not so easy that changing the 2E0 line.
Is there any checksum around?
Can someone change the VIN in this file?

KOMBI_Factory_default_[A750235].BIN

Many thanks!


------------------------------------------------
_a_
I have no idea on this.

What are you suing to chnage the EEPROM?

Do you know if for a used F10 KOMBI, the EEPROM must me chnaged to in order to chnage its VIN?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-23-2013, 08:05 AM
jc_1988 jc_1988 is offline
Registered User
Location: Australia
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Mein Auto: 2010 Z4 3.5is
Bmw e89 z4

Hi, did you manage to get the vin changed on your kombi?
I have the same issue when i change the vin the cluster still works but the tamper is still there.
My old cluster was destroyed so i couldnt recover any data.
I bought a used kombi off ebay out of a 335i trying to get it working in my e89 z4, all guages are working, except the tamper and my service full of dashes
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-23-2013, 09:17 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17,624
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by jc_1988 View Post
Hi, did you manage to get the vin changed on your kombi?
I have the same issue when i change the vin the cluster still works but the tamper is still there.
My old cluster was destroyed so i couldnt recover any data.
I bought a used kombi off ebay out of a 335i trying to get it working in my e89 z4, all guages are working, except the tamper and my service full of dashes
He wrote he successfully changed KM, but could not change VIN.

The issue seems to be that with the R270 EEPROM Programmer, the EEPROM can not be cleared of VIN if EEPROM is attached to PCB. So, desolder EEPROM, and then try and clear VIN.

This M35160 Eraser from Checkpoint Lab USB though supposedly works for On-board EEPROM programming:

http://www.microcontroller-cafe.com/?l=M35160-ERASER
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-23-2013, 10:07 AM
jc_1988 jc_1988 is offline
Registered User
Location: Australia
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Mein Auto: 2010 Z4 3.5is
so do you mean i should clear the VIN, and having it cleared it will automatically program the original VIN of the car back in the cluster, or i need to encode it ?
im actually using DIGIMASTER III, i soldered the chip and able to see the VIN and can change it but tamper is still there

Last edited by jc_1988; 05-23-2013 at 10:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2013, 12:23 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17,624
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by jc_1988 View Post
so do you mean i should clear the VIN, and having it cleared it will automatically program the original VIN of the car back in the cluster, or i need to encode it ?
im actually using DIGIMASTER III, i soldered the chip and able to see the VIN and can change it but tamper is still there
The Red Tamper dot will be there so long as there exists a VIN mismatch.

You need to clear Mileage and VIN from EEPROM first.

For Exx Kombi, I am not sure if Encoding with NCS Expert will write VIN or not. If not, it can be written with Tool32 KOMBIxx.prg C_FG_SCHREIBEN job, or when flashed with WinKFP.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-23-2013, 01:10 PM
yreiser yreiser is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Luxembourg
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 106
Mein Auto: F10 530dA
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
He wrote he successfully changed KM, but could not change VIN.

The issue seems to be that with the R270 EEPROM Programmer, the EEPROM can not be cleared of VIN if EEPROM is attached to PCB. So, desolder EEPROM, and then try and clear VIN.

This M35160 Eraser from Checkpoint Lab USB though supposedly works for On-board EEPROM programming:

http://www.microcontroller-cafe.com/?l=M35160-ERASER
At least for my F10 Kombi, onboard erasing VIN with the R270 was no problem. But the trick is to erase the VIN to all FF, and not to change it to what it should be. Then, afterwards, the VIN has to be written using Tool32 or whatever works for E-Cars.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-24-2013, 05:00 AM
jc_1988 jc_1988 is offline
Registered User
Location: Australia
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Mein Auto: 2010 Z4 3.5is
Successfull

i managed to remove the tamper by using Digimaster III M35080 V6
all i had to is open the file through Eeprom search for 2E0 Section write the VIN, job done..
Now one more thing is my Normal,Sport, DSC OFF button is not working, by the looks of it the ICOM might be able to solve the problem
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-08-2015, 08:23 AM
Czozen Czozen is offline
Registered User
Location: Poland
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mein Auto: BMW F25 X3 2012
Maybe i have digged this thread out of the grave but when you put into the google phrase "change vin kombi" it is first in search results.

THIS IS COMPLETE SOLUTION HOW TO CHANGE VIN IN USED KOMBI INSTRUMENT

You need to change first two lines in eeprom dump to HEX "00".

Example:
From this


to this:


And also You need to change VIN from old one to HEX "FF"
From This:


to this:


Than You need to turn ignition ON, and code KOMBI with NCS Expert. Vin and odometer will be autamaticly rewritten from CAS!


I hope i have helped!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-09-2015, 02:08 PM
ac_schnitzer ac_schnitzer is offline
BMW user
Location: BG , SF
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 120
Send a message via Skype™ to ac_schnitzer
Mein Auto: "12 F10 520dMtech/G400CDI
To change vin in e series cars only need to program Kombi with your vin using WinKfp and some D-can cable no need other software or remove 35080 .. 080dvq if cluster is with less mileage
When try to edit VIN in hexdump problem is checksum after short VIN but with some calculations its not a big deal , correct checksum is in old cluster bin after VIN for comparing ...
__________________

BMW 520d sedan Msport 8TF , 704 , 6FL , 615 , 616 , 5DF , 522 , 508 , 502 , 494 , 316 , 2TB , 609 , 4U2 , 4AT , 1CC /// retrofits : 6WA , 6WB , 3AG , TOP HIFI 677 ASD , 609 NBT Touch ..

Last edited by ac_schnitzer; 05-09-2015 at 02:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-16-2015, 12:53 PM
metaco metaco is offline
Registered User
Location: canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
Mein Auto: 335xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by Czozen View Post
Maybe i have digged this thread out of the grave but when you put into the google phrase "change vin kombi" it is first in search results.

THIS IS COMPLETE SOLUTION HOW TO CHANGE VIN IN USED KOMBI INSTRUMENT

You need to change first two lines in eeprom dump to HEX "00".

Example:
From this


to this:


And also You need to change VIN from old one to HEX "FF"
From This:


to this:


Than You need to turn ignition ON, and code KOMBI with NCS Expert. Vin and odometer will be autamaticly rewritten from CAS!


I hope i have helped!!
Is it possible to do a setep by step write up listing all the software and cables needed?

My knowledge in coding is very limited.

Much appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-17-2015, 02:35 PM
Thorsten Thorsten is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 53
Mein Auto: BMW F11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_schnitzer View Post
To change vin in e series cars only need to program Kombi with your vin using WinKfp and some D-can cable no need other software or remove 35080 .. 080dvq if cluster is with less mileage
When try to edit VIN in hexdump problem is checksum after short VIN but with some calculations its not a big deal , correct checksum is in old cluster bin after VIN for comparing ...
HI,

I tried this some years ago, at E60, E90 cars without success.


Thorsten
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-18-2015, 11:02 AM
ahmedmph ahmedmph is offline
Registered User
Location: UAE
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 54
Mein Auto: BMW F10 535I
Quote:
Originally Posted by Czozen View Post
Maybe i have digged this thread out of the grave but when you put into the google phrase "change vin kombi" it is first in search results.

THIS IS COMPLETE SOLUTION HOW TO CHANGE VIN IN USED KOMBI INSTRUMENT

You need to change first two lines in eeprom dump to HEX "00".

Example:
From this


to this:


And also You need to change VIN from old one to HEX "FF"
From This:


to this:


Than You need to turn ignition ON, and code KOMBI with NCS Expert. Vin and odometer will be autamaticly rewritten from CAS!


I hope i have helped!!
I tried this and YES it worked for my E90
__________________
BMW F10 535I MY 2011 loaded with software Version 2.52.2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
080d0wq, kms, m35080, r270, vin


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2015 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms