Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2012, 05:00 AM
mateforrest mateforrest is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Madrid, Spain
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 142
Mein Auto: BMW F10 530D SILVER
6WA retrofit KOMBI

Hello I'm going to buy a extended information cluster for a good price. 6WA option

The seller told me that the mileage is not stored in the kombi, and he tell me that this data is taken from the car.

This KOMBI has 13k Kilometers and mine has 38k.

Could I retrofit it without the help of the dealer? Only with my enet cable.

Where is the immobility device? Inside cluster like VAG's?

Shawn any advice?

My car has actuality the daten 47,5 and I have in the HUD the multimedia and telephone information.
Could I upgrade this KOMBI once installed to enable this features?
Any time I will go to the dealer I will need to instal my old Kombi and after change again?

Thanks in advance to all for the help.

Regards.
Reply With Quote
Ads by Google
  #2  
Old 12-28-2012, 07:32 AM
ad2k ad2k is offline
Registered User
Location: Poland
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 25
Mein Auto: F07
hello, it seems wiring is completely different for S6WB (optical fibre)
anybody can confirm wiring differences
I want s6wb too
Attached Files
File Type: pdf S6WA.pdf (276.9 KB, 924 views)
File Type: pdf S6WB.pdf (315.9 KB, 642 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2012, 08:04 AM
snj1013 snj1013 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 533
Mein Auto: 2011 528i
I am wondering the same thing. Based on info I have read, I don't believe any mileage is stored in the display.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2012, 03:36 PM
mateforrest mateforrest is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Madrid, Spain
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 142
Mein Auto: BMW F10 530D SILVER
Quote:
Originally Posted by snj1013 View Post
I am wondering the same thing. Based on info I have read, I don't believe any mileage is stored in the display.
Could you send me this information?

this is great, because i want that it display my actual real mileage.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-2012, 12:03 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10,730
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by ad2k View Post
hello, it seems wiring is completely different for S6WB (optical fibre)
anybody can confirm wiring differences
I want s6wb too
The OP wants to go from the basic Instrument Cluster to 6WA, not from 6WA to 6WB.

BimmerTech though has come to market with their official 6WB Retrofit for those interested, and it can be retrofitted with or without 6WA/HUD:

http://www.bimmer-tech.net/shop/bmw-...panel-retrofit

It is $2k USD.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips

Last edited by shawnsheridan; 12-29-2012 at 12:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2012, 12:33 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10,730
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by mateforrest View Post
Hello I'm going to buy a extended information cluster for a good price. 6WA option

The seller told me that the mileage is not stored in the kombi, and he tell me that this data is taken from the car.

This KOMBI has 13k Kilometers and mine has 38k.

Could I retrofit it without the help of the dealer? Only with my enet cable.

Where is the immobility device? Inside cluster like VAG's?

Shawn any advice?

My car has actuality the daten 47,5 and I have in the HUD the multimedia and telephone information.
Could I upgrade this KOMBI once installed to enable this features?
Any time I will go to the dealer I will need to instal my old Kombi and after change again?

Thanks in advance to all for the help.

Regards.
Yes, my advice is that if you can get a 6WA Instrument Cluster cheap, do it. If you have to pay full price, go with 6WB.

Based on what I know about BimmerTech's 6WB Retrofit, which I am pretty sure the same also applies to going from the Basic Instrument Cluster to 6WA:

* It would need some coding (Presumably 6WA in VO, and VO Code KOMBI and HU_CIC - If Pre 03/2011 build, the Production Date would need to be changed) - E-Sys and ENET Cable is all that is needed.
* If you car currently does not have Eco PRO or Sport Modes, those displays will not appear
* The mileage will be identical to the your original unit
* You can swap units and the units will always show the correct mileage
* You need to swap the units before you go to your dealer for a service that requires a software update
* It is a 5 min job to change Instrument Clusters



As for the Entertainment List, Incoming and Outgoing Calls, Recent Call List, and Voice Recognition, if you have 6WA KOMBI with 47.x or higher firmware on it, you should get those features in your HUD after coding them.

NOTE: This assumes a Brand New never used KOMBI. A used KOMBI will have original car's VIN programmed in it, and I do not know how to change it, so this will be a problem and the mileage will not update.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips

Last edited by shawnsheridan; 12-31-2012 at 08:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-05-2013, 10:07 AM
yreiser yreiser is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Luxembourg
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 104
Mein Auto: F10 530dA
@mateforrest
Did you swap your units already?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-07-2013, 03:13 AM
mateforrest mateforrest is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Madrid, Spain
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 142
Mein Auto: BMW F10 530D SILVER
Quote:
Originally Posted by yreiser View Post
@mateforrest
Did you swap your units already?
Hello yreiser,

I still donīt have the new instrument cluster, is on the way.

I hope i will do the swap next weekend.

Donīt worry i will give further information.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-07-2013, 10:14 AM
yreiser yreiser is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Luxembourg
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 104
Mein Auto: F10 530dA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mateforrest View Post
Hello yreiser,

I still donīt have the new instrument cluster, is on the way.

I hope i will do the swap next weekend.

Donīt worry i will give further information.
Did you order a new one or do you plan to install a used one?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-07-2013, 09:20 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10,730
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by yreiser View Post
Did you order a new one or do you plan to install a used one?
He bought a used 6WA KOMBI.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-09-2013, 01:07 AM
mateforrest mateforrest is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Madrid, Spain
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 142
Mein Auto: BMW F10 530D SILVER
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
He bought a used 6WA KOMBI.
I got it.

I will inform when i have the retrofit made.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-09-2013, 07:02 AM
mateforrest mateforrest is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Madrid, Spain
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 142
Mein Auto: BMW F10 530D SILVER
Shawn i just email you.

Fitted, correct mileage, but canīt code... error in E-sys.


Thanks

Last edited by mateforrest; 01-09-2013 at 07:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-09-2013, 07:03 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10,730
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by mateforrest View Post
Shawn i just email you.

Fitted, correct mileage, but canīt code... error in E-sys.


Thanks
Yes, I replied.

Yes, you can't code it because it does not recognize the VIN. That is why it is showing yyyyyyy as the VIN.

The EEPROM needs your VIN written to it.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-09-2013, 07:12 AM
mateforrest mateforrest is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Madrid, Spain
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 142
Mein Auto: BMW F10 530D SILVER
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1357744326.609605.jpg
Views:	611
Size:	81.8 KB
ID:	356810
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-09-2013, 07:14 AM
mateforrest mateforrest is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Madrid, Spain
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 142
Mein Auto: BMW F10 530D SILVER
I have an error to get CAFs for SWE.

Please take a look.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-09-2013, 07:32 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10,730
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by mateforrest View Post
I have an error to get CAFs for SWE.

Please take a look.

Regards
So what happens when you try this:

Connect => Read FA => Activate FA => Read VCM => Left-Click on KOMBI => Click on "Detect CAF for SWE" => Select the CAFD matching your I-Level => Select OK => Right-Click on KOMBI (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE.

To determine your I-Level, go to VCM Module => VCM Master Tab => click Read under I-Steps. The I-Step (current) is the one you want to match when you select the CAFD from the "Detect CAF for SWE" options (e.g. F001-08-09-550).
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-09-2013, 07:45 AM
mateforrest mateforrest is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Madrid, Spain
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 142
Mein Auto: BMW F10 530D SILVER
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
So what happens when you try this:

Connect => Read FA => Activate FA => Read VCM => Left-Click on KOMBI => Click on "Detect CAF for SWE" => Select the CAFD matching your I-Level => Select OK => Right-Click on KOMBI (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE.

To determine your I-Level, go to VCM Module => VCM Master Tab => click Read under I-Steps. The I-Step (current) is the one you want to match when you select the CAFD from the "Detect CAF for SWE" options (e.g. F001-08-09-550).
Ok let me try.

But when i did this:

Connect => Read FA => Activate FA => Read VCM => Left-Click on KOMBI => Click on "Detect CAF for SWE" =>
i not sure but i think that i obtain the error of swafīs

Regards.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-09-2013, 07:48 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10,730
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by mateforrest View Post
Ok let me try.

But when i did this:

Connect => Read FA => Activate FA => Read VCM => Left-Click on KOMBI => Click on "Detect CAF for SWE" =>
i not sure but i think that i obtain the error of swafīs

Regards.
Yes, you may have a read error. I think though the CAFD that is there is wrong, and needs to be changed, so what I am trying to do is identify the right CAFD, inject it into KOMBI and VO code it.

Oh, which brings up another point. Make sure the VO you use has 6WA added to it.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-09-2013, 07:50 AM
mateforrest mateforrest is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Madrid, Spain
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 142
Mein Auto: BMW F10 530D SILVER
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Yes, you may have a read error. I think though the CAFD that is there is wrong, and needs to be changed, so what I am trying to do is identify the right CAFD, inject it into KOMBI and VO code it.

Oh, which brings up another point. Make sure the VO you use has 6WA added to it.
I got it

Is the first i do.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-09-2013, 07:51 AM
mateforrest mateforrest is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Madrid, Spain
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 142
Mein Auto: BMW F10 530D SILVER
Shawn the speedometer is from a F01?

is possible that i only have the cafd for f10?

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 01-09-2013, 09:42 AM
hamfei hamfei is offline
Registered User
Location: Shanghai
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 25
Mein Auto: 2012 E90 CLI
It's impossible to reprogram a KOMBI which was used on other cars without cracking works. This is because the EEPROM stores VIN of the car. If the VIN does not match the information stored in CAS, you will see a white dot on the meter. Also, the device would not be working properly.

I've found the way to reprogram a used KOMBI. See
http://www.bmwcoding.com/showthread....M35080-E8x-E9x
http://www.bmwcoding.com/showthread....-BMW-F10/page2
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-09-2013, 09:55 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10,730
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamfei View Post
It's impossible to reprogram a KOMBI which was used on other cars without cracking works. This is because the EEPROM stores VIN of the car. If the VIN does not match the information stored in CAS, you will see a white dot on the meter. Also, the device would not be working properly.

I've found the way to reprogram a used KOMBI. See
http://www.bmwcoding.com/showthread....M35080-E8x-E9x
http://www.bmwcoding.com/showthread....-BMW-F10/page2
He suspects the seller erased the EEPROM.

On new KOMBI's, with a virgin EEPROM, supposedly it will automatically sync with CAS.

So, will a Used KOMBI do the same if it has been erased, or must the KM and VIN be changed?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-09-2013, 10:07 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10,730
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by mateforrest View Post
Shawn the speedometer is from a F01?

is possible that i only have the cafd for f10?

Regards
If you do what I suggested, it will be the right CAFD for that KOMBI Hardware.

I am afraid though hamfei, who is an expert at this, is correct, and the EEPROM will need programming.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-09-2013, 11:48 AM
yreiser yreiser is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Luxembourg
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 104
Mein Auto: F10 530dA
This won't help solving the actual problem, but maybe for later:
In KOMBI/300A/FAHRGESTELL_NR_RDA, the short VIN is stored and may be altered. The comment says "Here to write the VIN that will be used to do the comparings with CAS. This VIN has nothing to do with the VIN that's written while flashing."
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-09-2013, 12:25 PM
mateforrest mateforrest is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Madrid, Spain
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 142
Mein Auto: BMW F10 530D SILVER
Shawn i send you pictures to your mail.

Please take a look.

Regards
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms