Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2012, 02:34 PM
AutobahnCowboy AutobahnCowboy is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 36
Mein Auto: BMW
Bang & Olufsen Menu

Hey there

i want to share a finding in HU-CIC Modul on my F30

its called "HIGH-END-AUDIO-MENUE"

the Value was on "kein_menu" what means "No Menu"

i changed it to "volle_insz" which means "Full Staging/Enactment/Production" (i googled the translation)

before changing this Value i had the L7 Suround Checkbox in my "Klang" Menu

after coding it in the Car i got Bang & Olufsen Menu in it with choosable "Studio" or "Expanded" Sound

Studio is in my Ears a bit more bass/dark/deeper as usually

Expanded is more clearer, louder voices, not so much bass


i dont know how it looks on your cars
here i got Harman&Kardon in it, so the sound is with or without these settings good

Could someone try this without H&K?
In F10 it must be the same.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	B&O.jpg
Views:	647
Size:	206.9 KB
ID:	341853  
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 01-17-2013, 05:10 AM
The-Professor The-Professor is online now
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 15
Mein Auto: F11 530xD
Quote:
Originally Posted by AutobahnCowboy View Post
Hey there

i want to share a finding in HU-CIC Modul on my F30

its called "HIGH-END-AUDIO-MENUE"

the Value was on "kein_menu" what means "No Menu"

i changed it to "volle_insz" which means "Full Staging/Enactment/Production" (i googled the translation)

before changing this Value i had the L7 Suround Checkbox in my "Klang" Menu

after coding it in the Car i got Bang & Olufsen Menu in it with choosable "Studio" or "Expanded" Sound

Studio is in my Ears a bit more bass/dark/deeper as usually

Expanded is more clearer, louder voices, not so much bass


i dont know how it looks on your cars
here i got Harman&Kardon in it, so the sound is with or without these settings good

Could someone try this without H&K?
In F10 it must be the same.

Thanks
Hi, I tried it with the Hifi sound system (not Hifi Professional).

The menu is shown, but both entries are NOT selectable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2013, 04:58 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 18,386
Mein Auto: 2011 535i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by AutobahnCowboy View Post
Hey there

i want to share a finding in HU-CIC Modul on my F30

its called "HIGH-END-AUDIO-MENUE"

the Value was on "kein_menu" what means "No Menu"

i changed it to "volle_insz" which means "Full Staging/Enactment/Production" (i googled the translation)

before changing this Value i had the L7 Suround Checkbox in my "Klang" Menu

after coding it in the Car i got Bang & Olufsen Menu in it with choosable "Studio" or "Expanded" Sound

Studio is in my Ears a bit more bass/dark/deeper as usually

Expanded is more clearer, louder voices, not so much bass


i dont know how it looks on your cars
here i got Harman&Kardon in it, so the sound is with or without these settings good

Could someone try this without H&K?
In F10 it must be the same.

Thanks
As noted on my F10 Cheat Sheet, The B&O menu is non-functional.

Can you drill into the Equalizer setting on yours though, and if so post a picture of the EQ?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2015, 02:10 AM
rrdsgn rrdsgn is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: BMW
Its functional. But you have to select audio_system=highpremium
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-13-2015, 02:45 AM
The-Professor The-Professor is online now
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 15
Mein Auto: F11 530xD
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrdsgn View Post
Its functional. But you have to select audio_system=highpremium
But with the Hifi audio system this setting wouldn't work, would it?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-13-2015, 03:01 AM
rrdsgn rrdsgn is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: BMW
Only with most amp! Amplifier=most
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-13-2015, 05:52 AM
jackylooo jackylooo is online now
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Taiwan
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 246
Mein Auto: F10 520D
So that's mean without most amplifier the mentioned high end menu won't work at all, Is there any brand limitation for the most amplifier? Is it Must from BMW? or there are other brand to select?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-13-2015, 05:56 AM
rrdsgn rrdsgn is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: BMW
yes it won't work. it will be visible only.
Must be a BMW or Mini Amp. (Harman Becker / Logic7 / HK, b&w or B&O)

Last edited by rrdsgn; 08-13-2015 at 05:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-13-2015, 09:22 AM
secany secany is offline
Registered User
Location: Melbourne
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 55
Mein Auto: 650i F13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrdsgn View Post
Its functional. But you have to select audio_system=highpremium

and where do you set this "audio_system=highpremium" ? Still in HU_CIC / HU_BNT ?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-13-2015, 12:45 PM
rrdsgn rrdsgn is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: BMW
Yes in Nbt
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-14-2015, 04:18 PM
sunnydude959 sunnydude959 is online now
Registered User
Location: Coventry, UK
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 69
Mein Auto: 2013 BMW 640d (F13)
I have option 677 (600W DSP Professional, unbranded but with a separate amplifier). By default I have a graphic equaliser and a "Surround" option. My sound system was later replaced by 688 Harman Kardon (600W). I suspect it's mostly the same hardware.

I'll try and code bang and olufsen menu tomorrow and see if it works for me.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-16-2015, 01:45 AM
sunnydude959 sunnydude959 is online now
Registered User
Location: Coventry, UK
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 69
Mein Auto: 2013 BMW 640d (F13)
Seems to be working for me...

https://youtu.be/1tRTazx7tEo

I forgot to mention in the video that the setting for speed related volume has disappeared. I presume this is because it now automatically adjusts for ambient noise using the telephone system's microphone (only a guess- I'm not sure)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-16-2015, 03:23 AM
sausewind sausewind is offline
Registered User
Location: Europe
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 20
Mein Auto: F11
AFAIK B&O - 6F2 option has a combi-microphone on driver side: 1 for the amp and 1 for telephone (if any option-SA for phone)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-17-2015, 05:36 AM
sunnydude959 sunnydude959 is online now
Registered User
Location: Coventry, UK
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 69
Mein Auto: 2013 BMW 640d (F13)
Is that the same microphone as vehicles without B&O? In other words, when B&O menu is switched on, does it use the microphone that's already fitted to the non-B&O car?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-17-2015, 11:02 PM
sausewind sausewind is offline
Registered User
Location: Europe
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 20
Mein Auto: F11
No, it is a combi-microphone - 2 microphones in 1 housing , see http://www.ecstuning.com/ES2678664/
One mic is directly connected to B&O Amp for DySop , the other mic is connected to ComBox/TCB/HU for phone.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-18-2015, 08:47 AM
rrdsgn rrdsgn is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: BMW
you can use both: 677 and 688. But for me 688 sounds better.
Speed volume won't work with B&O
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-18-2015, 08:49 AM
bymer321 bymer321 is offline
Registered User
Location: Orange,CT
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 22
Mein Auto: 05 e60 525
Would you notice any difference if you just have 677 Premium Hifi? or is HK required?
Never coded this menu but would not hurt if results were actually operable.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-18-2015, 08:55 AM
rrdsgn rrdsgn is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: BMW
It the same amp. BMW changed only the name for marketing purpose and the EQ Settings. Try it it sounds lot better.
B&O sound even better than 688 but for me it has not enough volume output. Because B&O amp is different and has a lot more power

Last edited by rrdsgn; 08-18-2015 at 08:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-18-2015, 08:57 AM
bymer321 bymer321 is offline
Registered User
Location: Orange,CT
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 22
Mein Auto: 05 e60 525
I see, so basically I have a H&K system which is unbranded as you mentioned. I will go ahead and try it during the next time I am able to code. Any other relevant settings that compliment this coding option or are relevant?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-18-2015, 09:02 AM
rrdsgn rrdsgn is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: BMW
I have one question:
when i turn the volume to maximum it cuts off the volume and i am not able to turn it down to make it work again. seems like its a volume protection.
I have to change to another music source and then i can turn down the volume and then sound appears again

Is this normal behavior?

Last edited by rrdsgn; 08-18-2015 at 09:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 08-18-2015, 09:04 AM
rrdsgn rrdsgn is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: BMW
if you want you can turn on/off LOGIC7_SYMBOL on so it appears/disappears in sound menu. Thats all
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-18-2015, 09:05 AM
bymer321 bymer321 is offline
Registered User
Location: Orange,CT
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 22
Mein Auto: 05 e60 525
Yeah I have seen that code before.
Thanks! If I code it, will report back.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-19-2015, 08:01 AM
sunnydude959 sunnydude959 is online now
Registered User
Location: Coventry, UK
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 69
Mein Auto: 2013 BMW 640d (F13)
I have 677 and it has made a difference, yes.

The volume didn't cut off for me, but I didn't keep pushing it all the way up because I didn't want to damage my speakers. I went up to the point just before the bass speakers started to lose their bass
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-19-2015, 08:18 AM
rrdsgn rrdsgn is offline
Registered User
Location: Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: BMW
ok. i changed my subs and installed better ones with more power.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-20-2015, 05:57 AM
sunnydude959 sunnydude959 is online now
Registered User
Location: Coventry, UK
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 69
Mein Auto: 2013 BMW 640d (F13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrdsgn View Post
ok. i changed my subs and installed better ones with more power.
Were they plug and play? Which subs did you install?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2015 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms