Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > Everything Else > Off-Topic

Off-Topic
Everything not about BMWs. Posts must be "primetime safe" and in good taste. No personal attacks allowed. Political posting is restricted to the Political Science forum!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2005, 09:28 PM
hockeynut's Avatar
hockeynut hockeynut is offline
Casey!
Location: Austin, TX
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,538
Mein Auto: '04 330cic
Remote access to my home PC

Thinking about setting up VNC server on my home PC for access from work, travelling, etc.

Right now I have a hardware firewall and I assume I would poke a hole for port XX (whatever port VNC needs opened up).

How open does that leave my system to attacks? VNC is password protected, but is that enough?

I am running Win XP Pro...
__________________
SteveH

"Now I guess I'll have to tell 'em...That I've got no cerebellum" - The Ramones, "Teenage Lobotomy"
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 02-18-2005, 09:38 PM
Kaz's Avatar
Kaz Kaz is offline
King of Rear Clunks
Location: OC, CA
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 12,907
Mein Auto: 01 325iT, 88 M6
I'd consider one of the alternate versions of VNC that add some security. You may want to open a different port other than the normal one (5910? I forget), so that anyone probing your firewall won't instantly recognize where it might be going.
__________________
2001 325i Touring Alpinweiss/Anthracite cloth, Alpina Softline
1988 M6 Royalblau/Silbergrau Nappa
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2005, 09:45 PM
hockeynut's Avatar
hockeynut hockeynut is offline
Casey!
Location: Austin, TX
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,538
Mein Auto: '04 330cic
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaz
I'd consider one of the alternate versions of VNC that add some security. You may want to open a different port other than the normal one (5910? I forget), so that anyone probing your firewall won't instantly recognize where it might be going.
I grabbed UltraVNC due to the price

Changing the port isn't a bad idea but I would assume it would be reasonably easy for someone just probing ports to see that it is there.
__________________
SteveH

"Now I guess I'll have to tell 'em...That I've got no cerebellum" - The Ramones, "Teenage Lobotomy"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2005, 09:45 PM
TeamM3's Avatar
TeamM3 TeamM3 is offline
Living on the redline
Location: 10,000 RPM Heaven Lane
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 27,242
Mein Auto: a BMW killer
I don't have direct experience with it, but I've always wondered pcAnywhere from Symantec





http://www.symantec.com/pcanywhere/Consumer/index.html
__________________
.

Yesterday's history, tomorrow's a mystery, but today is a gift; that's why it's called the present

.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2005, 10:41 PM
Kaz's Avatar
Kaz Kaz is offline
King of Rear Clunks
Location: OC, CA
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 12,907
Mein Auto: 01 325iT, 88 M6
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamM3
I don't have direct experience with it, but I've always wondered pcAnywhere from Symantec





http://www.symantec.com/pcanywhere/Consumer/index.html
It costs money and needs a client installed.
__________________
2001 325i Touring Alpinweiss/Anthracite cloth, Alpina Softline
1988 M6 Royalblau/Silbergrau Nappa
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-18-2005, 10:50 PM
TeamM3's Avatar
TeamM3 TeamM3 is offline
Living on the redline
Location: 10,000 RPM Heaven Lane
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 27,242
Mein Auto: a BMW killer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaz
It costs money and needs a client installed.

doesn't that provide greater security and make it worth the money?
__________________
.

Yesterday's history, tomorrow's a mystery, but today is a gift; that's why it's called the present

.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-18-2005, 10:56 PM
Kaz's Avatar
Kaz Kaz is offline
King of Rear Clunks
Location: OC, CA
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 12,907
Mein Auto: 01 325iT, 88 M6
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamM3
doesn't that provide greater security and make it worth the money?
Not appreciably
__________________
2001 325i Touring Alpinweiss/Anthracite cloth, Alpina Softline
1988 M6 Royalblau/Silbergrau Nappa
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-18-2005, 11:12 PM
TeamM3's Avatar
TeamM3 TeamM3 is offline
Living on the redline
Location: 10,000 RPM Heaven Lane
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 27,242
Mein Auto: a BMW killer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaz
Not appreciably

well I'll have to defer to your judgement
__________________
.

Yesterday's history, tomorrow's a mystery, but today is a gift; that's why it's called the present

.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-18-2005, 11:30 PM
milski's Avatar
milski milski is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle, WA
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,237
Send a message via ICQ to milski Send a message via MSN to milski
Mein Auto: dirty 330i
What about Remote Desktop? You don't need to buy anything extra, you have the client on any pc, all you need to do is enable port 3189.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-19-2005, 12:07 AM
hockeynut's Avatar
hockeynut hockeynut is offline
Casey!
Location: Austin, TX
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,538
Mein Auto: '04 330cic
Quote:
Originally Posted by milski
What about Remote Desktop? You don't need to buy anything extra, you have the client on any pc, all you need to do is enable port 3189.
Is that thru Terminal Services?
__________________
SteveH

"Now I guess I'll have to tell 'em...That I've got no cerebellum" - The Ramones, "Teenage Lobotomy"
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-19-2005, 12:11 AM
milski's Avatar
milski milski is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle, WA
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,237
Send a message via ICQ to milski Send a message via MSN to milski
Mein Auto: dirty 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeynut
Is that thru Terminal Services?
Yes, they used to call it Terminal Services in windows nt4/2000. It's called Remote Desktop in Win XP, you can enable it in My Computer|Properties|Remote.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-19-2005, 12:30 AM
Jever's Avatar
Jever Jever is offline
call me darkcloud
Location: undisclosed secret location
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 42,924
Send a message via ICQ to Jever Send a message via AIM to Jever Send a message via MSN to Jever Send a message via Yahoo to Jever
Mein Auto: .
Quote:
Originally Posted by milski
Yes, they used to call it Terminal Services in windows nt4/2000. It's called Remote Desktop in Win XP, you can enable it in My Computer|Properties|Remote.
Crap, thanks for saying that. I totally forgot about turning that off after my last reformat. Not sure if it's the case or not but I've come home a couple of times and my browsers were not how I left them (running ZA Pro and the XP firewall) but forgot all about that. Perhaps I was exposed or the cat was surfing.
__________________
-Capitalization is the difference between "I had to help my uncle Jack off a horse.." and "I had to help my uncle jack off a horse..

Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-19-2005, 12:33 AM
milski's Avatar
milski milski is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle, WA
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,237
Send a message via ICQ to milski Send a message via MSN to milski
Mein Auto: dirty 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jever
Crap, thanks for saying that. I totally forgot about turning that off after my last reformat. Not sure if it's the case or not but I've come home a couple of times and my browsers were not how I left them (running ZA Pro and the XP firewall) but forgot all about that. Perhaps I was exposed or the cat was surfing.
Don't worry, it's off by default. What's on is 'Remote Assistance', which is something that lets other peope see and eventually control what you're doing. It needs MSN Messenger (I think) and an explicit request from you to that particular person to let them connect to you.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-19-2005, 12:39 AM
Jever's Avatar
Jever Jever is offline
call me darkcloud
Location: undisclosed secret location
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 42,924
Send a message via ICQ to Jever Send a message via AIM to Jever Send a message via MSN to Jever Send a message via Yahoo to Jever
Mein Auto: .
Quote:
Originally Posted by milski
Don't worry, it's off by default. What's on is 'Remote Assistance', which is something that lets other peope see and eventually control what you're doing. It needs MSN Messenger (I think) and an explicit request from you to that particular person to let them connect to you.
When I just looked it was turned on. Now that I think about it, I did enable it a while back when a friend of mine was having all kinds of problems and I thought I was going to just have them let me peruse their stuff from here. Under properties and remote that was all that I saw. I use classic view so perhaps it's in a different place than in the new XP view or am I totally lost here?
__________________
-Capitalization is the difference between "I had to help my uncle Jack off a horse.." and "I had to help my uncle jack off a horse..

Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-19-2005, 12:45 AM
milski's Avatar
milski milski is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle, WA
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,237
Send a message via ICQ to milski Send a message via MSN to milski
Mein Auto: dirty 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jever
When I just looked it was turned on. Now that I think about it, I did enable it a while back when a friend of mine was having all kinds of problems and I thought I was going to just have them let me peruse their stuff from here. Under properties and remote that was all that I saw. I use classic view so perhaps it's in a different place than in the new XP view or am I totally lost here?
I think XP Home does not have remote desktop, only remote assistance.
Does the one below look familiar?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	remote.png
Views:	68
Size:	42.0 KB
ID:	44913  
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-19-2005, 12:53 AM
Jever's Avatar
Jever Jever is offline
call me darkcloud
Location: undisclosed secret location
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 42,924
Send a message via ICQ to Jever Send a message via AIM to Jever Send a message via MSN to Jever Send a message via Yahoo to Jever
Mein Auto: .
Quote:
Originally Posted by milski
I think XP Home does not have remote desktop, only remote assistance.
Does the one below look familiar?
I'm on Home, not Pro.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	xp.JPG
Views:	64
Size:	36.0 KB
ID:	44914  
__________________
-Capitalization is the difference between "I had to help my uncle Jack off a horse.." and "I had to help my uncle jack off a horse..

Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-19-2005, 12:56 AM
milski's Avatar
milski milski is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle, WA
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,237
Send a message via ICQ to milski Send a message via MSN to milski
Mein Auto: dirty 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jever
I'm on Home, not Pro.
Well, no remote desktop for you than.
What you have is remote assistance, the one that you need a person at your computer and MSN Messenger to get it work. It would basicaly let me tweak your computer while you watch. Much better than trying to explain over the phone: "Click the blue thingie. No, not that one, the one above. OH.... noooo. We have to start again... "
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-19-2005, 12:58 AM
machmeter's Avatar
machmeter machmeter is offline
Adolescent On-Call
Location: San Francisco
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,263
Mein Auto: 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jever
I'm on Home, not Pro.
Home sux. Get Pro. Even if you have to get it from an illegal Russian alien with a kinda-stolen programmer's disk.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-19-2005, 12:59 AM
Jever's Avatar
Jever Jever is offline
call me darkcloud
Location: undisclosed secret location
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 42,924
Send a message via ICQ to Jever Send a message via AIM to Jever Send a message via MSN to Jever Send a message via Yahoo to Jever
Mein Auto: .
Quote:
Originally Posted by machmeter
Home sux. Get Pro. Even if you have to get it from an illegal Russian alien with a kinda-stolen programmer's disk.
Next box will have Pro. Actually, does Windoze Media Center have the same stuff that pro does?
__________________
-Capitalization is the difference between "I had to help my uncle Jack off a horse.." and "I had to help my uncle jack off a horse..

Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-19-2005, 01:01 AM
milski's Avatar
milski milski is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Seattle, WA
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,237
Send a message via ICQ to milski Send a message via MSN to milski
Mein Auto: dirty 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jever
Next box will have Pro. Actually, does Windoze Media Center have the same stuff that pro does?
Pretty much yes, besides that you cannot join WMC to a domain. Nothing you should worry about.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 02-19-2005, 01:06 AM
Jever's Avatar
Jever Jever is offline
call me darkcloud
Location: undisclosed secret location
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 42,924
Send a message via ICQ to Jever Send a message via AIM to Jever Send a message via MSN to Jever Send a message via Yahoo to Jever
Mein Auto: .
Quote:
Originally Posted by milski
Pretty much yes, besides that you cannot join WMC to a domain. Nothing you should worry about.
Just going to be my 2 or 3 boxes and my roomates box that need to work together. Well, I don't give a sh!t if his gets networked as he's probably out of here shortly whether he likes it or not. So far I'm just running us off a switch/hub instead of a router. It's all home stuff until I learn some more. Home schooling is good times!
__________________
-Capitalization is the difference between "I had to help my uncle Jack off a horse.." and "I had to help my uncle jack off a horse..

Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-19-2005, 07:20 AM
Guest84 Guest84 is offline
Account closed at users request
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 22,731
Mein Auto:
Quote:
Originally Posted by milski
Much better than trying to explain over the phone: "Click the blue thingie. No, not that one, the one above. OH.... noooo. We have to start again... "
LMAO!!!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-19-2005, 08:04 AM
jw's Avatar
jw jw is offline
Raoul Duke
Location: Fat City
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 12,574
Mein Auto: Great Red Shark
Latest version of RealVNC 4 allows you specify which ports you want open. I run it on my AIM port because it's open through work.

http://www.realvnc.com/download.html
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-01-2013, 02:04 AM
adamsmike adamsmike is offline
Registered User
Location: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Mein Auto: BMW
VNC is a quality remote support tool. I have tried using it and it works well. Additionally, you can even consider deploying on premise remote support appliance such as RHUB or Bomgar appliances in order to remotely access computers.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-01-2013, 06:11 AM
gpburdell gpburdell is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Atlanta
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 404
Mein Auto: 2010 335i Cabrio
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamsmike View Post
VNC is a quality remote support tool. I have tried using it and it works well.
Eight year old thread... Just sayin...

(I'm guessing a spammer resurrected the thread and adamsmike responded before a mod deleted the spam post)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > Everything Else > Off-Topic
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capital Gains Tax: what if you owned<2yrs? uter Off-Topic 3 01-31-2005 11:37 AM
Observations of a PC virgin Kaz The Detail Department 36 07-19-2004 05:29 PM
Keep on nocking but you can't come in TeamM3 Off-Topic 4 10-17-2003 07:27 AM
Remote Key - Dead Zone ? beauport General BMW 11 11-17-2002 09:37 AM
Remote Keyless Entry FITFlyer98 E36/7 Z3 (1996-2002) 0 09-06-2002 01:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms