Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series & 4 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)

E36 (1991 - 1999)
The E36 chassis 3-Series BMW was a huge hit among driving enthusiasts from the first moment the car hit the pavement. The E36 won numerous awards over the years it was produced and is still a favorite of many BMW enthusiasts to this day! -- View the E36 Wiki

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2013, 08:55 AM
Smalls92 Smalls92 is offline
Registered User
Location: levittown pa
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Mein Auto: 97 328i
97 328i p1765 p0121 codes

ok car originally started shifting irregular meaning i would be driving along about 35 40 mph and the car would just down shift the trans light would come and on would go into what ill call fail safe mode and then it would shift and run fine i took it to my buddy who has been a mechanic for over 25 yrs said it needs a tps sensor, bank 1 o2 sensors not a problem i order them both installed the tps sensor yesterday waiting for the o2 to arrive later this week, the problem is that it's still doing the same thing with the shifting my car has acs and i see there are 2 what look to be tps's but i can't find any information on the other one even looking in my copy of alldata i have attached a pic with it circled is this another tps 1 for the acs and another for regular tps ? as you can i have already one of them

sorry for the noob questions im just trying to find out if i actually have 2 tps's or not ?

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0007.jpg
Views:	5345
Size:	85.7 KB
ID:	359538  
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 01-28-2013, 09:33 AM
hnaz's Avatar
hnaz hnaz is offline
BMW CCA Member
Location: Silver Spring, MD
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,394
Mein Auto: 128i M, M3, 530i M
Did you reset the check engine light after changing one of the sensors?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2013, 10:08 AM
Smalls92 Smalls92 is offline
Registered User
Location: levittown pa
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Mein Auto: 97 328i
no i did not i was going to do it after i replaced the o2 sensors wasn't aware bmw had to manually reset im more familiar with American car procedures
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2013, 10:54 AM
hnaz's Avatar
hnaz hnaz is offline
BMW CCA Member
Location: Silver Spring, MD
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,394
Mein Auto: 128i M, M3, 530i M
Usually you don't, but sometimes you may have to reset it, hook up the code reader and look for the pending codes. If you see the code pop up as a pending code, then you may have bigger problems.

But it takes 4 cycles (I think) before it would clear on its own.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2013, 12:25 PM
Smalls92 Smalls92 is offline
Registered User
Location: levittown pa
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Mein Auto: 97 328i
Will do thanks and as cor the other sensor? Idle sensor?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2013, 06:22 PM
drivinfaster's Avatar
drivinfaster drivinfaster is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: in the sticks you piney
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,220
Mein Auto: rescued bmw's
no, the one closest to the air filter is your asc throttle, which is normally open. it closes when wheel spin is detected to reduce rpm and aid in maintaining control of the vehicle.

as for codes, they both indicate throttle position codes. you *shouldn't* have to clear the code for the computer to relearn, but i am not certain if the tps is adjustable or not. if the mounting holes are round, then you should be good. if elongated, then you need a dvom to read the voltage with the key on/engine off (koeo) and move the sensor to spec.




have not had to replace a tps on any bmw, though. not that they can't fail, just not very common though.




df
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-28-2013, 06:57 PM
Smalls92 Smalls92 is offline
Registered User
Location: levittown pa
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Mein Auto: 97 328i
im aware the one not circled is the asc tps I have replaced that due to the code that it was throwing im trying to find out what the one circled is though

reason that im asking is before I replaced it my rpm would vary at idle from 500 to 1000 rpms up and down and it would also down shift driving down the road all this are signs of a bad tps especially the rpm change during idle
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-28-2013, 06:58 PM
Smalls92 Smalls92 is offline
Registered User
Location: levittown pa
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Mein Auto: 97 328i
they are round holes no elongated also
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-28-2013, 07:30 PM
drivinfaster's Avatar
drivinfaster drivinfaster is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: in the sticks you piney
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,220
Mein Auto: rescued bmw's
hunting idle is usually related to a dirty idle control valve.

the one you have circled is the throttle position sensor, and is a direct input to the dme for driveability. the asc throttle sensor does not affect the idle, and is only an input for the asc, it does not actually close the asc throttle. there should be a motor for that with a cable to operate the throtte.



df
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-28-2013, 07:35 PM
Smalls92 Smalls92 is offline
Registered User
Location: levittown pa
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Mein Auto: 97 328i
awesome thank you so I replaced the wrong part good to know now I have to order a regular throttle position sensor got to love site that ask you if you have traction control you say yes and they send you the asc position senor instead of the throttle position sensor, and that explains why my car is still doing the same exact thing it was before replacing thank you so much drivinfater for you time on this matter

ill make sure to read the actual part number off the part this time

mind telling were the idle control valve is located

Last edited by Smalls92; 01-28-2013 at 07:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-28-2013, 07:46 PM
drivinfaster's Avatar
drivinfaster drivinfaster is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: in the sticks you piney
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,220
Mein Auto: rescued bmw's
ubder the intake, it's not a bad diy, and there are lots of write ups and pics on teh interwebz. the e46 is also very similar. the e30 is a little bit easier as it is mounted on top, but they all look alike.




df
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-28-2013, 07:47 PM
Smalls92 Smalls92 is offline
Registered User
Location: levittown pa
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Mein Auto: 97 328i
great ya I read on it seems straight forward thanks yet again
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-12-2017, 12:56 PM
polygaryd polygaryd is offline
Registered User
Location: Phoenix
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Mein Auto: 99 M3 vert cosmos black
318is having major engine cut out at 2000 rpm and 3500 rpm

I have a 1997 318is eith 193k miles that just started having issues with the engine cutting out while in park or drive, almost immediately after clearing the codes the check engine light turns on and the codes from my obd2 scanner come up as p1765, p1140, p0120. I had taken the car to a shop for this issue and they replaced the tps already with a non oem bmw part. I unplug the tps and the car runs much better, no engine cut out, or shifting issues like before. Also the traction control and the transmission fault light comes on and stays on after restarting the car if tps is plugged in.

I measured the tps on the car and off the car as well as two brand new ones from Parts Authority and Oreilly's. None of which worked all had the same symptoms just at slightly different rpm levels. I do have one coming from bmw btw.

my findings are as follows

tps screwed to the throttle body still:
with key on but car off, leads between pin 2 and ground of connector (connector unplugged from tps) is 5.76v
pin 1 to pin 3 is 3.96k ohms
pin 2 to pin 3 range is 1.257k ohm to 3.981k ohm
pin 1 to pin 2 range is 4.31k ohm to 1.588k ohm

tps off the thottle body:
pin 1 to pin 3 is 3.93kohms
pin 2 to pin 3 range is 4.72k ohms to 0.765k ohms
pin 1 to pin 2 range is 0.773k ohms to 4.72k ohms


Are these ranges normal for a 1997 318is or should they be as your post suggests with a range of 1k to 4k? im assuming 0.773k to 4.72k is too far outside the range the ecm is looking for but im on here to check with you guys. Thank you for any help you can give me.

Note: my asc tps is different in size and mounting hole width so I cannot use this to test even though it is an oem bmw part.

Last edited by polygaryd; 02-12-2017 at 01:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-14-2017, 01:00 PM
Duanob328iC Duanob328iC is offline
Registered User
Location: Rainy Seattle
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 95
Mein Auto: 1997 BMW 328iC
You might want to start a new thread, you will get more attention than piggy backing an old one.
__________________
BMW 328i: Inspiring over-confident drivers since 1936.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-16-2017, 08:00 AM
locklej locklej is offline
Registered User
Location: NC
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 42
Mein Auto: BMW Z4 & 328I
TPS communicates directly with the DME. I had the same issue with codes P1765 & P0121 that were hard codes. I had the DME re-flashed or programmed and the codes no longer exist. I also had the ASC light that was on all the time and the transmission appeared to shift slowly. I did not realize that the transmission was shifting slow until after the DME was reflashed.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-16-2017, 02:55 PM
polygaryd polygaryd is offline
Registered User
Location: Phoenix
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Mein Auto: 99 M3 vert cosmos black
Quote:
Originally Posted by locklej View Post
TPS communicates directly with the DME. I had the same issue with codes P1765 & P0121 that were hard codes. I had the DME re-flashed or programmed and the codes no longer exist. I also had the ASC light that was on all the time and the transmission appeared to shift slowly. I did not realize that the transmission was shifting slow until after the DME was reflashed.
Im assuming only bmw can reflash the dme??
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-16-2017, 03:08 PM
locklej locklej is offline
Registered User
Location: NC
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 42
Mein Auto: BMW Z4 & 328I
No. I got lucky. I live in a small beach town in North Carolina and a local bmw/mercedes mechanic had the software for E36 BMW's. He charged me $60 bucks. There is also a guy on Ebay, but he charges between $90 to $120.

I bet that I wasted $300 bucks buying parts attempting to get these codes to go away. As soon as I told the mechanic the codes that meter was giving me he stated the DME was the issue. 5 minutes later it was like having a new car.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-16-2017, 03:24 PM
polygaryd polygaryd is offline
Registered User
Location: Phoenix
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Mein Auto: 99 M3 vert cosmos black
I have spent so long looking for the issue to the car running terrible and cutting out with only the codes pointing to the tps. Ive replaced it 3 times, all check good from the resistance test, the voltage test however is bad. it has 5.87v on pin 2 on connector side when unplugged form tps. and 1v on pin 1 or pin 3 I cant remember now. when i plug in the connector to the tps the range is from 160mv to 1.v not from 1v to 5v like its supposed to be. all fuses are good, all relays visually look good, no wires are messed with, dme is clean, inside and out. and I mean sparkly clean on terminals (dust on outer casing of dme though). so you think a reflash will fix the voltage issue I'm having?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-23-2017, 03:32 PM
polygaryd polygaryd is offline
Registered User
Location: Phoenix
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Mein Auto: 99 M3 vert cosmos black
The used dme came in today, voltage on pin one to chassis ground was 4.99v and voltage on pin 2 to chassis ground was 5.78v still. I drove the car with the original dme and tps unplugged to a local shop to get the new dme aligned to ews, guy did it for free and it drove home perfectly. Got it all buttoned up, no check engine light came up, no more trans fault or traction control light on. ASC button works again. Waiting for it to cool to do the fan switch ( picked it up in route to the shop for dme realignment) and shes all done.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-23-2017, 03:58 PM
locklej locklej is offline
Registered User
Location: NC
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 42
Mein Auto: BMW Z4 & 328I
Well good luck. I have not had any issues with my re-flashed/programmed DME. I just don't understand how a piece of electronic equipment can all at once lose part of its programming to cause recurring hard codes. The old BMW mechanics see this issue everyday and are very much aware of the problem.

Happy that it worked out for you. Enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series & 4 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2015 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms