Welcome to Bimmerfest -- The #1 Online Community for BMW related information! Please enjoy the discussion forums below and share your experiences with the 200,000 current, new and past BMW owners. The forums are broken out by car model and into other special interest sections such as BMW European Delivery and a special forum to voice your questions to the many BMW dealers on the site to assist our members!

Please follow the links below to help get you started!

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series / 8 Series > 7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)

7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)
Discussion pertaining to the flagship BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-2013, 06:15 PM
pipe2226 pipe2226 is offline
Registered User
Location: NEW JERSEY
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 43
Mein Auto: 2003 BMW 325CI
power module

I have tried to search and found no definitive answer. Does anyone know if the power module in the trunk has to be coded to the car? I got some water in there after doing some body work and it seems to have shorted out the module. I have all kinds of lights going on in the cluster and I believe it is due to the power module not supplying the other modules correct voltage. Please help.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 02-06-2013, 08:46 PM
wjjklj's Avatar
wjjklj wjjklj is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Louisville, Kentucky USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,587
Mein Auto: 2009 750i
Yes it has to be coded to the car. I traded member Paper for one that he may sell you. Contact him.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2013, 10:01 AM
SuperSnoop's Avatar
SuperSnoop SuperSnoop is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Austin, Texas
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 559
Mein Auto: 2007 760Li
I replaced mine and it didn't need to be coded.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2013, 10:04 AM
pipe2226 pipe2226 is offline
Registered User
Location: NEW JERSEY
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 43
Mein Auto: 2003 BMW 325CI
2 different answers any other input? And I I do need to code anyone know how to? I have inpa and BMW scan 2.01 working on laptop.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2013, 11:33 AM
wjjklj's Avatar
wjjklj wjjklj is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Louisville, Kentucky USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,587
Mein Auto: 2009 750i
You have to Code your vin to the power module.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-07-2013, 11:51 AM
SuperSnoop's Avatar
SuperSnoop SuperSnoop is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Austin, Texas
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 559
Mein Auto: 2007 760Li
Maybe it's because I bought a brand new one, but I checked the screen in INPA that shows all the modules with the VIN assigned, and it didn't show an error.

I believe you have to code the IVM, which is sometimes referred to as a power module, but that's under the hood.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-07-2013, 12:47 PM
745iguy's Avatar
745iguy 745iguy is offline
Besessen Deutsch Autos
Location: Massachusetts
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,133
Mein Auto: 2006 X5 3.0
I thought the ivm is a swap and the power module in the trunk needs your vin coded.
__________________

06 X5 3.0 Toledo Blue Metallic/Light Beige 2:
Adaptive Xenon Headlamps, Panoramic Sunroof, Rear Sunshades,
+Factory Aux Input in Ashtray, Bluetooth, Rear PDC Sensors, Rear Electronic Adjustable Seat Backs,
+White Angel Eye LEDs, +5000k LED H11 Foglights, +Blacked Out Chrome Grill Surround, +Puddle Light Logo Projector
.. more updates to come

PREVIOUS 2002 745i
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-07-2013, 01:14 PM
SuperSnoop's Avatar
SuperSnoop SuperSnoop is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Austin, Texas
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 559
Mein Auto: 2007 760Li
I'll hook up my computer and check again tonight, but I'm sure I didn't code it. It shows the yyyyyyy in the VIN column with no errors. In the past, if a module needed to be coded, it would show an error on that screen.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-07-2013, 08:14 PM
pipe2226 pipe2226 is offline
Registered User
Location: NEW JERSEY
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 43
Mein Auto: 2003 BMW 325CI
Ordered a used one on ebay for $100 hope it works. If not I will report back.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-08-2013, 06:32 PM
Bimmer750LI's Avatar
Bimmer750LI Bimmer750LI is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Reston
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 291
Mein Auto: 750Li
I put a new one in my 06 750li and didn't code it, no problems after 2 years...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series / 8 Series > 7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2001-2011 performanceIX, Inc. All Rights Reserved .: guidelines .:. privacy .:. terms